We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is just off I-77, and there are quite a few restaurants around. We were greeted in a warm and friendly manner. As others have stated, the room was quite clean and acceptable. We had flat-screen TVs both times in July we stayed at the hotel, despite what a previous rater said. We appreciated the AAA discount, too. Each comfortable queen-size bed comes with four pillows--two soft and two firm.

Some people might like to know more specifics about the breakfast. It was VERY nice. Here's what we can remember: scrambled eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, a variety of cereals, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, toast, cinnamon rolls, orange juice and other juices, coffee, tea, whole milk, 2% milk, chocolate milk, fat-free milk, yogurt, and bananas. Very attentive staff members do an excellent job of keeping things available.

The only thing preventing us from giving this otherwise excellent hotel the top rating was the fact that on our second visit, one of the two keys did not work at all, even after being re-programmed. Much worse than that was the fact that the other key failed over and over to open the door at the rear of the hotel. We had just had a drive of 435 miles and it was exasperating to have the key fail some 15-20 times before finally causing the little green light to come on and the door to be ready to open. This is something the hotel needs to get on right away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoCarolinians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 202 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

This Holiday Inn Express epitomizes a Holiday Inn Express, and I think that's a great thing. When I checked in I was greeted by a friendly employee who explained the hotel's amenities, my room was clean and as I expected it, the pool area was open and enjoyable, and I got to treat myself to some chocolate chip cookies.

This did seem like a slightly older location, though. The beds were harder than those at newer locations. The TVs were also older. Although neither of these things really detracted from my comfort. Probably the best feature of this property is the pool and hot tub! You don't even need to get out of the pool to enter the hot tub and vice versa. I hadn't seen that before but it's really cool!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Easy off I-77, close to WV-VA state line. Near numerous chain fast food, and casual sit down restaurants, shopping, and gas stations, this Holiday Inn Express is what you would expect if you have stayed at others - clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that the room furnishings were somewhat dated-no flat screen TV's, older cabinet, and in general need of modernization. Nothing terrible, just a bit worn. However, the breakfast room is larger and more comfortable than the usual HIE space-with a somewhat greater selection of foods available. Lots of parking, friendly staff, and better lighting than you usually find in the bathroom all contribute to a positive rating here at the Holiday Inn Express, Princeton WV.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RML-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We too stopped at this hotel on the way home from Florida. As others have mentioned, it is convienient to the interstate, with ample parking and many restaurant choices nearby.

The hotel itself is clean and seems fairly new. The staff seemed OK to us, and not exceedingly friendly as others have pointed out.

Maybe it was because we were tired and on our way home, but it just seemed that the hotel did not have a warm feel to it.

Long story short, another typical "cookie cutter" HIX, which there is nothing wrong with.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were doing the 24 hour drive back from orlando florida, knowing we would stop for the night but not sure of the location. We started calling hotels in the Princeton area, very few available to meet our needs. We finally called Margaret at Holiday inn express.
She knew exactly what we needed, booked rooms and even booked a third room at another hotel for us when she ran out of available rooms.
The hotel was clean, pool and hottub spotless and much needed after 12 hours on the road. Margaret, you made my day! Keep up the great work...you are a credit to that hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandaonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Hotel was easy to find with a ton of resturants within eye-sight.

Lady at the front desk was very professional and welcomed our cat as well.

My wife enjoyed the complimentary cookies.I passed on them, but they looked good.

Room was clean and quiet, especially considering its proximaty to the interstate.

Sounds silly, but the pillows were way too soft for my liking.

Wifi performance and range was very good.

The free breakfast wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchill_Fortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

First the pros: this hotel was very clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Now the cons: the pool was tiny, the noise kept us up all night, the breakfast was mediocre, and the heat was uncomfortable.
Although this Holiday Inn Express was very clean, I would not stay here again due to all the noise. The walls are clearly not well-insulated, since I could hear every move my neighbors above and to the sides made. All night the slamming of doors was annoying. I don't think anyone was doing anything unusual, there was just constant noise.
Also, the heat was either on or off--no thermostat control--so it was either freezing or blazing hot in our room. This was very uncomfortable for sleeping.
Third, the pool was tiny and unbearable warm. It was crowded after five people got in it.
Lastly, the breakfast was limited and only mediocre. There was not enough seating for all the people wanting to eat, and the food kept running out.
Overall, this Holiday Inn is just average.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hsmomcharlottenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $120 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, a business center and sundry shop. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing