We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quietest Hotel Stay Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Quietest Hotel Stay Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a very nice hotel - clean, large rooms, and VERY quiet. The breakfast was plentiful, and hot and cold items were served. The only complaint I have is that I had to ask for one more towel, as there were only 3 in the 4-person room (was traveling with my husband and 2 kids), and there were not enough coffee cups to go with the coffee maker. Both of those things were really minor, though, and the most important thing was that it was clean and quiet. It was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've had. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebmar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express in Ripley, West Virginia.

I am so glad that we were able to provide you a clean and comfortable stay. You are so correct that the Holiday Inn Express breakfast has many options for childrent and adults.

I understand your minor concerns with the amount of towels and coffee that we put in our standard double rooms.

Again thanks for the recommendation for future travelers that maybe considering staying in the Ripley, West Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
36
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family and I were on a short trip to visit family and we couldn't have picked a nicer hotel to stay at. The room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast is super convenient. We will deffinatly be staying here next time we come to visit family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I want to thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Huge breakfast area. The lady who works in the breakfast area is extremely kind and helpful. Whatever HIE is paying her, it's not enough. The rooms are so spacious they still seem big even when you've got a two-year old in tow. Cookies in the afternoon. The only downside is the local dining options. Know that you're not coming to Ripley to have a culinary experience. You're staying in Ripley because you couldn't make it to North Carolina or Disney in a day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wialdwltgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, OH
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were on the road to and from Virginia. We liked the hotel so well our outbound stay we decided to return when we were homeward bound.

Starting from the brick detail which extends about 10 feet up around the outside, this property has an upscale look. The business center has 2 computers, the front desk offers afternoon chocolate chip cookies. Our large clean "king leisure" room included the best lighting of any hotel room, an easy chair with ottoman, desk with chair, mini fridge and microwave. Good quality bacon and eggs at breakfast. Small, warm shallow indoor pool was great for my water exercises.

We were recognized as Priority Club members with a welcome goody bag containing bottled water and snacks.

On our second stay in May we had a "king suite". This time the easy chair didn't have an ottoman. There was a separate little alcove for the desk + sofa, coffee table; the micro/fridge were located in a storage unit which included an extra sink.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express after traveling from Savannah, GA. This hotel is located about 45 minutes north of Charleston, W.Va and we're glad we stayed on the road a little longer. Friendly desk staff gave us a king, non-smoking room that I'd booked just a few hours prior via the internet. The rate was fair and the room was huge. The bathroom was clean. The king bed was comfortable with a firm mattress and plenty of pillows. There was a wet bar including a fridge and microwave. I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ripley, West Virginia and would stay there again when I'm traveling this way. Near the expressway but far enough away not to hear any traffic noise whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganQui1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

we s tayed at holiday in last may in ripley w.v.new and very nice.stayed at other holiday in express before new one was built.never h ad a problem getting a gov rate because my son is a n.j.state trooper.wecome to ripley for a few days in spring and in the fall to turkey and deer hunt for over 20yrs. and never had any problem untill last spring when we were told that you have to be on official business to get the gov rate.we had a very good time at the holiday in.my 4 sons realy liked the hot tub after a long day of hunting.would like very much to stay there again but with out the gov.rate and the price of gas to travel 480 miles it is to much.we do not have this problem at other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowmanTrentonNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

HI Express is our go-to when traveling. In general their properties are clean, convenient, offer a decent breakfast, and have great AAA and military discounts. This particular property is pet-friendly and does not limit the size of your pet to 30 pounds or less. We travel with a large dog, and really appreciate their willingness to accommodate him. This property was a great find, and will be our go-to for every trip we make in that direction. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our requested room was made available for us. The woman who was preparing breakfast, (the morning of 4/6/12...sorry I didn't get her name or I would add it to this review), was just the best....helped us get our food and was friendly and smiling, and that is not something you will always experience when traveling. Management should be proud of her, she does a great job! Also the gentleman at the desk the evening before when we checked in was professional and friendly, also someone to be proud of. We will be back on a regular basis. Thanks, HIX Ripley!

Room Tip: We requested a first floor room near the back entrance, which was convenient with our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonriseBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
#1 of 7 in Gallipolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
22.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gallipolis
Quality Inn Gallipolis
#3 of 7 in Gallipolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Ripley
Super 8 Ripley
#1 of 3 in Ripley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
Address: 110 Memorial Drive, Ripley, WV 25271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ripley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ripley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing