We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Nights Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Nights Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The property is very new and is in great shape. Our room was clean and neat. The beds are soft and there was plenty of pillows. Flat Screen T.V. in the room. The breakfast was the normal Bacon or Sausage, Eggs, Waffle and oatmeal. The Hot tub was warm and worked well the exercize room had the standard treadmill and Illicptical machines. Our room was on the east side so I did not hear the interstate, which is close by, our friends stayed on the west side and did hear the traffic. I unlike other reviewers did not hear anyone in rooms around us. They do have a 24 hour cancellation policy so beware of this... Plenty of food like Applebees and Outback near by. Other wise a good place to stop overnight while traveling up I 77.

Room Tip: Stay on the East Side 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sq4willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    107
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
259
110
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Indoor pool room smelled so strong of chlorine we had to leave. Had a noisy group next to us with very thin walls, but management would not allow switch to another room (does it really cost that much for cleaning staff to clean an extra room to satisfy a customer?). We stayed mid week with half empty parking lot (there were plenty of rooms available). Average bfast, we opted out for a local restaurant instead. There were a several other places in town that looked better for next time. Will try them next time.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no one in room next to the one you are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Had a dispute on hotel bill and for two days tried to talk to manager and he informed us through the desk clerk that he had no time to talk to us and to just deal with it. They charged my account three times for a smoking fee and the room was never smoked in but he (the manager) would not take the time to come to the room to see for himself and then would not even give us the courtesy of speaking to us. We spent our Thanksgiving morning in the lobby waiting for the manager whom was suppose to be there at 8:00am. After we waited till about 11:00am we realized he was calling the desk to see if we were still there and therefore as long as we were there he was not going to show up. To top all this off they charged, then credited then charged again and then even two days after we had checked out they charged again. I had to take a trip to the bank to file a compliant after once again trying to contact the manager of this hotel. The bank even tried to no avail. I will never stay at this hotel again and recommend to anyone that does to not give them your credit or bank card because they will charge,credit and charge over and over and then not even give you the courtesy of talking to you about it.
I have stayed in many hotels before and never have I ever been treated so badly as at this one. They came in our room dispite the do not disturb sign! The manager should be fired for not doing his job and for being a whimp of a man. I deal with women that have more guts than this so called man. I do appoligize to the desk clerks who tried thier best to help us as much as they were allowed and for having to be in the middle because this so called man did not have the guts to face us.

C Agee

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
In regards to this complaint. The manager was not in town over the holiday to discuss the matter with the guest first of all but did receive a phone call from the staff in regards to the issue. Since manager was not in town he instructed the staff how to handle the situation. Secondly evidence was found ( cigarette butt) in the room and a letter was placed in the guest room by housekeeping supervisor letting the guest know we are a non smoking hotel. There is also a sign in all of rooms explain this along with a place on the reg card that is circled stating a $250.00 fee will be charged and the guest initials and signs the reg card that they understand this. I apologize that this guest feels they were not treated fairly but this is a non smoking hotel. We strive to make all of our guest stay a great one but understand that some guest won't always agree with our policies. We do hope you will come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Very Nice, Clean and beds were amazingly comfortable. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csnider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is the best dog friendly hotel you will find. The staff was very kind, the room smelled fresh, the furniture was new and stylish. The bed linens were more comfortable than mine at home - all feather and down! The only negatives were the VERY large spider I found in the room (which could happen anywhere) and the noisy busload of college students above us (just being themselves - staying up late watching TV). The free continental breakfast and cookies at the front desk were extra bonuses! The coffee was delicious too! We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

There are several hotels within a mile or too, but this is our first time at this hotel. We had a suite. Overall, the stay was nice. The staff was very nice. The regular beds were comfortable but not the sleeper sofa. I would not plan to use the sleep sofa in a future trip. I like that the room had a digital thermometer so you could set the actual temp of the room. A few times you could hear the people on the floor above you but it wasn't a big issue. We stayed 2 nights. The rooms were clean but I will mention that on the second day, two of our hand towels had a pink stain. Not a big issue and I am sure that the hotel would have traded them out if we had asked. We were under the impression that it was a 2 queen suite but it was a queen and a full. Again, we did not raise the issue as it was not a problem for us. We did not do the free breakfast as we were meeting family but I noticed it was crowded when we walked by so it must have been good. Pool was small but nice. Overall a nice atmosphere and would consider staying again when shopping for rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Work2Play_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here with my family (3 adults 1 child) Oct 14th and 15th. The hotel experience over all was very pleasing. The front desk staff very helpful and check in flawless. We had breakfast out so can't comment on the breakfast but dining room looked very pleasing. My one disappointment was the sofa bed. It looked like a mattress pad over 2 or 3 inch springs. The front desk offered a roll-a-way but for one night I declined. Would recommend if you don't need to use the sofa bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Address: 111 Halls Ridge Rd, Princeton, WV 24739-6829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing