We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
97
106
46
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
106
46
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingmckeever lodgepipestem resortmountain creekgolf coursenature centerindoor poolhiking trailsbluestone dining roomwest virginiathe main lodgegorge view roomsaw deergift shopaerial tramrelaxing place to staybit dated
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 282 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pipestem Resort for an autumn get-away in October 2011. My parents have been going to Pipestem for years and basically told us "It's not the Ritz". Well, the rooms are not 5 star rooms, but the view - you CAN NOT beat if you get a gorge view room. Yes, the furniture looked like something out of the Brady Bunch and the linens on the bed could have been updated (pillows are flat, so bring your own). But overall, rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, check-in was a breeze, the view was great, and our stay was peaceful. We took the tram to the bottom of the gorge to eat at the Mt. Creek Restaurant, and it was delicious. Again, it could use some updates, but we didn't have to dress up and dined in a 3 star restaurant with really good food and great service. Be advised that if the winds are high, the tram shuts down (common knowledge) - so keep your eyes on the weather channel if you have reservations and winds are expected to increase. Overall, great experience - we will return when the weather is warmer and we can hike and bike the trails and bring our dogs!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. Get a gorge view room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent 4 nights in the McKeever lodge (at the top of the mountain) in mid-Oct to try and do some leaf peeping. The trees were cooperating here.
We had a king room - the chairs were not comfortable but the bed was. The room had a fridge & microwave and the room was a nice size.
The is no hot tub but the indoor swimming pool almost qualifies. The temp of the pool is around 90 degrees so it's like a very large hot tub! They have a lifeguard on duty at all times.
The hotel is rather difficult to figure out - everything seems to be on half floors and some stairs will get you there and others wont, elevators go to some areas but not others.
The view from the hotel lobby is the Bluestone River gorge and it is gorgeous. The lobby is very nice and inviting with a fireplace.
We had breakfasts and one dinner in the Bluestone dining room in the main lodge. Breakfasts were very good and reasonable price. There is a decent buffet also.
Dinner was a disappointment. There was a seafood buffet which people seemed to like, but we ordered from the menu. The french fries were cold, the hamburger was nothing special, the pork loin was very tough.

We had dinner one night at the Mountain Creek dining room. It required the 6 min tram ride both ways. We had been told that if the winds kicked up over 20 mph that the tram couldn't run and there could be a delay - not a problem for us this time.
The view from the dining room was very nice - the creek flows right by. The service was good and the food was excellent (it's pricey but worth a splurge).

The park has a lot of well marked hiking trails. Can be treacherous in the fall with wet leaves on the hillsides. Lots of deer in the park so be careful when driving.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation_addict_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have enjoyed the park many times. The lodge, not so much. We just learned an expensive lesson!! We were booked down at Mountain Creek as this was what was available when we booked. Well, you take the tram up and down to your room. However, if the tram is not working, you have to take be taken up and down via van and it is 1.5 hours each way!!! With only one full day on our trip, getting stuck was not on our agenda and winds were to be 25mph and high enough for the tram to shut down. Checking in at 11:30 pm, with two small children, we asked about availability up at the lodge. Yes, one room was available, an executive suite at double the price of the room down the mountain where we were bound to get stuck! To shorten this story, stay at the top of the mountain. The tram did close. We did stay at the top so as not to spend 3 hours in a van. We felt, knowing winds were to be high enough to close the tram, the lodge should have honored our rate and allowed us the only available room at that rate. More than that, they should advise people when they book. . . If the tram does not work, you will be most definitely be inconvenienced! No one ever advised of this!! When we woke, we called and confirmed the tram was closed until further notice. This meant check out and taking a van down the mountain to check into our room for our second nite, or checking out. We were fortunate a room opened up ten doors down! We thought we could just scoot down the hall and all would be well! No, the front desk opted not to allow the cleaning staff to make things easy for us, forcing us to check out, move all our things back down to our car and wait for the cleaning staff to enjoy their lunch and return at 4pm to check in!! The front desk employee was extremely rude!! On an up note, the park was fantastic, the stable staff outstanding, the fall ride, priceless!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Comeonaskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights in one of the cabins at Pipestem. The location of the cabins is great but, they are in need of some serious updating! The beds are extremely uncomfortable and need to be replaced! We ate at the Bluestone Dining room which had a very good buffet. For the price they charge, for these cabins, they really need to update the furniture!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I attended a conference in February at Pipestem so it was during its off-season. The staff was wonderful, the accommodations were nice and even though the weather was typical for February (cool, wet, rainy) the scenery was gorgeous. There is a deck on one side of the resort overlooking the West Virginia Mountains. It was beautiful. Very quiet out there with the resort being 30 minutes from the nearest town. That is something that you need to be aware of..... pack everything that you need before you get there because you can't just run to Walmart if you forget something. This place reminded me a lot of the resort on the movie Dirty Dancing. Quiet, serene. Keep in mind that it might not be quite as quiet and serene during the summer. There were a lot of walking trails available and next year I plan on packing some walking shoes to do just that. (I packed business attire since it was a business trip). Bring a book or your kindle and plan on having a relaxing time.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room with the gorge view. Pack some snacks to keep in your room since you won't be near restaurants or convenience stores.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank familyoffiveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews