We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary Classic Weekend”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Yukon, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Culinary Classic Weekend”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at the Stonewall Resort, we attended the Culinary Classic. Overall, it was a very nice event. We have attended culinary weekends at a couple of other resorts over the past 6 years and some things we liked better at the Stonewall and others, less. First of all, the room was very nice and clean. We stayed in a king sized suite overlooking the lake. It was comfortable, roomy and had a great view.

Friday evening was the kick off with a Dine Around Event. We enjoyed this event very much, had never participated in one at the other places we have been. There were different groups preparing different foods and desserts, there was beer and wine included. You could eat as much or little as you wanted and most items were very good. They had a singer for entertainment and it was difficult to hear him over the noise of the crowd. Also, the PA system was not loud enough to hear those who spoke.

On Saturday, the day started with a breakfast buffet in the Stillwaters Restaurant. Even though we had made reservations, they were not in the system and the place was quite busy at 9am so we had a short wait for a table. The food was typical breakfast buffet fare but was temperature appropriate and there were plenty of choices, including made to order omelets. The bacon was real bacon, not that paper thin stuff and the oatmeal was very good also. Service was also good.

We then attended a demonstration on smoking meats in one of the meeting rooms. The chef was very informative and you got to taste a smoked beef brisket sample and make a rub to take home. The second demonstration we attended was on making sauces. The chef was also very informative and we got to sample several sauces served over bite sized pieces of chicken, steak and scallops. The down side was that there was not enough room, people were standing and there was a rude group of people towards the back that were talking during the presentation and it was very difficult to hear at times. Perhaps a microphone would have solved that issue. Also, staff should have brought in more chairs.

The other event was wine tasting, which we did not go to. There was also an ice carving demonstration outside on the patio that we watched through the window as we ate breakfast but it was not very long or impressive. That was all of the demonstrations offered all in the morning. We would have liked to have seen more demonstrations, along with recipes. At a resort about an hour north, you receive a booklet with the bios of all of the chefs and all of the recipes for the foods served over the weekend. Maybe Stonewall could do that next year?

The afternoon events were a Throwdown cooking competition, like an Iron Chef competition and as it was taking place, the Man vs Food competition was also in full swing, both in the same ballroom. I found the high level of noise and people standing all around very annoying. Even though they had video guys with cameras projecting the events on a large screen on the far wall, it was difficult to see and impossible to hear. At the other food and wine festival we attend in January about an hour north of Stonewall, their event takes place up on a stage in the ballroom with mirrors overhead and large monitors placed below so that everyone can see and hear. The chairs are in rows, with no tables. I found the events at Stonewall to be too noisy and was frustrated. I could not even tell you what the chefs made, what the scores were or who won due to the chaotic nature of the events.

As for the Man vs Food, my husband was chosen to participate and I could not see him unless I went right up to the table in front of him. All of the commentary for both events was conflicting and difficult to follow. My husband actually won this event and received a certificate for a free overnight stay!

On a positive note, they offered a bread and soup bar during these events and it was very good. There was a variety of soups, breads and crackers available for lunch. They also had cold beverages.

There was a break in the afternoon and then a manager's reception in the lobby at 6:30. All they served was champagne, beer and one type of hors D oeuvres, some type of small meatball with cheese on it! That was very disappointing. At the other food and wine festival we attend they offer many delicious appetizers before going in to the gala dinner.

The main event was a four course dinner on Saturday evening. The ballroom was decorated in a Spanish type theme and they had live music to go with that theme. The first course was an oriental inspired soup which I did not care for. The second course was a hand made breaded crab cake topped with various greens and it was very good. The third and main course was veal roast slices, breaded veal sweetbreads, mashed Yukon Gold potatoes served in a square and peas served three ways- mashed peas, whole peas and pea tendrils. I did not like that course at all. The final course/dessert was a chocolate cup with mousse, meringue and a drizzle of raspberry syrup, it was very good. Each course was paired with a different wine, I liked 3 out of the 4 wines chosen. Overall, my husband and were very disappointed with the dinner. I understand that it would be difficult to please everyone but nothing was outstanding, in our opinion.

On Sunday morning the breakfast buffet was included again and they had a different variety of foods to choose from and it was good.

Overall, we enjoyed the Culinary Classic at the Stonewall Resort and will probably attend again next year. However, I would suggest to the management that they consider some of the comments and suggestions I have made for any future events. There needs to be more crowd control, a better sound and video system and more cooking demonstrations as well as offering the recipes for the things made. Also, a small market would be nice with local businesses selling their wares, such as sauces, jellies and jams, wines, crafts, etc.

Finally, we found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We received a very nice gift basket delivered to our room after the dinner on Saturday. It is has a bottle of wine, various sauces, mustards, ketchup, a parsley growing kit, a cutting board, a grater, a can of microbrewery beer, rice wine vinegar, a magazine and other items.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthia_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    338
    139
    61
    33
See reviews for
350
432
16
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our family had a fantastic time at this beautiful peaceful resort. We enjoyed time swimming in the pool, and yes we spent most of the time in the outside pool area even though it was 30 degrees outside! The water was warm and the outdoor hot tub was amazing! We went early in the morning right after breakfast and the pool area was very quiet. Such a treat to sit in the outdoor hot tub looking over the lake and watching the deer graze….ahhhh! Spent the afternoon walking the boardwalk and quiet resort roads. Would have loved to hike some of the trails, but was bait muddy when we were there. Relaxed in the beautiful lobby with the sunlight streaming in the windows looking over the lake and the fire crackling in the fireplace. And we grazed at the breakfast buffet and enjoyed drinks and sandwiches in the lounge too. Just a perfect weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friday - Sunday, Valentine weekend special. Offered champagne and cookie bar in the beauiful lobby with photo opportunites. They had a lot of seating and a huge fireplace with an area to sit on the edge of the fireplace. Dinner and Breakfast included both days.... Fabulous food! Entertainment in TJs was a guitarist, dancing and shooting pool. Outside they had a firepit and roasting marshmellows. The swimming pool (indoor) was warm and the indoor hot tub was HOT! We saw brave couples in the outdoor pool while it was snowing - their love musta been keeping them warm! The hotel rooms had a large king bed, couch - would make into a bed, 4 cup perkulator coffee pot, small refridgerator, small table/2 chairs, and a dresser with large TV. Bathroom was large and they provide a hair dryer. The gift shop is nice, but has limited hours on the weekend. They also have a spa on site - I have used it before and have loved the massages given by Jamial (?), but he wasn't working so I didn't get a massage - the spa is pricey. They have a large room service menu available. We have stayed at Stonewall resort several times - about 75 minute drive from Charleston WV, and will return. During the summer they have continuous activities for the young and old...my husband loves their golf course and at 5pm they have a yacht that loads up and takes you all around the lake - beautiful scenery. Lots of deer/squirrels. The cabins by the lake look lovely, but I haven't stayed in one.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 10 different rooms.... all views are good, of the lake, of the golf course, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Stonewall for our 1 year anniversary trip in May of 2013, and we requested a lake-view room since it was a special occasion. We were a disappointed, though, because all we could see was the wall of trees that completely blocked the view of the lake. The room was clean and comfortable, though, and we loved that the kayaks/paddle boats were complimentary with the resort stay! The other disappointing part of the trip was the restaurant in the bottom level of the resort. We were encouraged by the staff to do the dinner buffet, but the food had obviously been sitting out for hours. There weren't many options, and it definitely wasn't worth the price tag for both of us.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelDispennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife, myself and two of our three children have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Stonewall Resort, and it was an absolutely perfect weekend. We had a two room suite which was extremely spacious and very comfortable. The resort was just beautiful and so clean. There was plenty to do for the children (in spite of the snowy weather!) but the most endearing memory for me was the graciousness of the staff. Each and every one of them was amazing - we never felt rushed, and they took a genuine interest in our well being. There were too many to mention individually, but if you're reading this you know who you are! I do want to say a special thank you though to Dan for going above and beyond with the suggestions of things to do, and of course to Mike Hager for making sure our whole trip was perfect. I would thoroughly recommend this resort to anyone and everyone. If you're even half thinking about going here I would say just do it - you will not regret it. We visited in middle of January and the scenery was breathtaking even then, but the location is such that no matter what time of year you're there it would be equally amazing. In fact everyone we spoke to said the same, and how happy they are to be working there. It was truly a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent Thanksgiving getaway - dinner special was unforgettable experience and staff was attentive. Always a delight as we visit 12 - 20 nights every year to take advantage of the messages and solitude.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quieter due to less thru-traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVmountaineer081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there last night and are highly disappointed. We reserved a room with enhancements and really hoped to have a great time getting away. I've been there for conferences and told my husband we would have a great time reconnecting since he just came home from military training. We checked in, put our stuff in the room, and headed down for dinner. The food was NOT like it has been in the past. I would've rather spent $10 on pizza instead of the $60 I paid. Then we went back to the room to get ready to go to the pool and hot tub... only to go down and find out it was closed. So we had nothing else to do. Went to breakfast this morning (better than dinner - thank goodness) and then just checked out and came home. I consider this a waste of $260 total... if there was a disclaimer during reservation regarding the pool and hot tub being closed we would've waited and not wasted our money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nmarcum03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our Director of Rooms has reached out to you to discuss this matter further and is hoping to hear from you soon to offer a resolution. Please accept our apologies for the issues that occurred during your stay. There is never a convenient time to close a resort pool for any length of time but it was necessary in order for us to completely resurface the heated indoor/outdoor pool and 2 hot tubs. We did our best to notify guests at the time they booked their room and also we posted a message on the front page of our website but we are aware and regret that not all of guests got the message prior to their arrival. We do expect to have the pool and hot tubs heated and open again starting February 11. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
138 reviews
19.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
423 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Property: Stonewall Resort
Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing