We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Charles Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Charles Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn and found it to be very comfortable. The facility was attractive, clean and well maintained. All levels of the staff members were nice and professional.

The only thing I found annoying about my stay were the speed bumps in the parking lot. They are a bit larger than necessary and rather uncomfortable to go over in and out of the parking lot in small cars.

Room Tip: I had a double queen bed room and had no complaints. I would imagine all the rooms in the facility w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    73
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
51
82
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just stayed there with Bike Virginia group. The internet never worked. On the first day, MANY people were not able to go into their rooms until 630pm or 7pm. Good breakfast and all but pretty expensive considering there was no internet and the other problems. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I picked this hotel while at an annual rotary conference. Everything including the comp breakfast exceeded our expectations. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Everything was easily accessed. Navigating to and from the room can be a little confusing but nothing a few extra turns wont cure. I thought it worth mentioning that "Amber" who was working the front desk one night couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Very nice to see, not enough of it these days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days last week at this (new looking) Holiday Inn Express in Ranson, West Virginia. It was a last minute trip and I didn't have lots of time to research places to stay. We were there to visit Harper's Ferry National Historical Park and also making a trip to Antietam Battlefield National Military Park. This hotel is the perfect spot for anyone wanting to visit these two places. Harper's Ferry is about 5 minutes down the road. Antietam is a longer drive back into Sharpburg, Maryland -- but we found out (by accident) on our way back to the hotel that Flowing Springs Road (where the hotel is located) is on a road that goes right into Sharpsburg (kind of a shortcut) where the battlefield is located. Also, the hotel is located close to the highway --but set back away from it --so it is nice and quiet there at night. Its seemed to me that there were many guests staying there while we were there -- but we had no noise issues at all. We stayed in a non-smoking king bed room on the third floor (there is an elevator). The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. Just what you want in a chain hotel like this --nothing real fancy -- but nothing to complain about either. The sheets and towels were clean, the bathroom was very clean, no stains or odors...and the air conditioning worked well and wasn't too loud. There was the complimentary free hot breakfast which was pretty good considering that it wasn't made to order like in a restaurant. They had unlimited amounts of sausage one day and crispy bacon the next day-- the bacon was excellent! There were pre-made cheese omlets which weren't great --but not bad either. If you were in the mood for something else--they had the usual assortment of breakfast fixings---toast, bagels, muffins, hot cinnamon rolls (too sweet for me but I think others might like them), cereal, pancakes etc, etc. The coffee was fairly good , too -- I had 2 cups each morning to get me going.Our room overlooked the pool. It was slightly too cool for the pool to be in use -- but it was large and looked clean and well cared for.People were sitting around the pool in the afternoon each day. I also noticed a nice fitness center. The hotel is close to the Hollywood Casino which has a complimentary bus that stops by the door on a regular basis in case you want to do some gambling (we didn't). As for food, there are many restaurants in the area --all a short drive from the hotel. In conclusion --all I can say is that this place is a winner.

Room Tip: The sun will wake you up in the morning. Remember the close the blackout curtains. We didn't do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

It was nice. We were supposed to have a non smoking room, but it smelled of cigaret smoke alot. Our friends stayed at a Comfort Inn few miles away and their room was nicer than ours.
The staff was friendly,and it was convienent we did enjoy our visit.

Room Tip: Check for smoke smell the non smoking rooms smelled alot like smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenH467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had gone to Charles Town, WV to a business/pleasure trip this past weekend. I had made a reservation at another smaller hotel trying to save a little money. Simply, we had to change hotels as we would not have stayed at the off-brand hotel. We called the HIE and were welcomed with open arms by Brian the front desk person. Yes it was more expensive but oh so worth it. This HIE is only about 5-years old and it was just beautiful, neat & clean. We had a room with two queen beds and it was HUGE. We were a little worried about possible noise being on the first floor near the parking lot but this was not a problem at all. Honestly we cannot say enough about how nice this hotel was and about how nice Brian was. We would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend it to any one!

Room Tip: Even first floor rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessieKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We liked just about everything about this HIE. The rooms and public areas were immaculate. The location is convenient for seeing the local historic attractions. Also, if you like visiting a casino, there is a shuttle to the nearby casino. The breakfast is especially good for this type of hotel. Lois, who was the breakfast attendant the morning we were there, worked so hard to make sure that everything was kept replenished and orderly. We especially appreciated that.

We would return to this HIE if in the area again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing