We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay except sofa bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach
1 review
“Great stay except sofa bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here with my family (3 adults 1 child) Oct 14th and 15th. The hotel experience over all was very pleasing. The front desk staff very helpful and check in flawless. We had breakfast out so can't comment on the breakfast but dining room looked very pleasing. My one disappointment was the sofa bed. It looked like a mattress pad over 2 or 3 inch springs. The front desk offered a roll-a-way but for one night I declined. Would recommend if you don't need to use the sofa bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    116
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
281
121
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed for one night as we we on our way north and chose this hotel over others due to previous reviews. I am glad with my choice, this is clean and convenient at a decent price.
Nice ambiance in the lobby and rooms, free breakfast as well. Close to the interstate and lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was our second stay. The front desk remembered us and our review. Upon check-in, all carts were being used so the front desk sent someone upstairs to retrieve carts that people just leave in the hallway. The room was on a quiet back end corner and was clean and comfortable. We booked a handicap room with a wheelchair schower. I don't know how they would correct the water spill out onto the floor and need to add towel racks close to the shower. The breakfast staff was very attentive and friendly. Outback Steakhouse was still a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

nice place. clean big rooms nice breakfast.only issue was kids running in room above us all weekend hotel did nothing when we complained

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolbud8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Hello,

Thank you posting your comments regarding your recent and enjoyable stay with us. e do apologize that you experienced some noise from kids above you. Please be assured that my staff does everything they can to make sure all of our guest enjoy their stays. We do monitor the halls and make calls if noise is excessive. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a decent hotel - clean, comfortable, free breakfast, really warm swimming pool, great value...would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel as well. It was our honor.

Sincerely,

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were staying at another hotel at the same exit, were disappointed, and decided to visit this one. People staying there loved it, so we stayed there on our next trip. It was wonderful! The room, service, amenities were all exceptional. We had no complaints whatsoever. For people making a stop at the Princeton, West Virginia area, this is the place you want to stay.

Room Tip: We ask for rooms away from elevators, exits and vending, top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabednar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I booked an overnight stay here for my family after reading favorable reviews.
When we opened the door we were greeted with a sour odor that lingered throughout our stay.(Even fabric spray did not help eradicate it.) There were oily marks and greasy prints on the headboard which I cleaned with a convenient paper towel I found in the bathroom. There were carpet stains in the sleeping area and it just didn't have a freshly cleaned feeling or appearance. The bathroom was better, however, and we liked the bar area which was complete with micro and fridge. The decor was attractive. We went swimming and enjoyed the pool (rather small but adequate) and hot tub, lots of towels. The breakfast had waffles and sausage gravy, but was lacking in the pastry area, with only muffins and plastic wrapped rolls. We had requested a room close to the pool, but we were put on the third floor at the opposite end of the building, but no biggie because it was quiet there.
We probably will not stay at a Country Inn & Suites in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Address: 111 Halls Ridge Rd, Princeton, WV 24739-6829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Country Inn And Suites Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing