We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
95
106
43
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
106
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkhorseback ridingmckeever lodgepipestem resortmountain creekgolf coursenature centerhiking trailsindoor poolwest virginiathe main lodgebluestone dining roomgorge view roomsaw deergift shoprelaxing place to staybit dated
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 276 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We discovered Pipestem several years ago as a word of mouth referral from a friend. The park and grounds are stunningly beautiful. My husband and I are avid hikers and we have traversed every trail ... beautiful!!! The main reason we keep returning every spring after opening, and every fall before closing, is to let Chef Eric Stalnaker feed us at the Mountain Creek Dining Room.!!! The food is simply some of the best cuisine to be had ... anywhere!!!! The location of this restaurant is so sweetly devine. It's located in the middle of paradise and the trip there via aerial tramway is worth the trip alone. I kid you not we visit twice a year just because of the dining experience. The beauty of the park is just icing on the cake. Don't waste your time on the Oak Supper Club. We were "winded out" of the Mountain Creek Dining Room this past spring and went to the Oak instead. What a disappointment it was. They tried to pass subpar dair y bar quality food off as fine dining that was terribly overpriced!!! If the Mountain Creek Dining Room is not accessible I would recommend Brandon's BBQ. We found it by accident and were very pleased by it's fare. Everything tasted as good or better that the wonderful scent that permeated the air around it. Pipestem is truly a feast ... for the body and the soul!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed here 17 yrs ago on our honeymoon. So when we had a chance to stay there again a couple of weekends ago, we jumped at the chance. This time around we got a corner suite. LOTS of windows and a great view. Extremely clean and beautifully furnished room. Big indoor heated pool. Too many great things we experienced there with our children to begin to list them all. You need to go and experience this place for yourself! Friendly staff will help you find the perfect room. Happy Traveling!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OurAshvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2006

Our fourth time back to Pipestem State Park, but the first trip in the winter. Stayed in a small suite in the lodge (we usually get a two bedroom cabin). Park is beautiful beyond words, with top rate resort facilities - golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, horseback riding, tennis, etc. Hotel is basic but clean and confortable and they really make an effort to keep the facility in good shape. Serviceable onsite restaurant which helps when you consider the isolated location. An all around great place.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank roymogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2004

I just love this place! I have been here several times over the years and always enjoy myself. The trick is to request the right room! There are some terrible rooms on the lower floors - below the recreation room, etc. Ask for a gorge side/ gorge view room on the 6th or 7th floor. We had a clean, newly remodeled room. TV reception was good, although forget the cell phone. They offer cabins too, but I have tried those and find that they were not very comfortable, although the privacy was wonderful. The lodge is on the old side, but the staff try to keep everything ship shape. But, the greatest thing about this place in the location. We spent a week here in September and hiked everyday - sometimes we never saw another person until we came back out of the woods! Some days we never even looked at the car ... let alone drive anywhere. The onsite restaurant is pretty good and the prices are reasonable. The indoor pool is OK too. Since we always go in September, I can't rate the outdoor pool, but I here it is very crowded with tons of kids in the summer. We don't golf, but the courses seem to be very popular.

This is a great place to unwind and get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Laura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2004

A scenic state park with lots to do. McKeever Lodge (main lodge) has well-maintained rooms, some with breathtaking views. Food there is just average, with an economical buffet and a regular menu. The "gourmet" restaurant at Mountain Creek Lodge is accessed by an aerial tram. The trip is lots of fun, but the cuisine there isn't very good, either. The Oak Supper Club, right outside the park entrance, is a better bet for dinner.

Pipestem activities include nature walks, golf, swimming, boating, tennis, a small fitness room, and more. There is a very nice local crafts shop near the tram entrance. Recommended, as long as you keep your food expectations realistic.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank JoyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews