We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature lovers will love this park! Full of stunning views and wildlife!”

Pipestem State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pipestem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 4,000-acre park that offers accommodations and campgrounds.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nature lovers will love this park! Full of stunning views and wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visiting this park is a must if you are in the area! There is so much to do and experience, including riding horses, taking a glass-enclosed tram down the moutain, climbing the observation tower, exploring the nature center, hiking, 18 hole golf course, minigolf, fishing, even a playground for the younger kids. There is even lodging located in the park, with a hotel and cabins, and also a camping area. Throughout the park there are many overlooks with gorgeous views. We also saw several animals, including many deer grazing by the roadside. The park is very well kept, and the various buildings and lodge are well maintained but still fit the rustic setting. The horseback riding is very affordable, and you can go for a half hour, hour or two hour ride around the mountains. It was a great experience. We had young kids with us, as well as teenagers, and everyone enjoyed the experience. We have family in the area, and every time we go to visit, we make sure we visit the park! Our favorite activity is the glass-enclosed tram down the mountain. The kids love it and have fun looking for the "still" that is in a cave half way down. We then go down to the river and the kids have fun throwing rocks in. Fun for everyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeJenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    43
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven West Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I live about an 45 minutes from this beautiful state park which offers fun for all ages. The scenery is always breathtaking with beautiful views of gorges, the lake, river, and surrounding mountains. The park is immaculately kept and rustic. The McKeever lodge has a restaurant with a good buffet and beautiful views of the gorge. If you go near dusk, there are always deer in the park, lots of them to photograph and enjoy. The views during the second week of October of the Fall foliage are always worth the trip. I have taken their one hour horseback ride through the park which was fun. The trip on their tram to the bottom of the mountain is a treat. You can hike to the lake and rent canoes or paddle boats. The indoor pool is like swimming in a warm bathtub and the outside pool is fed by mountain springs and very cold. The 18-hole golf course is very challenging, beautiful, and shared with the deer most times. The par 3 golf course is also excellent. We have stayed in the cabins which are rustic and comfortable. The fireplaces are nice in them with firewood provided, a deck and grills for cooking out. You need to bring all food items with you since the closest grocery stores are in Princeton, WV and Hinton, WV. We have our family reunions there every year in one of their shelters which you can rent. Then, after our family golf tournament, meal, and visiting with each other, all have a wonderful array of things to do. Some play tennis, miniature golf, some swim, hike to the lake, ride the tram, go to the nature center, gift shops, horseback ride, go to the archery range, the playground, the lookout tower or just enjoy the beautiful scenery. There is something there to do for every age group. We have stayed at the McKeever Lodge and the walls are paper thin. You can hear the person in the next room sneeze. So, if you happen to have a noisy family or persons next door, you will not have a quiet stay. But they do have rooms which face the gorge with small balconies which are a delight to witness a sunset and the deer which hang out there. I highly recommend this park to everyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

After a VT football game, a group for friends and I decided to get a cabin and stay a weekend in the park. It was a late fall, and it was cold, so we did not expect to have much to do... boy we were wrong. It is a great park with tons to do, located a little off the beaten path, but so worth it. The staff was friendly, and for the value, it really cannot be beat. I am sure summer there must be fantastic. The cabins are not anything special, but if you don't mind camping, this is an incredible upgrade to a tent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunshineStateGuy1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Have to go Horse back riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

this is gorgous...horseback riding in the mountains is something I had never done before. Seeing it in the Fall is absolutely beautiful.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro, West Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Serene with great views and activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Golf, gorge views, indoor/outdoor pools, tram to the river. What's not to like? Best time of year to visit--summer and fall. Spectacular autumn foliage in mid-October.

Helpful?
Thank Chaz343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipestem State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pipestem State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing