We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We found Stonewall Resort as a half way point on our long drive from CT to KY. It was perfect for us and we plan on stoping there everytime we are in the area. An amazing resort with everything. Great food, great people. Connecting indoor/outdoor pool. Golf course. Bikes and bike trails.

Room Tip: With so much to do, you will most likely not spend too much time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stonewall Resort is situated in a beautifully landscaped and natural setting with beautiful people running it. The guestrooms were comfortable, the meeting space was spacious and the restaurants and banquet food was fabulous. This property is perfect for meetings, social events and unique vacationing. I will definitely be back. LOVED the golf course.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happycamperrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Was at this wonderful resort for a conference. Located in West Virginia, it's a two hour drive from Pittsburgh. Lovely setting. World class golf. But what sets it apart is its staff. To a person they were caring, kind, courteous, and enthusiastic. They clearly enjoy working there. Everywhere I went in the resort was always greeted with a warm smile and wonderful greeting. Made me feel like a VIP, despite just being a conference attendee. Kudos to management and the wonderful team assembled there.

Looking forward to returning some day.

Jim T.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSYountville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been to Stonewall twice over the past couple of years. Once in the fall when the leaves were just gorgeous and most recently this spring. On both occasions we had a wonderful relaxing time. It's a great place for kids. Lots of outdoor activities and not overly formal. I wouldn't stay more than 2 or3 days unless you are ok with repeating activities. Lots of trails to hike, biking,canoes, kayaks and swimming all for a flat $15 daily resort activity fee. They have a casual pub style restaurant and their main restaurant where you can either order a buffet meal or off of the menus. The breakfast buffet is tremendous . We did the dinner buffet and for the cost I was disappointed. Lots of variety but it just didn't do it for me. Next time I will order off of the menu.

There isn't much to do there in the evenings. They do have a fire pit where the kids can make s'mores ($10 for a kit that makes 4). I say bring your own ingredients. The pool is open until 11:00.; but that's it. We usually play cards in the lobby or go back to our room for TV time.

The spa is very nice. I've enjoyed time there on both visits but you do have to plan ahead and make appointments. My 14 year had a golf lesson with the golf pro for an hour for $25 which I felt was very reasonable. The pro was very kind, helpful and even went back to the clubhouse and typed up some notes for him to take home.

It was a great weekend. Would like to see it in the winter but am concerned that there wouldn't be enough to do since many of the outdoor activities would not be available. Highly recommend a visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

While the lake and the golf course are the selling points the real asset of the resort is the excellent staff. We have stayed there many times and have never been disappointed. Everyone is very friendly and makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitehat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

First the bad news The spa The spa adds a 20% (no choice) tip That's too much since you go to the spa Horrible non service I went in they couldn't take (I wanted a 1/2 hour foot massage) which was fine I called later, the phone was NOT answered I went to the spa again, was told they could take me then. 4 minutes later she said it would be just over hour, I said no I wanted it now (I saw 3 spa people walking around the spa) Then it was 1/2 hour I repeated myself & left Why could they said yes at 1st then no?

The resort is GREAT Our king room was great The staff is one of the best. There is so much to do The pool is an indoor pool that also goes outside, in the winter the entire pool stays open to 11PM year round (they heat it to over 90 degrees in the winter) The resort is very clean Our room was reasonable the food is a little high, but it is a resort. Breakfast buffet is $14. but you will not be hungry till dinner They have bike & non motorized boats (free) tons of stuff for kids to do. We could NOT do everything we wanted to do in our 3 nights there I want to go back in the fall, my husband wants to go in the winter, so I guess that means spring, fall & winter stays for us
The gift shop prices seemed a little high, but they carried wonderful things for all ages
There is a campground for tents & trailers, there are also cabins available We are thinking instead of giving the grandkids toys at Christmas (they have many people who give them Christmas toys) to give the entire family a big certificate to Stonewall. From Zelienople Pa it is a 2 1/2/ hour drive from West Virginia it is 1 hour

Room Tip: If you like to swim ask for a room from 137 to 153 odd or even any floor so I guess that would be 23...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELNUT207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Stonewall Resort while in the area on business. It is a very nice resort in a lovely setting. Our room was large and comfortable. The restaurant had both breakfast and dinner buffets that offered good food at very reasonable prices. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. We hope to take our granddaughters there this summer to enjoy all the fun things they have to offer at this fine resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
19.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
24.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
154 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $128 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing