We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It's a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was neat and clean. We really liked the heated indoor pool, we just wish it was bigger as it got a little crowded in the evening. The location is good, there are plenty of restaurants close by. Our only complaint would be that the walls are a little thin. We could easily hear our next door neighbors talking and plenty of door slamming out in the hallway. Luckily we always travel with a white noise generator to drown out excess noise. Breakfast was good in the morning, the sausage gravy was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDUB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the pool and I wish it was bigger also. Come back soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    105
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
254
107
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our GPS had us going the wrong way after we got off the interstate but finally got there, service was great and hotel very clean, we had a great breakfast choice of food waffles, omlets, hot and cold cereals, fruit etc

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LHMFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I have heard the GPS is having problems finding our hotel. I have contacted google maps to try and rectify the problem. I hope you will come back and visit again soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was one of the nicest and cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in.It is nestled in the shenendoa mountains with beautiful views everyware you look.The service is great.The rooms are nice and clean and roomy.They have a free breakfast buffet every day.There is also coffee and fresh cookies in the lobby all day.Nice people and nice place to stay.Cant wait to try another in our travels.

Room Tip: WE got a suite for just a little more than a regular room because there was four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the mountain view. It is very beautiful this time of year. Please come back and visit us again. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We made an error in booking and actually arrived a day ahead of time, but that proved to be easily corrected. Front desk was split service: one, very nice and accommodating, the other not so much - bit dour and not smiling, but, take the good with the bad, they say. Had a room away from traffic and noise, great, large room and clean, comfortable. Other than a few "sandpaper towels." no negatives. Good location, easy to get to and relatively easy to get to restaurants.

Breakfast was about what you'd expect, the whole bit; these locations (CI&S) are upgrading to the Hampton Inn class and it is creating a better brand.

No problems encountered and would stay there again, if we ever travel this way again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms, in rear, away from traffic are super quiet and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

I am so glad we were able to make your stay with us a great experience. I will be sure to get with google maps to see if there is something we can do about the GPS problem. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
854 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having driven 12 hours towing a U-haul, we needed a decent night's sleep. After reading customer reviews we decided to take a chance on Country Inn. Brilliant decision !

This hotel is under-rated at 2.5 stars. We definitely give it three - worth every dime of the $115 rate. The location is excellent, less than half a mile off I-77

The hotel looks brand new. Gorgeous lobby with a lovely fireplace and a wooden staircase leading to the second floor. Dining room off to the left is furnished with pretty colonial décor.
Very friendly check-in at 12:30 a.m. and we were immediately directed to help ourselves to freshly baked cookies (3 kinds) which had come out of the oven two hours prior, as well as hot coffee, tea or cocoa. What a lovely welcome !

The indoor (heated) pool area (open till 11 p.m.) is sparkling clean and also has a nice size hot tub. The fitness room has precisely four pieces of new equipment and, when we went down to check it out, one of the staff was actually cleaning the equipment !

The room was perfect. Free internet was slow connecting, but then chugged along nicely. How thoughtful of the décor designer to provide a second chair at the desk so two people can use Wi-Fi simultaneously.

The bed was divine. Plenty of comfy pillows and more in the closet to suit your preferences. We had a room on the 3rd floor at the back, so it was very quiet. Room darkening blinds facilitate sweet dreams long past sunrise.

Furnishings are beautiful - kind of a contemporary country. And the mirrors ! Someone finally used his head here planning for mirrors. Great big mirror behind the bathroom sink is typical, but this hotel also a full length mirror on the bathroom door, so you can also view the back of your hair or your outfit. And there's another mirror over the mini-kitchen area.

The room also has a microwave and mini-refridge so you can keep your Half & Half from going bad and enjoy a good cup of coffee.

The bathroom has a large granite counter area and, get this ... a QUIET fan. You don't even know it's running, but it keeps the room from getting all steamed up when you shower. So pleasant when you're not in the mood for the roar of a bath fan upon awakening.

Free breakfast was a total surprise. We often don't bother to check out a hotel's free breakfast offering because they're typically stocked with inedible junk but, based on our very pleasant room experience, we decided to chance it.

The dining area was again sparkling clean. No dirty leftovers on the tables from previous diners, and the buffet area was spotless. The staff was delightful and helpful when we asked for directions to a local retailer.

Menu was biscuits and gravy, plain omelet and sausage (if you eat pork), REAL cooked oatmeal - not the instant stuff in the packet, real yogurt instead of yoplait cartons, and real, fresh chopped fruit salad instead of canned fruit cocktail. You can make your own waffle, and they serve real butter here instead of paint. There's also a small selection of pastries to appease a sweet tooth. The only minor complaint was too much salt in the plain omelet but hey, this is a FREE breakfast with edible food ! What a nice surprise.

This is a totally non-smoking hotel (no pets either), which we really appreciated. There was a bit of a smoke odor in the lobby upon checking in because two people were sitting on a bench outside smoking cigarettes. They might want to move that bench another twenty feet away from the doorway to prevent a negative first impression.

We will definitely stay here again when driving the north/south corridor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

I wanted to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and your stay. We strive to make every guest stay a perfect one and are so glad to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was in town on business due to the Bluefield Coal Show and I had the pleasure of staying here for an entire work week. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and cordial. I was impressed how they already had my key and room information ready to go once I presented my credit card and identification. The outside of the hotel was well-maintained as was the lobby and all common areas. The elevators were in working order, as was the gym equipment and pool.

My room was neat and updated, I did however wish they would have used carpet freshener when vacuuming as I did notice a slight odor, not that it was bad, just that sort of stale odor. That wasn't a problem because I always carry air freshener and disinfectant wipes with me to hotels anyway.

The bed was comfortable with nice new linens, as were the towels in the restroom. I noticed additional sheets and pillows in the closet, which I thought was a nice touch as I didn't have to ask for them if I wanted or needed them. I loved the free Internet, the free breakfast and the fact that they had cookies available to you all of their guests. The maid service was exceptional as they did an excellent job cleaning my room daily.

Overall, it was a very nice stay and I appreciate the staff for their service. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with during the Coal Show. I hope this will not be the last time you are passing through and we hope to see you again at the next coal show. Thanks and have a great day.

Gerard/CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great service! We asked for one of the beds to have no feathers because of allergy and by the time we got checked in we had a feather-free bed. Most motels just hand me some pillows and it feels so impersonal. They went above and beyond to take care of our needs. We had a nice comfortable four day stay. I recommend!

Room Tip: We had the large room which was so nice. Lots of room for two people to move around and not feel pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I completely understand about the feather pillows and I am happy we could meet your need and request. Thank you and have a great day.

GerardCaron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Address: 111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing