We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Jewel in the Mountains!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pipestem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found this resort while looking for a halfway point between Ohio (where my husband is working) and SC (where we live). I wanted a hotel near a golf course. My husband and I agree, this was one of our luckiest finds. This resort was more than we hoped for. The room was clean, the view was amazing and the price was remarkable. $99 for a gorge view with a senior discount to boot! The 18 hole golf course was in perfect condition. The 9 hole Par 3 was challenging (most holes were at least 200 yds.) and in perfect condition. The greens on both courses were better than most Country Club courses I've played. There is a club house and carts available at both courses.

There is an indoor and an outdoor pool. At McKeever Lodge, where we stayed, there is a game room that includes billiards, ping pong, shuffle board, video games and a photo booth. There is an exercise room and saunas. There's a main dining room with buffet and fixed menu choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There's even a reading nook with a coffee/cappuccino machine.

Have I mentioned how wonderful this resort is? And, the staff was friendly and attentive. Whatever I've forgotten to mention, it's there. A beautiful tram ride across the Gorge takes you to a gourmet restaurant overlooking a running mountain stream where there is also fishing. While we were there, there was a Gospel music performance at the amphitheater. Did I mention horseback riding and archery? And, lots of walking/hiking trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gorge at McKeever Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CFCCharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    77
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
83
69
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages last week and enjoyed every second! It was clean, remodeled and even had firewood waiting for us. We got take out from the lodge and really enjoyed the food. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelH872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I went back to Pipestem Resort last weekend after 30 years and can tell you that the reason to go hasn't changed .... fabulous view, nice staff and an opportunity to rest and relax. It's a good place to hold a meeting as well which is why I went: state convention of Lions International. My original visits were when the resort was fairly new so you'll have to overlook the small baths, vestiges of age ... but everything was clean, food was good and the view ... did I tell you about the view and being back to nature? Not that I'm a nature kinda guy. I'm more of a Marriott dude ... so if you are, note that you can stay in the lodge for the hotel feel but yet step out into many wilderness adventures (which I naturally didn't partake of) ... and very reasonably priced. Fact is, I've even thought of dropping by some weekend just for the heck of it ... who knows. Overall, I was very pleased to reacquaint myself with this really cool place in the mountains. Try it.

Room Tip: The lodge is built on the side of a mountain so you enter the lobby on the 5th floor. A 1st floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVUTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goode, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have had the pleasure of going to Pipestem for the past 20 years. The views are tremendous, the people are fantastic and we have made many friends with them. The food is not great but doable and if you don't like it, go to Brandon's BBQ or the Dairy Queen in Hinton or New River Valley Kitchen down below Dairy Queen. As far as the rooms, they are remodeling and are doing a good job. Our recent stay (May 24th-27th) was very nice, room was updated and comfortable. The bathrooms are small, but they always have been and we have managed. They serve the purpose. Yes the kids (mainly) make noise as they run down the halls, but they are having fun and are outside playing instead of holed up playing video games. Its used to sleep because there are way too many great things to be doing outside. If you want a Ritz Charlton hotel, go to Ritz Charlton. If you want simple yet practical, come to Pipestem. Look forward to my next stay in Auguest.

Room Tip: Gorge view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Pipestem, specifically the Mountain Creek Lodge, probably won't be our last. We met friends from VA and SC (our home is OH). The views and hiking were wonderful. The staff excellent. The restaurant at the Mountain Creek level was very good. A meal at McKeever was less than special (but not horrible; just really slow). The walls are paper thin. Even easy sleepers need to pack earplugs. A day trip to the New River Gorge area was really fun. We would recommend Ace's zip line or the Bridgewalk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 529KTB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a decent price. The noisiness mentioned in other reviews are pretty accurate. The views are fantastic as are the hiking trails. I would not under any circumstances eat here again. We gave it two tries. One each dinner and breakfast. When the dining room was near empty service was horrible and when full even worse. Tables were just left with dirty dishes stacking up and left that way until needing cleaned to sest someone. The food was tasteless. They were also out of a number of items. My advice, stay somewhere else and come enjoy the park

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went here for my high school reunion. Rooms have gorgeous views. Breakfast buffet was very good. I can't eat dairy and they provided eggbeaters. Nice cottages are close to the lodge. Recommend checking out the Lookout Tower for very nice views. Even had snow this time of year! Wow. Saw lots of deer. Would return in May to ride tram and golf. Challenging par 3 course here. Nice place for family. Cottages and playground on site close to lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a gorge view and book higher floors in McKeever Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.6 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
22.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Property: Pipestem Resort State Park
Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing