We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with lots of family-friendly activities”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location with lots of family-friendly activities”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed for three nights as a family of four including two little kids. The kids particularly enjoyed the paddleboats and the swimming facility. The pool temperature was warm and inviting-- the kids wanted to swim all day! It was also great that bikes were available. We all liked the rustic aesthetic of the lobby and the library. The room was comfortable. We ran into one problem in that they did not provide housekeeping on one day (even though we were out of the room all day), and then we had a hard time even getting fresh towels that night. Otherwise the resort was good.

Dining:
Stillwaters- we dined there for both the breakfast buffet and the dinner buffet and enjoyed both. The waitstaff were super friendly and attentive, and made our children feel special. The food was tasty and plentiful.

TJ Muskees- service was a little slow, as they were pretty slammed. We, like just about everyone else there, had just gotten off the Little Sorrel boat ride, and this led to them being slammed. Food was decent though.

Lightburns at the golf course- dinner and lunch- the service was good. The food was decent, but not spectacular- I enjoyed lunch more than dinner. For dinner, I was not impressed with the desserts in particular. I ordered a turkey sandwich, and they were out of carved turkey and substituted turkey lunchmeat. I ordered a creme brulee, and it was not carmelized and the flavor itself was not very good. The best thing about the restaurant was that kids 5 and under eat free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comp_rhet_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    347
    144
    61
    34
See reviews for
372
441
16
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was at least our tenth trip to Stonewall Resort, which we have always enjoyed, but this was the best. Our room was in the Convention Wing where we have never been before. The room overlooked the beautiful lake and was extremely comfortable, beds and pillows just great. We have golfed there in the past, but always bemoaned the lack of tennis courts; lo and behold, this time we saw that there are tennis courts in the works, and plenty of them!! We are so excited to try them out, which it appears will be very soon. We always stay in the lodge while our daughter and her husband and family camp on the lovely campsites. We have a very restful and fun time together at Stonewall.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room in the Convention wing. They are larger and have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

It used to be a special treat to have a getaway to Stonewall. Not any more. The main desk and lobby area is still very inviting and clean. However, that changed once we went to our room. This area really needs some updating. It is showing it's age and wear and tear. The coffee maker had grounds still in it. Even after removing the pod, water had to be ran through it 9 times until there were not any floaters in the water. Several hairs on the sink and tub upon arrival.
Now to Stillwater's restaurant. We went on Thursday morning. Not crowded at all. The hostess sat my wife and I and said the server would be with us shortly. After several servers kept walking past our table and gathered around the hostess station, we decided to go to the buffet ourselves. The food was very bland tasting and needed seasoning. Our server came by and asked what we wanted to drink. The last time we were there, drinks were included with the $14 buffet. Not this time, so we ordered water. My wife decided she wanted some tea, so she asked another server passing our table how much drinks were. She said, you got the Buffet so they are included. Come to find out, she was wrong. They keep changing their policy.
The golf course is in great shape, and well maintained. This was the highlight of the trip. My wife enjoyed her pedicure, but it did state it cost more than expected and they automatically add the 20% gratuity.
With some maintenance and upkeep, along with some consistent policies, this resort can once again be rated higher.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Came here without children as a close overnight to pick them up after a week at a camp. Room is less than average, AC didn't work well, hallway had low grade smell of body odor. Went to stillwaters for breakfast. Got the buffet because not one person ever waited on us. Ever. First time in my life I paid a bill and didn't leave a tip because there was no one TO tip. Food on buffet was mediocre at best. Did SUP on lake which was fine. Late lunch at tj muskees. Good service and good wings and hummus platter.
We went to oliverio's in Bridgeport for dinner 25min away because Stillwaters was such a disappointment for breakfast no way was I going for dinner.
I dont enjoy golf so I can't comment on that aspect of the resort. Workout facility is pitiful. Also didn't take advantage of the spa.
Likely won't go back. Which is too bad as I live in WV and Stonewall is only 90min from home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalbastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT ALBANS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Stonewall Resort for a work retreat. It's a really nice place to stay and offers a lot of things to do. The staff there was very nice & friendly! Everything is really clean no matter where you are in the resort. The only negative was the slow service in TJ Muskee's. One suggestion: I would really like to see a recycling program implemented. I watched so much plastic and glass going into the trash bins. It's a real shame.

Room Tip: If you have any issues walking very far you should ask for a room that is located more in the center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURINDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as a stopover on our way to our main destination just to break up the drive since we have young children. This was much much nicer than what I have came to expect from typical lake resorts. The lake and golf course are beautiful. Complimentary valet parking. Free use of kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, rod and reels. Breakfast buffet was as good as I've had anywhere. Pool is indoor /outdoor and there is a bar close by. If you have children be sure to take them down to the marina where $1 buys you a big bag of food that the Fish will literally climb on top of one another to grab. Plan on returning and making this our main destination in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hzrvkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a luxurious stay, this will not be your cup of tea. But for conferences/meetings it's a great facility. Very rustic feel/decor due to it being a lodge. Great lake views from the rooms. Convenient parking in the front. Food is above average and the service was excellent. Unfortunately did not get to enjoy the spa facilities due to no openings so would recommend booking in advance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
142 reviews
19.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
303 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Property: Stonewall Resort
Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing