We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could have been perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would have rated this hotel a 5 but there were a few minor problems. The outside of the hotel and the reception were very clean and modern-looking. Reception was wonderful. Room keys were waiting for us and check-in took less than 5 minutes. Chocolate chip cookies and coffee were available in the lobby as advertised. The bedroom was clean and appeared updated. The hallways had new carpeting. My first impression was "this room is wonderful". The receptionist had personaly made sure that no-feather pillows were provided as requested. Unfortunately, the bathroom was not up to par. There were 2 cracked floor tiles, the bathtub area had some stains on the grout and underneath the soap dish on the bathtub was grime and stains. The back of the bathroom door had a few nicks. Now, most of these problems could have been solved with a good cleaning, a bit of touch up paint and the cracked tiles replaced.

I went to set the alarm clock and noticed someone had broken the setting knob. I took the clock back to the reception desk and the employee there said "oh, those clocks never work". I even showed her the broken piece. No replacement clock was offered, only a wake-up call.

Thanks to the hotel for providing shampoo and other amenities made in the USA! I refuse to use anything on my body made in China because you never know what goes into them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wino_fredBeamsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. I apologize that you found some minor issues with your bathroom scratches on the door and a stain. I will be sure that we address this issue immediately. Again we thank you letting us know how we can improve and I am so glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel and the cookies. They are very good. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    105
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
255
107
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First impression:clean and well kept. Front staff helpful and friendly for us arriving in late evening.Breakfast has a very nice selection to choose from. May of left item in room 9/27 did call back. Would appreciate more follow up on this from manager

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We would be very happy to help you find the items you may have left behind. Could you please contact me so I can get more information. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just overnight here with friends, during a driving tour. Nice example of the Country Inn chain, which we have used extensively. We had no booking, but the price was very reasonable. Enjoyed the breakfast and the staff were fine. Don't bother eating at the nearby Shoney's though!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for using our brand. I do hope you are a Club Carlson member so you can earn your points for free night stays. We do strive to be one of the top hotels in the Carlson Chain. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It's a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was neat and clean. We really liked the heated indoor pool, we just wish it was bigger as it got a little crowded in the evening. The location is good, there are plenty of restaurants close by. Our only complaint would be that the walls are a little thin. We could easily hear our next door neighbors talking and plenty of door slamming out in the hallway. Luckily we always travel with a white noise generator to drown out excess noise. Breakfast was good in the morning, the sausage gravy was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDUB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the pool and I wish it was bigger also. Come back soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our GPS had us going the wrong way after we got off the interstate but finally got there, service was great and hotel very clean, we had a great breakfast choice of food waffles, omlets, hot and cold cereals, fruit etc

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LHMFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I have heard the GPS is having problems finding our hotel. I have contacted google maps to try and rectify the problem. I hope you will come back and visit again soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was one of the nicest and cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in.It is nestled in the shenendoa mountains with beautiful views everyware you look.The service is great.The rooms are nice and clean and roomy.They have a free breakfast buffet every day.There is also coffee and fresh cookies in the lobby all day.Nice people and nice place to stay.Cant wait to try another in our travels.

Room Tip: WE got a suite for just a little more than a regular room because there was four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the mountain view. It is very beautiful this time of year. Please come back and visit us again. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We made an error in booking and actually arrived a day ahead of time, but that proved to be easily corrected. Front desk was split service: one, very nice and accommodating, the other not so much - bit dour and not smiling, but, take the good with the bad, they say. Had a room away from traffic and noise, great, large room and clean, comfortable. Other than a few "sandpaper towels." no negatives. Good location, easy to get to and relatively easy to get to restaurants.

Breakfast was about what you'd expect, the whole bit; these locations (CI&S) are upgrading to the Hampton Inn class and it is creating a better brand.

No problems encountered and would stay there again, if we ever travel this way again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms, in rear, away from traffic are super quiet and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

I am so glad we were able to make your stay with us a great experience. I will be sure to get with google maps to see if there is something we can do about the GPS problem. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Address: 111 Halls Ridge Rd, Princeton, WV 24739-6829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing