We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel but watch your step” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but watch your step”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is a nice hotel. It seems pretty new. It is located near both commercial and residence areas. Even though I didn't swim, the indoor pool seems very nice and clean.
There must be many people from industries stay in this hotel. When I checked into the hotel, there were many dirty footprints on the lobby floor. I had to watch my step. Additionally, my room smelled of cleaning agents when I entered. The maid must have done a huge cleaning job. I noticed dark smears on the curtains.
Becareful of entering and exiting the hotel. It is located near a major "T" intersection. It might be hard exiting the hotel during rush hour.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saturndriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    23
    4
    7
See reviews for
77
41
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The staff were VERY friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast had many choices and was good. (No waffles though, but you can't have everything.) They offered cookies at the desk AND biscuits for dogs as well! Nice attention to detail. Pet owners are given rooms on 3rd floor.....little inconvient for "bathroom breaks". Other than that...we were all very happy and couldn't have asked for anything better. It will be on my list of places to stay again and I would DEFINITELY recommend it to pet owners and non-pet owners alike! Job well done HIE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanInMyBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I had to travel a lot to Southwest VA during the last year and I always want to stay at this hotel if I am in the area. Jennifer, Margaret, Sue... all the ladies at the front desk are the best, hats off the them. Rooms, bathrooms, beds are always clean and service is more than adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaustuv59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on my way to Dayton OH. it is located right off I-77 making it easy to get to.The hotel looks new,room was very comfortable,and the bed made sleeping easy.
The Hotel is with in walking distance of a lot of places to eat,nothing fancy,but nice not having to drive to eat.
Threy served great tasting cookies in the afternoon.
I had to leave early so missed the breakfast,but the area is nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navywrslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had a very warm welcome from Sue. Having checked us into our room, she made sure we knew where we could eat, and gave several suggestions.

The room was spotlessly clean, and very large (see photo). Everything very comfortable. Compilementary breakfast, for a chain hotel was also very high standard. There was a good selection of cooked and cold food, along with helpful friendly staff. A comfortable bed and very quiet night. Complimentary WiFi was good. Pool was also good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed the night here on the way back from Myrtle Beach with great expectations. Previously on the trip we stayed at another Holiday Inn Express that was very nice.

Check In
A bit of sticker shock, a $116 on a Sunday night for a motel in the middle of nowhere. Interestingly they seem to allow pets at this hotel since they had Pet treats in a bowl The lady at the desk was very pleasant and even handed me a bunch of pizza menu's when I inquired about any pizza places. I picked a place called Angelos Pizza since it sounded very itialian.

Room
The room was ok, it was one of those handicap rooms with an extra roomy bathroom that could accomidate someone with a wheelchair.

One of the draws to the hotel is the fact that all their beds are two queen sized beds rather than doubles. Verry nice bedding, pillows a great place to get a good nights sleep.

BTW when the pizza came we realized we didn't have anything to eat with in the way of plates, napkins and such. I went down to the breakfast room in search of these items. None to be found, No desk attendant to be found. Had to go back up to the room and improvise. Like the hotel, the pizza I found overpriced for the quality of it. I should have ordered dominos.

During our stay we discovered that there was a large family reunion staying in the hotel. They basically took over all of the common areas like the lobby, computer room, Swimming Pool, and breakfast area. If I would have known about this reunion in advance I would have gone accross the street to the Hampton.

The pool area was way to small, much smaller than most indoor pools I've seen.

One more thing, a rude lady was working the breakfast bar keeping it filled. My biggest dissapointment was that there was no sausage gravy for the bisquits. The other Holiday Inn Express had them.

  • Liked — Nice Comfy Beds,
  • Disliked — Rude breakfast attendent, postage stamp sized pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We spent 3 nights in the Holiday Inn Express. This was not my first choice but I'm very thankful we ended up there. The rooms were large and clean, beds were comfortable, staff was helpful, breakfast was more than we expected. The hotel has a pool, workout facilities, and hottub. Each room had a microwave and refrigerator.

We were traveling with our 14 & 15 year old daughters. They enjoyed their stay as much as we did. We will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Well kept
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winchester_VADonnaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Property: Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Address: 805 Oakvale Rd, Princeton, WV 24740-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing