We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonewall Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Weston)(Great Value!)
$79
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centennial Motel(Buckhannon)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxa Inn(Buckhannon)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveler rating
649
389
156
68
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
649
389
156
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursefire pittj muskiespaddle boatsarnold palmeroutdoor activitiesbeautiful lakebreakfast buffethiking trailswest virginiastate parkthe cottagesactivity centerhot tubgift shoprelaxing weekendspa services
Filter
Updating list...
1,221 - 1,226 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We went to Stonewall for a Holiday getaway and came back disgusted. Other resorts (we have stayed at in the past) had quaint activities during the holiday weeks, but not Stonewall- play areas- closed. Kid’s activity area – closed. Spa- closed. The restaurant had strange hours with overpriced food claiming to be a “culinary experience”. And an experience it was, more like a truck-stop with $13 soggy omelets & $9 frozen pancakes. The service was horrible, the vending machines broken & the other options were $3.25 lobby coffee or $3 for water. The heater in our room was broken and the design of building was ridiculous- having to travel through the restaurant to get to the pool or do some elevator jumping. We are used to traveling and all of this would have been overlooked BUT the way we were treated was despicable. To say the staff was rude is the understatement of the year… They need a complete overhauling as they were cruel, nasty and obnoxious. They should never cut off the hand that feeds them. REDICIOULOUS!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torcan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Please accept our apologies for your recent stay with us. I have asked this guest via private message to contact our General Manager so that he might be able to respond in a more personal manner. We take a lot of pride in the service we provide our guests but clearly we fell short of the mark with this guest. Hopefully, we will get a chance to make it up to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Every Thanksgiving our family spends the holiday at a resort. We are quiet, self sufficient and easy to please. Never have we left a rating- but never have we been treated in such low regard by staff members as we were here. When our keys didnt work (a typical hotel experience), we returned to the front desk to have them literally thrown in our face by a clerk who was also yelling at a customer on the phone. When asked to speak to the manager- he was worse, & defended her behavior. The pool attendant (when he was at the counter and not watching TV in the back room) only accepted the correct change items for sale at his counter & pocketed the money. Together they must be the rudest bunch of people under one roof in the state. Also- The food was horribly overpriced, even charging for a glass of water & coffee in the lobby was $3.18 a cup. After going to thousands of hotels- this by far was the worst. The only smiles and kindness we received was by the room cleaning staff!!! With a nice facility, its a shame what it could be with proper management- in the end we paid an enormous amount of money for a ruined holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comeau03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

I am sorry you were not pleased with your recent stay. I have asked this guest by private message to contact our General Manager directly so that we might respond in a more personal way. We are hoping they will contact us so that we might begin to recover the trust they placed in us when they booked their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We attended this resort on the way home from a week vacation in a more rustic setting----hoping to be pampered and relax by the fire, which is shown in pictures all over their website. They show photos of a big fire on a patio and that's what made us book the place. But they never lit the fire the whole time we were there. And it was a nice night for a fire! There also was an indoor chimnea in the pub, which also wasn't lit.
We waited over 15 minutes for a bellboy, which we normally wouldnt utilize, but we had to park our car over 100 yards from the entrance of the hotel.
The grout in the bathroom was dirty.
The placement of the rooms and restaurants is quite confusing and they don't offer maps of the place. The directional signs are lacking, and we werent the only people walking around the hotel searching for the pub or restaurant or what have you.
The service in the bar was okay.
Their wireless service was awful, I got kicked off 3 times and gave up.
We opted to pay for the coffee in the lobby, and because we paid 6.00 for 2 medium sized cups of coffee, I expected it to be decadent. It was Green Mountain, which we could have purchased for a buck at a nearby gas station. And for what they charged us for the room, it should have been free!
Overall, we were very disappointed. Had they not charged us so much, we may have been indifferent, but I feel like we got ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fina15226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

We are very sorry to hear of this guest's experience. We have asked this guest via private message to contact our General Manager directly so that we can respond in a more personal way. We take these comments seriously and it is our hope we can earn their business back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My Husband and I went to Wheeling, WV then on to Weston, WV for our anniversary October 8-10, 2010. We did NOT stay at the Stonewall resort- too expensive! But-we wanted to go out for a nice dinner and I chose the Stonewall Jackson Resort. I called the reservations line and spoke with the receptionist then later Bill-Stillwaters Evening Manager. Everyone at this location was pleasant, helpful and Kind. They were able to assist us when we got LOST on the way from Weston to Roanoke coming to dinner. GPS was totally incorrect and we ended up on the opposite side of the lake!!!! When we FINALLY made it to still waters, they honored our reservation even though we were nearly an hour late. We chose to eat at the buffet at Stillwaters. It was a very romantic restaurant and the food was fantastic. This was a great value. The price and quality of the food were great! We enjoyed Stillwaters! For me, it was reminiscent of a VEGAS style casino/hotel buffet just a smaller scale.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pack513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Thank you for your kind words about Stillwaters Restaurant! I am sorry you had difficulties finding the resort with your GPS. Most GPS providers locate us with no problem and we are working with the other ones to make sure they have us on their maps.. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to welcome you back to Stonewall Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We arrived, were checked in within minutes and on the evening lake cruise on the hotel's boat. This place is absolutely fabulous. The atmosphere is fun and family oriented and not too busy. The pool was lovely, the lake was super for canoeing and the boat cruise was relaxing. The staff was superb. The food was delish--especially the breakfast buffet. The rooms were sumptuous. We would recommend this place to everyone looking for a quiet place to relax. Our kids can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Thank you for a great review! For summer of 2011, we are planning to have significantly more activities and events for guests to enjoy on a daily basis. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews