We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
95
106
43
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
106
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkhorseback ridingmckeever lodgepipestem resortmountain creekgolf coursenature centerhiking trailsindoor poolwest virginiathe main lodgebluestone dining roomgorge view roomsaw deergift shoprelaxing place to staybit dated
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 276 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here as a close getaway during the week of July 4th. Although the rooms were a bit small, and the rooms and property were a bit outdated, the property was clean and the balcony view made up for the "tiredness" of the property. There was plenty to do here with our family: hike, take the sky tram down to the creek, fish, golf (both 18-hole championship course, and 9-hole par 3 course), observe nature, use the game/arcade room, swim, etc. We did not get to do all that was offered. The best part was that the park and the lodge were not crowded at all. It was very quiet during the evenings on our balcony while we watched the sun set.

An added bonus was the on-site restaurant. The food was surprisingly good and was also reasonably priced. They even allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine to dinner and uncorked it for us without a corkage fee. One thing I would recommend is to bring your own ice chest with your drinks as there are no refrigerators in the rooms. And, the nearest town is at least a 15-minute drive from the lodge.

Room Tip: Stay at the McKeever Lodge and DO get the balcony "gorge" view! The 4th floor is the floor with the indoor pool, game/arcade room, and exercise room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have been coming very years now for a family reunion. Unfortunately, this year was not an ideal stay. The air conditioner was broken for almost the entire trip - over the July 4th holiday. One of the room doors kept breaking and the door had to be taken off the hinges to gain entry. The handicap lift broke and I have a wheelchair bound daughter. Earwigs were everywhere. The food was not very good and over priced. The sliding glass door was broken and we could not shut it which meant it could not be locked. It has a lot of potential but definitely needs to be updated and some remodeling done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The view is breath taking. The hotel is outdated. Needs new carpet, new beds and bedding, new towels, and spells like old mold. There were bugs in the bathroom. The sliding glass doors and windows hadn't been cleaned in a while, it had hand prints all over them. The food is way over priced and not very good. Staff was not very friendly at the hotel. Staff for the tram was nice. We were staying for our anniversary at Mountain Creek on July 4th. We were told it had a free breakfast but they don't, the woman at the desk said if we wanted breakfast we had a fridge and microwave in room, we should have brought some.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melinda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We come here every other year for a family reunion. The lodge rooms remind me of the old Holiday Inns of my youth. 2 beds a TV and a bathroom. Nothing more nothing less. The lodge is dated to say the least but you come to expect that at most of these state and national parks. The park itself is wonderful. Clean and beautiful with lots of activities to do. My family particularly enjoys the horseback riding and I would highly recommend that.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tb0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The resort is outdated and needs to be renovated. We had no air in our room. However, the scenery and activities are awesome. My son loved the horseback riding and paddle boats. Also there are a lot of playgrounds on the property along with games, a huge outdoor pool, golf course, and mini golf. The indoor pool is super warm and clean! The restaurant had great food but it needed to be updated in decorations. The hotel is also confusing with multiple levels and hallways that don't have signs of where things are at. I will stay here again because of the outdoor perks. I hope to see it updated soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHarper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews