We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pie was delicious!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mumsey's Iron Skillett

Mumsey's Iron Skillett
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Richwood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pie was delicious!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

After hearing great reviews about this place, my friend and I decided to try it out. We ordered the fried pickles, 2 entrees and a slice of peanut butter pie. To me, the whole meal was overpriced for what we got and the service was really slow. I do have to say the pie was DELICIOUS! Even though our first visit didn't leave a good impression, I would want to go back and give it another shot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great find in an out of the way place. After checking out the foliage we were hungry and looking for something other than fast food. The food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mudpuppyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pull right in to this bright spot along the highway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in, tired from climbing in and out of a local gorge to see beautiful waterfalls. We were delighted. Mumsey made sure we had everything just as we liked it-crispy fried chicken, bright, fresh broccoli, home baked pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, quaint, and great homemade food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place! The food was terrific, the staff friendly, and the dining area is very clean and nicely decorated. It's a shame there isn't a place like this in every town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mogul_racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good in it's own right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Forget the "good for Richwood" reviews, this would be a great place anywhere. The food is great, the service even better. It's a small mom and pop establishment with a slightly cramped inside, but plenty of nice outdoor seating. It's well maintained and very clean, so don't worry about that. Their Reuben is excellent and the menu is reasonably priced. Definitely worth stopping for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaNativeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumsey's Iron Skillett also viewed

Been to Mumsey's Iron Skillett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing