We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2010

The new HI Express is definitely an upgrade from the old location, which is now the Quality Inn. The front desk clerk was friendly, helpful, and efficient. It's a nice change to stay in a hotel room where everything is new, although the bed was already starting to sag in the middle. Our king bed leisure room has a nice large shower but no tub. Very good lighting in the bathroom and reasonable water pressure. The only real negative was noise from other rooms. We could clearly hear the person above us snoring, walking across the room, using the bathroom, etc. The worst was listening to all the doors slamming as people go in and out of their rooms. Usually in these situations I turn the fan on the AC unit up to high and run it all the time to drown out the noise, but the units here are set up to only run the fan when the heat or AC is on.
There is a business center with 2 computers and printers, and you need a room key to enter the room. The pool/hot tub and fitness center are also accessed with your room key from 7AM to 10 PM. The pool is heated to about 78 degrees.
The new LCD TV is nice and they even have a few HD channels available.
Breakfast was OK, a little lacking in variety and no waffle maker.
The only other thing we were not happy with was the poor parenting skills of a guest who decided it was OK to leave 3 young boys unattended in the pool area and to let them eat breakfast in the hot tub.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 150 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2010

I arrived late at night. The gentleman at the front desk was on a personal call; he didn't say "oh, I have to go" but instead I waited while he finished the call, and only then did he start to help me. When he did he was great. I came down to the front desk again for something and once again he was on a personal call but this time he helped me quickly, and happily supplied the things that we forgot to bring with us. I know it's probably a boring job but I assumed the paying guests were more important than the (obviously non-emergency) personal call, and I think the first time he should have ended his call when I approached.

I really wanted adjoining rooms but I was told there are only 3 sets, and each connects with a handicapped accessible room, and apparently these rooms are always full. The adjoining rooms were all empty which tells me they need to change this set up to be more family friendly - but only if they are interested in filling the hotel on weekends. Instead I was offered a suite that was "a little" bigger than a normal room, either two beds or a king, with a sleep sofa (sleep sofas are traditionally so uncomfortable!) but the hotel doesn't have any roll away beds! Again, not family friendly, so I have to assume they earn their money from business travelers during the week, and dont really care about catering to families during the other times.

We were in standard rooms with two double beds; they were spacious and clean, and very comfortable, and the bedding was nice. The bathtub had obvioulsy been chipped on the bottom and was not repaired very well, but was quite functional. However, for a room that sleeps 4 people, there were only 3 sets of towels and 2 (foam) coffee cups, though there were 4 flimsy plastic cups next to the ice bucket.

The next morning the breakfast was great with a large variety of food, and this was one of the better breakfasts I've seen in places of this standard. Now for the "buts". Although there was a sign that said "trays available" there were no trays - pehaps if the lady that worked there was not watching TV there may have been some. Also, there were no newspapers at all. Anywhere. However, the food was varied, well stocked and the area was very clean.

While it's a very nice hotel, I not only paid for two rooms, but didn't end up with what I wanted. In addition, I believe they are a little overpriced. Had I not already been travelling for a while I would have gone somewhere else.

All in all I would recommend this for business and couples, but if you are traveling with a young family or teenagers they really are not set up to accommodate you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roogirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights, while the town pretty much rolls up the sidewalks at 6:00, the new Holiday Inn Express was very nice. Also recommend the drive to Point Pleasant to see the Mothman statue, as in the Richard Gere movie, the Mothman Profiecy. It's cheesy, but you have to do it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittsburgh_guy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and the man at the desk was VERY friendly and helpful! We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite, which had a fireplace, kitchen area, and a large standup shower. Indoor pool and spa was quiet and clean. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschacht31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed 4/3/10 for one night at this spotless new hotel. The front desk clerk was beyond friendly and helpful. I believe this hotel is only a few months old, so everything was clean and contemporary. Flat screen TV, plush bedding and comfortable mattresses. Free Wifi is always a plus for us as well. They had an indoor pool and hot tub which my 7 yr old took advantage of. The water was pretty cold though. The holiday Inn Express Hot Breakfast is always great compared to the others in this hotel class/category. The lady working the breakfast area was very effecient, friendly and helpful. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and courteous. Only negative was the price. Paid AAA rate of $90.00, but regular rate was $119, which is a bit steep considering the location and hotel class. It's probably because the property is so new. However, so glad we paid the extra after seeing the other options in this small town. Great Job Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazykfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The staff was very sincere and friendly. Everyone greeted us. The rooms were great and very clean. The pool was actually warm and very clean which is a rarity. The hot tub was spotless. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and everything was fresh. The attendant at the buffet was very friendly greeting everyone. The check in staff provides you with a list of all the local restaurants and stores. All is good here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The old facility is now under a different name and there is a brand new hotel in a new location.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
Thank mwesnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
#1 of 7 in Gallipolis
349 reviews
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gallipolis
Quality Inn Gallipolis
#4 of 7 in Gallipolis
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Ripley
Super 8 Ripley
#1 of 3 in Ripley
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ripley
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley

Address: 110 Memorial Dr, Ripley, WV 25271-1164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ripley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: $136 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ripley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing