We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activities and views are wonderful - the lodge, not so much.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Activities and views are wonderful - the lodge, not so much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We understand this is a State property and funds are not always available for improvements. We stayed at the McKeever Lodge. They have made some nice updates since our last visit several years ago (tile floor in bathroom and new carpet in room, some of the furniture appears to be of the same set). The sink in the bathroom is attached to the wall with very little space to place your toiletries. We couldn't seem to get enough light to see well in the room, despite at least four lamps (perhaps low wattage bulbs to save money?). Overall, the room was average - they could lose the quilted bedspreads. We stayed two nights and were quite surprised that housekeeping did not make our bed when they serviced our room after the first night. Leeann at check-in was a surly person who got us off to a bad start with her nastiness and lack of knowledge (among other things, she prints the weather forecast and places it on the counter for guests to see - but she commented that she doesn't even look at it). Nathan - one of the Park Rangers was a delight, making recommendations and checking on the safety of crossing the river. The paddleboat was a nice change of pace and provided nice solitude.

Room Tip: If you want a King bed (but do not want the suite), you will have a view of the parking lot. Accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0neWhoLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    77
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
83
69
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

An amazing, secret gem! We stayed in the lodge for 2 days and the prices are so reasonable that we rented the suite so we and our 4 children each had a bed! Very rustic, but clean; made the mountain experience come to life for us. Microwave and fridge in the room made the stay simple and affordable (no continental breakfast offered) . Staff is wonderful. Unexpected activities included a game room and nature center with programs for the kids to enjoy. Lodge restaurant and cafe food is average and overpriced. My husband and I had a delightful afternoon date taking the air tram to the gourmet Mountain Creek restaurant (amazing food!) and let the kids (18,16,13, and 11) order food, enjoy the lodge game room and swimming pool. Another plus - 10 minute drive from the Bluestone State Park marina where we rented a pontoon boat. What a blast!

Room Tip: Large families will love the suite with sliding door opening to a balcony with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Second Creek, WV
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Lodge (at the bottom of the gorge) - not fancy, but still a wonderful place to stay. You get a fantastic tram ride with your stay - great walks along the river, lots of nature all around. It's our "go-to" place when we need a break. A wonderful place - very helpful staff. We also REALLY like the restaurant - TERRIFIC view out the windows, very good food. We asked for low-sodium, and got it. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Do try to get a room away from the end closest to the tram, and also on the second floor (unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pipe Stem Resort is a get away from the busyness of towns and cities. Lovely grounds, deer everywhere! Rooms are a little outdated, but clean. Cabins are cozy, and amongst the trees and wildlife. Restaurants are all right, nothing outstanding, however there is a restaurant nearby with great cuisine and ambiance for the most discriminating patron. Yes, we will return as it is a place of lots of activities: horseback riding, golf, swimming, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pipestem is not a "luxury" resort, but that's what makes it special. It's a gorgeous setting in the mountains, and they've let the scenery do the work. Simple wooden signs guide you through the park. Basic rooms are "upgraded" by the spectacular views of the gorge. There's golf and swimming, but don't go expecting luxury. It's an amazingly affordable destination because they don't cater to a high-maintenance crowd. Go if you like to hike, like great views, and don't mind a bit of a rustic feel. It's a real gem.

Room Tip: Ask for "gorge view" when you reserve, and try to get the highest floor up you can. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found this resort while looking for a halfway point between Ohio (where my husband is working) and SC (where we live). I wanted a hotel near a golf course. My husband and I agree, this was one of our luckiest finds. This resort was more than we hoped for. The room was clean, the view was amazing and the price was remarkable. $99 for a gorge view with a senior discount to boot! The 18 hole golf course was in perfect condition. The 9 hole Par 3 was challenging (most holes were at least 200 yds.) and in perfect condition. The greens on both courses were better than most Country Club courses I've played. There is a club house and carts available at both courses.

There is an indoor and an outdoor pool. At McKeever Lodge, where we stayed, there is a game room that includes billiards, ping pong, shuffle board, video games and a photo booth. There is an exercise room and saunas. There's a main dining room with buffet and fixed menu choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There's even a reading nook with a coffee/cappuccino machine.

Have I mentioned how wonderful this resort is? And, the staff was friendly and attentive. Whatever I've forgotten to mention, it's there. A beautiful tram ride across the Gorge takes you to a gourmet restaurant overlooking a running mountain stream where there is also fishing. While we were there, there was a Gospel music performance at the amphitheater. Did I mention horseback riding and archery? And, lots of walking/hiking trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gorge at McKeever Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CFCCharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages last week and enjoyed every second! It was clean, remodeled and even had firewood waiting for us. We got take out from the lodge and really enjoyed the food. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelH872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.6 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
22.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
18.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Property: Pipestem Resort State Park
Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing