We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful suite, beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful suite, beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite for our friends bachelorette party. The suite was huge and fit all 6 of us comfortably! There were two bathrooms and three refrigerators! We enjoyed the stay and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    313
    133
    58
    28
See reviews for
319
395
13
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I just spend a wonderful weekend in a cottage at Stonewall Resort. It was a last minute, spontaneous trip and I wish we had the time to stay longer. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about any aspect of our stay. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, the staff (ALL of the staff everywhere on the property) was amazingly friendly and helpful, our cottage was amazing. I could go on and on. We had dinner and breakfast at Stillwaters which was great. My dinner was average, my husband had the buffet which he loved. Breakfast the next morning at Stillwaters was so yummy. If you are a Belgian waffle fan you must have one freshly prepared for you!! We will definitely be returning to Stonewall in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFairLady718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is back out in the middle of no where just enough to make it peaceful, yet close enough to amenities to make it convenient. The resort is beautiful and amazing, paddle boating, fishing, golfing and all. Added bonus: it was National Hunting and Fishing Days there this weekend. There was lots of things to do. I recommend this place as a "at least once in a lifetime place!" Every family should try it once.... And by once.... It is rather costly, but I would do it again. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniedawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently took a motorcycle tour of West Virginia. After our first night at the resort, we (group of 5 people) decided to spend a second night. The staff members were all outstanding. I would love to point out exceptional staff member, but, they were all fantastic. The grounds are very well kept, the pool & hot tub were greatly appreciated after a day of riding. The campfire pit was great as it was large enough to accomodate 20+ people, which is a great way to socialize when you are not from the area. We would love to come back to West Virginia and intend to stay again at the resort as we didn't get time to take the boat ride around the lake or take a kayak out. We ate at both restaurants and neither disappointed. I had looked ahead at places to stay for the areas we expected to be in each day. When I searched the web and seen the resort, I entered the date I expected our group to be there. When I printed this out, it stated the rooms were $77 per night, but, when we arrived, the front desk said the rooms were $139. When I showed the attendant the print out indicating $77 there were no questions asked and we got the rooms for $77. Even at $139. this resort is worth every cent, but, what an exceptional deal at $77.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationmania10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent 2 nights for a wedding at this lovely resort. The staff was very helpful and moved the ceremony inside when it rained for 2 days. The food for the event was delicious. Guests received breakfast each morning. The pool looked very inviting but I forgot my suit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent a day and a half at Stonewall Resort last week for a work retreat. I had always heard good things about the resort, but had not visited until last week. The front desk was gracious upon check in and held our bags for me and my colleagues until our rooms were ready later in the afternoon.

The conference facilities were very comfortable and accommodating. The chairs in our classroom-style set up were very comfortable -- they were not your average banquet chair, but a nice office-style desk chair with armrests and cushioned seat. I've heard that the wireless connection at the resort was horrible in the past, but I had no issue with the connection. I could text, upload photos, and make calls as needed, from the conference area and my room.

The buffet style lunch at Stillwaters was great, offering a good variety of options. The evening reception was held outdoors where appetizers were offered buffet style. Unfortunately, the items were not labled, so we had to guess at what we were eating. Also, there were many bugs and gnats in the area that were very annoying during a professional reception.

My hotel room was spacious and well-maintained. My king bed was clean, the sheets were crisp, and the mattress was comfortable. And, there were plenty of pillows!

Stonewall Resort also has a large gift shop with lots of beautiful momentos -- including jewelry, Vera Bradley bags, candles, etc. And, there are plenty of Stonewall Resort t's to choose from.

Overall, it was a great location for a business retreat... I would definitely consider Stonewall for a future event. I hope to return to this scenic locale with my family in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
268 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Stonewall Resort is a beautiful complex set on a lake near Roanoke WV (2 1/2 hour drive from Pittsburgh). The rooms are spacious with all the amenities; many have a lake view. The restaurant has a buffet for each meal, or you can choose from the menu. There is an adjacent bar. There is a spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor pool, and free use of bikes, kayaks, canoes, etc. The adjoining golf course is very challenging and has gorgeous vistas. There is also a restaurant there. This is a great getaway spot.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
24.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
19.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Property: Stonewall Resort
Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing