We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are thieves at this Roach Motel!!!”
Review of Super 8 Ripley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Ripley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel was initially thought to be a good value. The night manager was very dirty and very unpresentable to customers. The lobby also reeked of very strong air freshener. This should have been our first clue! We were given the keys for the room and went up quickly as my husband had to use the bathroom very badly. The air freshener was very overwhelming and at this point was making me feel ill. The room seemed tidy until I heard my husband say "baby, there's a big problem!!" I looked and there was a roach crawling on the bathroom floor. There was NO WAY we could stay here. We walked back down and told the manager there was no way we could stay and that there was a roach in the room. He simply said "ok". There was absolutely no urgency whatsoever in trying to resolve the roach issue. If it was my hotel I would have panicked and immediately called pest control. We asked him about the charges and he assured us we would not be charged. Two days later, the charges appeared and this hotel refused to refund us our money. All of the sudden the night manager "can't remember" if we stayed there or not and "can't remember" any roach issue. Wow, roaches must be no big deal at this Super 8!! Pleas be careful if you still choose ti stay here. Roaches multiply like crazy and carry thousands of diseases. Don't be surprised if you stay and bring them home to your family! These people are crooks!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinamina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Manager at Super 8 Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks for advising us of your experience. We were able to contact you and provide a full refund . We have made a change at the front desk and the clerk that you worked with is no longer employed with us. All of our rooms have micro/ fridge and lots of guest bring food to their rooms which can cause a bug problem. We have a contract in place with the pest control company and take this matter very serious. Hope you will try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 441 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

This Super 8 is far enough off the main highway to be quiet. It is clean - staff friendly.

Room Tip: There are interior corridors and we like the second floor. You will have to climb stairs with your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Manager at Super 8 Ripley, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your review for our property! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the local area. Hope to see you again on your next trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Every thing was great. Room was clean and recently remodeled. Desk staff was very friendly. Breakfast was a little sparse but there was a McDonald's right next door. There were a lot of other restaurants and a Kroger at this exit also.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toledoohiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stopped here during a snow storm in WV without a reservation. The Super 8 hotel chain can be "hit or miss". This one is a hit! The rooms we had were very clean and the beds comfortable. The pillows were not great but you are not paying much so you should not expect much. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpsonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I have stayed at Super 8 Ripley several times on my way back and forth from Detroit to Wilmington North Carolina where my 2 daughters live. It is very convenient and about half way between the 2 destinations. Of the 3 motels in that vicinity its the most reasonably priced, especially if you've been driving all day and just want to get a good night sleep. There is a McDonald right across the street so I wasn't interested in the "breakfast" at the motel. I will continue to stay there whenever I drive to NC.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The front desk staff were surly and rude. We were told they were fully booked and therefore a room change was not possible-but the parking lot remained empty all weekend. The pillows were old and flat. We were told they could not provide us wih any additional pillows-altho housekeeping DID locate two the next day. Security is lacking as the lock on rear hall entry was boken.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiehul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

The lobby was very small and crowded, the "breakfast bar" if that is what you want to call it, was very dryed out and nasty. The front desk attendant was very polite and professional looking, but was coughing all over her hands, and her work station. Other than these few little complaints, the rooms were very clean and smelled fresh, and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lmas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
#1 of 7 in Gallipolis
355 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gallipolis
Quality Inn Gallipolis
#4 of 7 in Gallipolis
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ripley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ripley

Address: 102 Duke St, I-77 Exit 138, Ripley, WV 25271-1130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ripley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: $69 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ripley 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ripley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ripley
Ripley Super Eight
Ripley Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing