We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ripley)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
78
58
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
58
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsshower stallhot and cold itemscoffee serviceheading northoff the highwayturkey sausagecoffee tablebagelsloved this hotelnext morningdecent breakfasthotel is beautifulrooms are comfortablewater pressuresouth carolinafront desk clerk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 153 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

just as expected. very clean. really friendly guy at check in. very helpful with area restaurants, etc. room was nice, clean and roomy. stayed here while traveling to disneyworld. great choice in ripley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldoctor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Ripley, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean, comfortable room and having a great staff to assist you.

Also, thank you for recommending our hotel to others that are visiting the Ripley area. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Disneyworld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here on a one night stopver while travelling during Christmas. Overall a good experience. Breakfast bar was well stocked. Scrambled eggs aren't the best but the bacon is good.
Mattress showing signs of wear but still plenty comfortable.
Only complaints would be poor water pressure in the shower, no recognition/benefit for being a Platinum Priority Club member, and the hot tub wasn't any warmer than the pool, which was heated nicely although strongly chlorinated. Would be nice if the pool was open later.
I wouldn't pay what they ask for the room ($119) but use points instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Ripley, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean, comfortable room to a friendly staff.

Regarding the comfort of the bed, every guest has a certain type of bed they like; I am truly sorry that we did not meet those needs with you. Overall, we get excellent comments regarding our bedding; the beds that we have at the hotel come from one of the preferred bedding vendors of Intercontinental Hotels Group. The hotel is only three years old so we feel the bedding is not worn out.

Regarding the water pressure, we will have our maintenance personnel look into this. This is not a complaint that we normally hear. Regarding the temperature of the hot tub, we did discover we were having an issue with the heater that controls the hot tub and that has been fixed. I am truly sorry for that inconvenience.

Finally, I would like to take a minute and thank you for being a Platinum member with Intercontinental Hotels Group. If our staff member failed to recognize you, I am truly sorry for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stopped for the evening and was very impressed. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very nice, well equipped and well kept. Breakfast was complementary and one of the best I have had. Front desk staff am/pm shift were professional and pleasant. Special props to the maintenence man, he goes above and beyond. This is a well managed hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Ripley, WV. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we have achieved our goal. I will pass on your review to our staff and especially our maintenance person.

Again, thank you for your great comments; and if you travel to Ripley again, I hope you will consider us for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This looks to be a fairly new hotel, and is clean. Is terribly overpriced for the room we had. Bed was REALLY uncomfortable, and those are truly the worst pillows I've ever slept on. Not joking the pillows felt like they were filled with little lumps of foam. Breakfast was good, except for the powdered eggs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

I truly appreciate the comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Ripley, West Virginia. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and see we came up short with your experience.

Regarding the comfort of the bed and pillows, every guest has a certain type of bed and pillow they like, I am truly sorry that we did not meet those needs for you. Overall we get excellent comments regarding our bedding, the beds and pillows that we use are within the brand standards that Intercontinental Hotels Group used in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

Along with the bedding our breakfast we offer our guests is brand specific. No matter what Holiday Inn Express you stay at you will experience the same breakfast. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast except for the scrambled eggs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are heading south on Interstate 77 thru WVa and need to stop for the night, this is a pretty decent option. (I think it is like exit 145...only one for Ripley.) Now this is ONLY if you are heading south and have gone past exit 170. At Parkersburg/170 there is a Fairfield by Marriott Inn and Suites that is about $20 a night cheaper and FAR superior. But again if you missed it and need to stop, Ripley is OK and certainly better than your options for the next hour and a half. Downtown Charleston, WV is your next option and that is a REALLY bad option (Embassy Suites downtown but only if you must.) and after that it is Beckley till you have an option. If you are heading north on 77 skip Charleston and blow past Ripley if you can make it to the above mentioned in Parkersburg.

As for the Holiday Inn....pretty much the same as the rest.. Newer (maybe 5-8 years old) property with a lot of tile (snow covered boots) to the point it is a little hose it out sterile. But breakfast is standard and it is clean. The weak part was the room (About $150-160) w tax. This was the lowest of the Hol Inn Exps we have stayed at. Talk about industrial low budget. The walls and ceilings were popcorn sprayed (sprayed w plaster compound and points knocked down) and all the same color. No door on the closet space (two short wall dividers and a bar). Unwrapped cups. Half @$$ tile job and finish thru out. This place will need a room reno in half the time of others. Worst part were the beds. Foam mattresses that had amnesia after a life of huge travelers had removed the ability to ever pop back into shape. Bring a rope ladder to get out of the coffin pit.

So OK if you have to stop and better than rest to south but try to plan around for the Fairfield at exit 170 and be happier for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Ripley, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to a friendly staff.

I appreciate the honest comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Ripley, West Virginia. I want to make sure that everyone knows that we are located on I-77 at Exit 138. We are a newer Holiday Inn Express & Suites that has been open just under 3 years that has received many positive reviews and remarks about our modern room décor. All of guest rooms offer the same room décor with two separate wall colors to show case the décor.
Ripley is an excellent stop if you are traveling I-77. Our rates are very consisted with the market. Our suites which you stayed in are in the rate range you mention. Those suites come with an extra seating area and wet bar with a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We also offer just a standard room at a lower price if you choose not to rent one of our suites.

Regarding the comfort of the bed, every guest has a certain type of bed they like, I am truly sorry that we did not meet those needs with you. Overall we get excellent comments regarding our bedding, the beds that we have at the hotel come from one of the preferred bedding vendors of Intercontinental Hotels Group.

Again thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Ripley, West Virginia for your lodging needs while you were traveling through on Interstate 77.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews