We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well worth considering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth considering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is just off I-77, and there are quite a few restaurants around. We were greeted in a warm and friendly manner. As others have stated, the room was quite clean and acceptable. We had flat-screen TVs both times in July we stayed at the hotel, despite what a previous rater said. We appreciated the AAA discount, too. Each comfortable queen-size bed comes with four pillows--two soft and two firm.

Some people might like to know more specifics about the breakfast. It was VERY nice. Here's what we can remember: scrambled eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, a variety of cereals, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, toast, cinnamon rolls, orange juice and other juices, coffee, tea, whole milk, 2% milk, chocolate milk, fat-free milk, yogurt, and bananas. Very attentive staff members do an excellent job of keeping things available.

The only thing preventing us from giving this otherwise excellent hotel the top rating was the fact that on our second visit, one of the two keys did not work at all, even after being re-programmed. Much worse than that was the fact that the other key failed over and over to open the door at the rear of the hotel. We had just had a drive of 435 miles and it was exasperating to have the key fail some 15-20 times before finally causing the little green light to come on and the door to be ready to open. This is something the hotel needs to get on right away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoCarolinians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    24
    4
    7
See reviews for
79
44
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

This Holiday Inn Express epitomizes a Holiday Inn Express, and I think that's a great thing. When I checked in I was greeted by a friendly employee who explained the hotel's amenities, my room was clean and as I expected it, the pool area was open and enjoyable, and I got to treat myself to some chocolate chip cookies.

This did seem like a slightly older location, though. The beds were harder than those at newer locations. The TVs were also older. Although neither of these things really detracted from my comfort. Probably the best feature of this property is the pool and hot tub! You don't even need to get out of the pool to enter the hot tub and vice versa. I hadn't seen that before but it's really cool!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Easy off I-77, close to WV-VA state line. Near numerous chain fast food, and casual sit down restaurants, shopping, and gas stations, this Holiday Inn Express is what you would expect if you have stayed at others - clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that the room furnishings were somewhat dated-no flat screen TV's, older cabinet, and in general need of modernization. Nothing terrible, just a bit worn. However, the breakfast room is larger and more comfortable than the usual HIE space-with a somewhat greater selection of foods available. Lots of parking, friendly staff, and better lighting than you usually find in the bathroom all contribute to a positive rating here at the Holiday Inn Express, Princeton WV.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RML-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
194 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We too stopped at this hotel on the way home from Florida. As others have mentioned, it is convienient to the interstate, with ample parking and many restaurant choices nearby.

The hotel itself is clean and seems fairly new. The staff seemed OK to us, and not exceedingly friendly as others have pointed out.

Maybe it was because we were tired and on our way home, but it just seemed that the hotel did not have a warm feel to it.

Long story short, another typical "cookie cutter" HIX, which there is nothing wrong with.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were doing the 24 hour drive back from orlando florida, knowing we would stop for the night but not sure of the location. We started calling hotels in the Princeton area, very few available to meet our needs. We finally called Margaret at Holiday inn express.
She knew exactly what we needed, booked rooms and even booked a third room at another hotel for us when she ran out of available rooms.
The hotel was clean, pool and hottub spotless and much needed after 12 hours on the road. Margaret, you made my day! Keep up the great work...you are a credit to that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandaonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Hotel was easy to find with a ton of resturants within eye-sight.

Lady at the front desk was very professional and welcomed our cat as well.

My wife enjoyed the complimentary cookies.I passed on them, but they looked good.

Room was clean and quiet, especially considering its proximaty to the interstate.

Sounds silly, but the pillows were way too soft for my liking.

Wifi performance and range was very good.

The free breakfast wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Churchill_Fortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

First the pros: this hotel was very clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Now the cons: the pool was tiny, the noise kept us up all night, the breakfast was mediocre, and the heat was uncomfortable.
Although this Holiday Inn Express was very clean, I would not stay here again due to all the noise. The walls are clearly not well-insulated, since I could hear every move my neighbors above and to the sides made. All night the slamming of doors was annoying. I don't think anyone was doing anything unusual, there was just constant noise.
Also, the heat was either on or off--no thermostat control--so it was either freezing or blazing hot in our room. This was very uncomfortable for sleeping.
Third, the pool was tiny and unbearable warm. It was crowded after five people got in it.
Lastly, the breakfast was limited and only mediocre. There was not enough seating for all the people wanting to eat, and the food kept running out.
Overall, this Holiday Inn is just average.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hsmomcharlottenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Property: Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Address: 805 Oakvale Rd, Princeton, WV 24740-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing