We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE THE LOWE HOTEL”
Review of The Lowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE THE LOWE HOTEL”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We live only an hour away from Pt. Pleasant and have always known of the "hauntings" at The Lowe Hotel so decided to go and see for ourselves and so glad we did! It holds such charm and can make you believe you have been set back fifty years! It's a great location....you are able to walk to a few different cafes and restaurants and if you are interested in the local legend of the Mothman you are in luck! The hotel was neat and clean with no problems! I seen the mention of no hot water but we had no problems? And we even had a room with a hot tub!! The staff were very gracious and had a marvelous laid back attitude. We can't wait to go back and have a haunting experience because this trip was sheer fun and relaxation!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caseynicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    6
    5
    13
See reviews for
34
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were travelling with a group of four couples. The rooms are fairly typical of a historic hotel - varied widely in layout and furnishings. Our room was okay (comfortable bed, small shower, no tub, some peeling wallpaper and paint) however there was mold in our mini fridge. Two couples had no hot water (again, not uncommon in a facility of this age and size) and one found dirty towels in their tub. Most surprising was the owner's reaction to complaints - suggesting we should have checked the rooms the night before and stayed elsewhere. Stranger yet, we had gone to dinner late in the evening and then stopped at a club. Two couples went back to the hotel but came back to retrieve us because the owner's were "waiting up to lock the door" (fire code violation??) and wanted to know where we were because "we were late!" It's a great location with great potential but for the price ($77.00) it just didn't make the grade.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juppole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The purpose of our trip was a weekend July 4 getaway. We thought it would be exciting to stay at a haunted hotel although we did not experience anything. The Lobby and Hotel is grand and interesting. They do have a small bar that closes early and serves cold beer. The downside to the hotel is that They have an 11pm curfew and they LOCK YOU IN as you may have read on other websites. Also, as listed, there is noone there all night or morning to service you if you need anything. Smoke detector going off, anything. We reserved four rooms and told the place was full even though we only saw two other people there the whold time and the hotel is HUGE. Part of it is shut down-wierd. They also put a no vacancy sign on the door I thought was odd.Nothing is updated which is fine but when a comfortor or pillow is worn out its tie to throw it out. The walls are THIN as the sheets

Rooms were expenive at 77 dollars a night. WHen one of our members were put in a dirty room with a wall pushed next to a bed because it was so small they complained.Also, they had NO RUNNING WATER! They got a 10% refund. Group #2 had two dirty towels left in their bathroom, and group number 3 had MOLD in the fridge. Yuck. Cobwebs etc were all about this hotel. Group 4 had no complaints.When wecalled the front desk there was no answer. When we went down to tell them we had no hot water no water pressure and dirty towels and mold. We were verbally assaulted and told one person in our group already complained and got a refund so they could not do anything.

The hotel clerk said WE SHOULD HAVE LEFT LAST NIGHT, WE SHOULD HAVE CHECKED THE SHOWER LAST NIGHT, and WE SHOULD NOT COME BACK IF WE WERE UNHAPPY. Wow. You would have better luck staying across the river in Ohio. If you are interested in going to explore MOTHMAN. Talk to the owner at THE POINT Near the Lowe. He is Very informative and kind with great coffee and cappicino!The Lowe however I would Avoid at all costs, if anything just do a walk thru.Also, They have no wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crazyfortravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel is wonderful! The ambiance is amazing. It's over a hundred years old, filled with antiques, and the staff is so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite. It was beautiful. Plus it was an amazing value for the money! The rooms was very clean, the bed comfortable. There were very old books in the drawers of the desk and dresser inside the room which were interesting to look through. The hallways were decorated and there were sitting areas decorated with antique furniture. The owner was nice enough to tell us about the very old switchboard in the lobby. It was used at the TNT plant before the hotel acquired it and it was in use at the hotel until 1990! We are definately going back and recommending it to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anglyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Kentucky
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Staying the night at the Lowe is like stepping back into time. This is a very hard review to write because I don't know where to start. This hotel is just amazing! It is over 100 years old, but in very good condition. It is almost like spending the night in a museum. When you walk into the lobby you first notice the green Italian tile fireplace, the marble stairs, and the antique check in desk. The lobby is filled with antiques. Once you check in, you will notice your room key is the old skeleton key from 100 years ago. The hallways have antique pictures hanging in them, along with old books and magazines on antique tables. The second floor mezzanine and reading rooms are amazing! Once you enter your room you will find more antique furnishings, working steam heaters, and beautiful artwork. The rooms do have modern conveniences of running water and televisions. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are very clean, and the atmosphere is just so relaxing. Many rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges. There is also wireless in the building, but the reception can sometimes be spotty. Most rooms get good wireless, but the place is so big some of the rooms farther away from the lobby have very weak signal. You can always set in the mezzanine and lobby and get a signal if you can't in your room, though. I advise you to forget about using a computer and live life like they did 100 years ago. Kick back, relax, and enjoy the tranquility here. This was our fourth stay here, and each time has been great. Each room is uniquely different, but all wonderful. The hotel houses an art gallery, a small bar, and the Mothman Museum. The owners are very nice and you feel more like you are staying with old friends than in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NomadicNonbelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

All i have to say is my friend and i stayed at the lowes while in point pleasent for a concert at the old theater down the street and both places are haunted. Us and two bands stayed in the hotel that night and saw and heard things that didnt make sence including being locked in the hotel with no way out, not being able to find ANYONE who worked there for at least three hours while we knocked on doors and and rang bells. Rooms that had hallways inbetween the walls and a man who was locked outside with one of the bands and said he was staying with his grandmother in one of the rooms after the staff told us we were the only three groups there. He turned down the hallway that the lady said one of the most haunted rooms was on and when we went to go look and see if anyone was staying in any of the rooms in that hall there was no one there and no way of the man leaving without us seeing him.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank av8or14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, N.Y.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The Lowe Hotel has been in operation since 1901. Today its run by Rush & Ruth Finley and their family. Conveniently located in the heart of Point Pleasant, West Virginia's Historic Main Street district. The Hotel is a throw back to a time when the Grand Hotels ruled the country. When you walk into the lobby of this majestic inn you feel like you have stepped back into the grandeur of a time gone by. This place had many famous people stay here, Movie stars like Will Patton (Mothman Prophecies),Clark Gable (Gone with the Wind), and many more. Its location to many of the Historic places in town puts you within walking distance of them all. Right next store to the Inn is the world famous Mothman Museum (Museum & Research Center), the Point (Native American Art & T-Shirts & more), The Harris Steakhoues, & the world famous Mothman Statue of Point Pleasant, West Virginia. You can also take a ride to Gallipolis, Ohio for food and shopping. The rooms in this Hotel are nice. We had a suite that overlokked the Ohio River & Kanawha River. The beds were two queen size and very comfrotable, the bathroom was small what do you need when traveling. . After dinner we would walk to the park behind the Inn and watched the River Boats go by. As far as the place being haunted, we heard alot of stories regarding this matter. The people in town said it was. Nothing happened to us. Who knows maybe the ghost were on vacation that week ? We enjoyed are stay at The Lowe Hotel, as well as are stay in Point Pleasant, West Virginia. Ruth & Rush Finley greeted us every morning and night in that grand lobby. If you get a chance let Rush or Ruth tell you the history of the Inn. Their daughters will also be willing to tell you a few hair raising stories about the Inn and Town. Worth the price to say you stayed at the Lowe Hotel. The rates are good and you will like the rooms and the town..

Helpful?
8 Thank jailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gallipolis
Quality Inn Gallipolis
#3 of 7 in Gallipolis
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
#1 of 7 in Gallipolis
316 reviews
5.4 mi away
Knights Inn Gallipolis
Knights Inn Gallipolis
#4 of 7 in Gallipolis
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ripley
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area
22.3 mi away
Super 8 Ripley
Super 8 Ripley
#1 of 3 in Ripley
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowe Hotel

Property: The Lowe Hotel
Address: Fourth and Main Streets, Point Pleasant, WV 25550
Location: United States > West Virginia > Point Pleasant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Pleasant
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Lowe Hotel Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing