We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and easy but definitely not sleazy”
Review of Koolwink Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Romney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koolwink Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Romney
Certificate of Excellence
Linden, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and easy but definitely not sleazy”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have driven past this place several times visiting friends, and thought we'd call in and see if they had a room for the weekend. It's so cute! It's like that 70's show meets Mary Tyler Moore. My only complaint was one of the beds sloped funny. It's a great place to stay on a stop over. The rooms were clean, the shower hot, and we didn't hear anyone else all night. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
35
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Germany, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Beautiful place. Very spacious and clean room, best accomodation we had on our motorbike trip. Price ist unbeatable. Very friendly people. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biker359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice spacious clean rooms, decor is very 1970's to the point where you have to laugh, Right in Romney WV... found these rooms to be a rather nice, comfortable place to stay. I believe this is 1of only 2 hotels in romney.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. This property is a well maintained family run establishment. Our experience was nothing but positive from reservation to checkout. They have the added advantage of being the most reasonably priced. We would highly recommend if looking for accommodations in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A colleague and I stayed here for a few nights whilst we were working in the area and we loved it! This isn't a 1950s themed motel - it just hasn't changed in fifty years. And I mean in a good way! For any fan of retro vintage this motel is a real treat. Fabulous decor aside, the rooms were clean and owner Robert was polite and helpful.

Back in England today I enjoyed a cup of tea from my Kookwink mug - a treasured memento. Stay here if you can. There are few places so charming and that manage the retro vibe with such success.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivaVeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

In beautiful Romney WV the Koolwink Motel is a real throwback to the age of fantastic, well run family motels. Everything was positive. The booking process, the gentleman at the front desk, the advice on local attractions and especially the size and cleanliness of the room. My wife, who is very picky about the cleanliness of hotel rooms was blown away. Just a wonderful place. Nice Italian restaurants nearby. This is a great motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on "upper portion". Farther away from thte road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed the Koolwink Motel based on reviews by my fellow TripAdvisor Contributors. Well, it is all you said it was, and most enjoyable. Nothing fancy, but simple can sometimes be better. Nice stream running behind the motel, just to add a little extra atmosphere, no extra charge. The room price is extremely hard to beat. The whole Koolwink experience reminds me of " the way it used to be ".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romney
15.2 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
47 reviews
21.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 5 in LaVale
80 reviews
24.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
21.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
21.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koolwink Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koolwink Motel

Property: Koolwink Motel
Address: HC 63, Box 410, Romney, WV 26757
Location: United States > West Virginia > Romney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Romney
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Koolwink Hotel Romney
Koolwink Motel Romney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing