We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Princeton
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very nice place with a clean and comfortable room. The staff was very friendly. Fresh coffee around the clock. Good breakfast and plenty of it. Can't say enough for this place. Will definitely stop again on our travels.We have decided that Hampton Inns are well worth the little extra you pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardens100883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    140
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
159
137
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great location, just off interstate. Lots of food choices within walking distance. Room was clean and staff was very friendly as always at Hampton Inn. Cracker Barrel and steak place just steps from front door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm so happy to be able to write a positive review! This Hampton was clean! The staff was friendly. The lobby was guest friendly. There were ample places to sit and use your laptop, read the paper, etc. 24/7 coffee and tea were available. The tea was good....Bigelow....several varieties. They also had popcorn and even baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. There were several restaurants close by. If you need to stay in WV, this is not your typical motel; it is far better. The room we had was small, but the lobby is pleasant if you want a change of scene. We arrived in the afternoon so we were there longer than we usually are in a motel. We didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stopped here around 10pm for an overnight stay on our way South. It is right off the freeway and surrounded by other hotels and restaurants. The room itself was a bit small compared to other Hampton’s and the double beds were standard size, not Queens. The hotel was busy, but fairly quiet during the evening. The breakfast really turned a decent stay into a less than great experience. The breakfast room was setup more as a sitting area than for eating. There were not enough tables for the number of people. Many people eating on couches and big chairs. The room was dirty and the breakfast offerings were not stocked. We overheard one of the attendants tell another guest that the eggs would not be replenished because there was only 10 minutes left until breakfast was over! Several items remained out of stock for the duration of our meal. This was very disappointing and uncharacteristic of other Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Traveling late and needed to stop, only hotel in town. Lay out was usual Hampton Inn and what you would expect from the Hamptons. Check staff friendly steak house next door. Internet not easy to get on from room, but good in lobby.
Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Plenty of food for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Arrived in the evening for a one night stay. When you walk into this hotel the front desk is not right there. You go up the hallway and turn to the left where you will find it. There is also a nice big area with tables and chairs for breakfast. There were a few people playing cards at these tables.
Requested a king room facing Meadowfield lane which they gave us a nice king room facing that Lane. Room was nice. Beds were comfortable. Pillows were horrible. Bring your own if you can. Thats the only problem we had encountered.

Did not eat their free breakfast, but it did look tasty when I walked by it. We decided to go to Crackerbarrel which is right across the street.

Room Tip: someone posted to get a room away from the interstate, which we did. Did not hear any noise. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
274 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel exactly one year prior to the weekend. We went this time as a get away to celebrate my birthday. I called to see if I could get a cheaper rate by talking to the hotel verses the on-line rate, sometimes that does help but not this time. When we arrived maintenance was working on the grounds appearance. We walked in to the fresh smell of popcorn.

We were greated promptly and assigned our room. We had a 2nd floor king room at the end of the hall - nice and quite. I was surprised to see the condition of the bathtub which you will see in the photos. And the venetian fabric blind needed replacement or repair - the cord which you pull to open and close the blind was extremely loud, loud enough to be heard overtop of a hairdryer in the bathroom! I don't recall ever staying at a Hampton Inn and there be chipped places in the tu or a noisey blind. Everything else was the standard Hampton Inn quality.

My husband and I sat out for our evening. Upon our return we thought, ok let's go to the jacuzzi to rest and relax. What a surprise - the jacuzzi was gone! We immediately went to the front desk to inquire and was told it had been removed a couple of months ago due to maintenance issues. I didn't bother to check the hotel website before we went since we had stayed there before - so note to those who have stayed before and enjoyed the jacuzzi - it's gone! And they have removed that information from their website.

Then I noticed the popcorn machine. It was a self serve machine. I watched an individual open the doors, take the bag for the popcorn and begin to scoop the popcorn into the bag, and while not all kernels fell into the bag some dropped back down while hitting the indiviudal's hand/arm. So without sanitary gloves to wear I felt - no way would I get popcorn. Personally it would have been better in my opinion that it be served by the hotel staff who could wear gloves - would be much more sanitary.

Then there was the popcorn all over the floor between the front desk to the elevator - some of it was still there the next morning. I just didn't feel that housekeeping was staying up with the appearance of the main areas as good as they did a year prior. Granted this was a Friday night but still I felt they just were not on top of things as well.

Then we get to the breakfast time. The food we ate was good, but I noticed many of the table tops needed to be wiped down and that wasn't being done, the breakfast staff were not interacting with the guest at all.

Overall if I travel back through that area and need a place to stay I'm sure I would stay there again, I just wouldn't expect it to be the quality it was the first time I stayed there - the beds are still comfortable, the rooms very clearn - just a little disappointing in the extras on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Property: Hampton Inn Princeton
Address: 277 Meadowfield Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Princeton is the perfect place to stay while visiting the mountains of West Virginia. Close to skiing, hiking, biking and more, this hotel is in perfect proximity to the state parks and outdoor excitement any enthusiast would love. In addition to these activities, find shopping, dining and more located in downtown Princeton. For the duration of your stay, enjoy complimentary internet access, business center, fitness center, indoor pool and a free, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing