We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Vacation Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Myself, my husband, my mother & father-in-law, our 13 yr old twin boys, our 17 yr old daughter and her friend (yep- 8 people!) travelled from Peterborough, Ontario Canada to spend Easter Weekend at Stonewall Resort for a golf vacation (for the boys) and a relaxing getaway for the girls. We couldn't believe how GREEN the golf course was-- bare in mind that it was unseasonably warm for that time of year. We rented a 3 -bdrm lakeview cottage and were not disappointed! The cottage was really nice with plenty of room for everyone. Very clean. There were a few small items missing (dishwasher soap, enough coffee mugs) but housekeeping took care of it right away. The leaves weren't on the trees yet, so we had fantastic views of the whole resort. The staff during our stay (3 nights) were all very helpful and friendly. They were all really nice to the kids, and the kids took advantage of the shuttle servie to get to and from the resort and golf clubhouse. When the shuttle bus broke down- they chauvered the kids around in a large golf cart- the kids didn't mind! We didn't eat in the restaurants, but my daughter and i enjoyed an appetizer at TJ Muskies. The food was good and reasonably priced.

On Saturday someone drove into a power switch box and the whole resort lost power at about 1pm. The cottages got power again around 8:30pm. THis didn't affect us as we BBQ'd our supper. At the lodge, they brought out huge BBQ' s and gave out hot dogs & hamburgers. The resort seemed to do a great job with a bad situation that was out of their hands. They got the power company out right away.

Only the indoor pool was open because of the season, but the kids enjoyed it. The locker rooms are really nice-- my husband and the boys enjoyed the steam room also.

The kids took out the kayaks, bikes and paddle boats-- they were never bored the entire time we were there-- and that's saying alot with teenagers (they didn't pick up their PSP's either all weekend!!) The campground looks really nice (even though there is a cemetery in it!!)

The boys all LOVED the golf course. We didn't get a chance to try the spa-- but I was quite happy to work on my tan all weekend.

I've read some complaints about the sheets-- they were crisp, but not scratchy or anything-- I liked them.

I was a little disappointed we couldn't bring our small dog with us-- dogs are not allowed in the cottages, but they do allow dogs in the lodge rooms for an extra fee. I suppose we didn't have to worry about other dogs being yappy-- it was sooo quiet on the "cottage street".

It took approx 10 hours to get to Stonewall Resort from our home, and I would definately stay here again--- maybe try it in the fall. West Virginia is beautiful; I can only imagine what it would look like when the leaves change colours!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly_Mum011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks about the good experience you had at our resort. We take pride in the service we provide to our guests. We do apologize for the power outage we experienced while you were. It was caused by an automobile accident near the entrance of the resort. Thankfully, there were no injuries but the damage to our power supply took longer to repair than we expected. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    298
    123
    51
    28
See reviews for
303
357
12
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

If there was ANY where else local to go for our family gathering, I would have booked it. This hotel's public areas are adequate but rooms are below average. Customer service poor. The employees have not been properly trained. This is the only quality resort hotel in the area so they can fail in many areas and still get bookings. After two family gatherings at this place, I have vetoed this hotel for all other gatherings. Toilet malfunction, garbage in hallway, helpless desk clerk, ect. This is the best the area has to offer. Only choose this hotel if you have to. Go to Charleston!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
We are very sorry to hear of the experiences this guest has reported. We are attempting to reach out to her now. We take a lot of pride in quality of our staff and the service we provide on a daily basis. When we do fall short of the mark in the eyes of our guests, we try to learn from our mistakes and improve our service. AAA has just awarded us their 4 Diamond Award for the 7th straight year. Hopefully, we can make things right for this guest and earn her business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

This resort tries really hard and they succeed. It is a solid 3 1/2 star resort, which is hard to do at a state park, with nice amenities. We've had many good experiences here for business conferences but the most recent trip was for their cullinary classic. They had excellent chefs and put an good program of food and wine. The idea lacked a little in execution. The staff here always tries very hard to make everything perfect for your stay. Rooms have a lot of space, are very clean and are comfortable. The food is always surprising excellent. Thanks Stonewall.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationseeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Thank you for the kind words about your experience at Stonewall Resort. Based on the positive response to our event, we had almost 70 people register for the March 2011 Culinary Classic when they checked out this year. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

I stayed at this property for one night in December 2009. I attended a business meeting that was conducted there. My room was covered by the organization that invited me to the meeting, but I understand the rate was $110 for a king room.

The property is in a state park approximately two miles from I-77. The drive through the park to the hotel was scenic and a security guard was present at the gate.

The lodge is built in the adirondack style and is alongside a lake. The park would be great to visit most of the year, but in December the best thing to do was stay inside and watch the deer stroll through the lawn.

The lobby of the lodge is impressive. It is clean, well appointed and makes for a great place to see friends. Check-in was literally a three minute affair as all documents were ready for me.

The room was clean and everything worked. My expectation was for better furnishings than I found. At the price point charged better quality would be a nice touch. The furniture looked like that which I would find at a Holiday Inn. The television was not flat panel, again not what I would expect. The room did feature an extremely large closet. The bathroom was spotless and very well appointed.

As noted by other reviewers, bedding was interesting. It seemed to be a high thread count, but seemed stiff. Too much starch perhaps? I'm not sure, but it deserves attention from leadership.

Food service was excellent during my stay. I enjoyed three meals there, all served banquet style. Quality was top-shelf and service was comparable to that which I would expect at a higher priced propert.

Conference facilities are top-shelf here. Everything necessary for a great meeting was close at hand and the staff worked to keep it that way.

This is a nice place and is worthy of your consideration. When the weather is better I think a long weekend here would make for a relaxing family getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Thank you for your candid comments about your stay at Stonewall Resort. We are addressing the issue of bed linen quality with our linen provider. Over the winter, we were able to paint each guest room in the lodge and added an accent color. We do have plans to upgrade our televisions in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort. Our Palmer Course, #1 golf course in West Virginia, opens Saturday, March 27. Spring is here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQGal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband & I spent Thanksgiving at Stonewall Resort and although the room rate was surprisingly low, the prices on the menus in their two open restaurants (3rd restaurant was closed for the season) made us gasp. We're from a small town in the south, and since Stonewall is located so close to Washington, DC and Pennsylvania, I assume they think those prices are warranted. I ate a cesear salad (in a small bowl, not a platter) with no chicken or fish added, and it was $8.00. THIS for romaine, crutons and dressing? There are a few small towns within 15-20 miles driving distance but being the holidays, many eateries were closed and the choices were mainly fast food. We have nothing but good things to say about the beautiful resort; i.e, magnificent foyer with fireplace, clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly staff but the quality of the food did not warrant the price. If you are at the Resort with no transportation, be prepared to pay for the food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBQGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We recently spent four long days and three nights at Stonewall (our first visit to WV) at our son's wedding. He and his new wife had found (she is from WV, he is from the Boston area) this resort and booked it for their wedding weekend. It was glorious!! From arrival on Th morning through leaving noontime on Sunday, the resort proved to be a perfect location for friends and family to gather. Although getting from PIT airport to the resort requires over two hours (!?), once there our families and friends from MA, NY, CA, OR, WA, TX, WV, SC, VA, and MD had a wonderful time. We had a quick rehearsal on Friday night and then a wonderful BBQ which was supposed to be outside, but unfortunately the weather did not co-operate - there were tornado warnings about 1/2 prior to the start and the people in charge suggested we bring it inside. They were able to reset everything and were so helpful and gracious and accommodating with all the changes. And the food was delicious!! The breakfasts were awesome and the wedding itself was perfect. Once again the weather was not conducive for an outside affair (something that was not apparent until later in the morning) and once again all parties involved - wedding coordinator, custodial staff, all resort employees, drivers, and anyone else who had planned on getting us to the site which was supposed to be set up about 1/2 down the resort road in a beautiful clearing - were upfront, helpful and super accommodating in making all kinds of changes at the last minute. We cannot say enough about our wonderful experience. All of our guests (ages 6 to 95) were impressed. The 95 year old said that her entire weekend was wonderful and that "there are not enough adjectives" to describe the wedding and the setting!
In terms of those who mention the "crinkly sheets," I say - okay they are not "400 thread," but the bed and sheets were quite comfortable. And although the rooms are not just renovated, the lodge is quite nice and special and the main lobby is spectacular for a wedding!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asl-bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent three days at Stonewall Resort over the fourth of July. Two days were a gift from my mother; we paid for the third night. It came with breakfast and dinner (both buffets) as part of the package price. When we added in a couple of rounds of golf ($100 per person), beverages, and the price difference between the buffets and ordering off the menu, this little weekend get-a-way cost us almost $2,000! And we only live an hour and a half away from the resort. For that money, we could have gone outside the country for a week.

And to top it off, it rained on the fourth, forcing all the kids inside. There was NOTHING for them to do so they clogged up all the restaurants, the bars, and the indoor pool.

Save your money and spend it elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcd630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
19.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Property: Stonewall Resort
Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing