We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our way traveling to Florida. We always try to stay at a Country Inn because the decor is so much like home. Our room was wonderful and extra clean, with a nice view overlooking nature. The front desk staff was great. Easy check-in and check-out. If you want what you pay for, this hotel is the place to go. Money well spent!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bbdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Country Inn in Princeton WV. I noticed you were from Florida me too. Please come back to stay with us again. I hope you had a chance to try out our indoor pool and hot tub as well as the free hot breakfast. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    116
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
281
121
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wedowee, Alabama
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Princeton, WV on our way to visit family in Virginia on a Friday night in early February. We stayed on points and check-in was a breeze. I did not get the registration clerk's name, but he was very pleasant. He welcomed us as Carlton Club members, gave recommendations for restaurants nearby and explained the hotels amenities including the complimentary breakfast. The hotel seemed busy with week-end skiers and lots of kids in family and other groups, but we did not hear noise through walls and from the hallway. Breakfast was good and had variety. Considering the number of guests in the hotel the breakfast room was not crowded and was well maintained. The hotel's location is just off the freeway exit but not close enough to hear any road noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linmikga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for being a Carlson Club member and your kind words regarding your stay with us at the Country Inn in Princeton. We hope you will come back to see us again soon. Make sure to try out the hot tub on your next stay. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a great hotel. Super clean and fresh. I've stayed in so many hotels, I don't care to count anymore, both mid and high-end for work and budget for family travel. with budget, you never know what you will get and we all know that "freshly remodeled" means so much more than whatever chain name is hung out there - some of the franchisees are crooks of course. Not so , this hotel. Everything was great , from the staff - super nice and helpful - to the breakfast - great variety (hey, it's a free hotel breakfast but they had everything), clean rooms, halls, and pool area. Just nice. great value for the money. 2 Q bed suite with pullout had plenty of room for a family of 6 (4 kids). 15 minutes from Winterplace - driving always a drag, but no hotels in Ghent. Plenty of restaurants within half mile, even Walmart and , yes, a Starbucks.

Room Tip: Our room was 214, second floor right next to elevator. Very Quiet and easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you had plenty of room in our spacious queen suites. They are great for kids. It sounds like you got to experience the indoor pool as well but you didn't mention the cookies. There the best. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed over the recent holiday weekend for skiing in WV. Hotel was in a convenient location, breakfast had a very nice selection and the staff were very helpful. We wiill definately stay again when in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tallyColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the location and our wonderful breakfast, I hope you had the chance to enjoy the free 24 hour cookies as well. Come back and see us again soon.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice, rooms were spacious, very clean, beds were comfortable, hotel was very quiet. Andrew at the front desk went out of his way to give us directions. Fresh cookies were delightful, breakfast was tasty. Overall, a great stay, highly recommened and I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyVonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and Andrew. We are very lucky to have him on our staff. Sounds like you were able to enjoy the cookies which might be everyones favorite about our hotel. Please come back and see us soon. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Andrew. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We only stayed one night but really, really, really would have loved to have stayed longer. The room we had was beautiful and large. The air conditioning was ducted so super quiet compared to so many other hotels where the compressor is behind the vent. Everything was just perfect and I'd highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel. We too wish you could have stayed longer. Please come back and visit us again soon and next time maybe you will be able to stay longer. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A great property, clean, well lit, convenient location to interstate. Great rooms, I had a double suite. Nice roomy layout in both living area and bedroom. Everything clean and up to date. Beds were super comfortable. The bathroom could use a little more room in it, kind of awkward but nothing major. Did I mention clean? Smelled and was clean and I am a clean freak. Nice lobby and dining room. The free breakfast was good, fantastic biscuits and gravy and a decent selection. The drawback was the staff. From the front desk to the breakfast attendant, they were the rudest, most unfriendly, unhelpful bunch I have ever encountered. Unreal they were so rude. The breakfast attendant even shoved me while I was getting breakfast I guess because she was trying to clean. Even if it was accidental, a simple "excuse me" would have been nice. Nothing. They all had sour looks on their face and if I had needed something, I would have been too afraid to ask them for it. It is a shame cause it is a nice property and I slept very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello,

I wanted to take the time to let you know we read your comments and I am very concerned. First let me thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We too think we have a very nice hotel. Regarding the staff. I apologize if you were not given the type of customer service you deserve. I am very proud of my staff and think that they normally do a wonderful job. I assure you I will discuss this with them in our next staff meeting. We hope you will return soon and give our staff another opportunity to provide you with the quality service you deserve.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Address: 111 Halls Ridge Rd, Princeton, WV 24739-6829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Country Inn And Suites Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing