We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
95
106
43
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
106
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkhorseback ridingmckeever lodgepipestem resortmountain creekgolf coursenature centerhiking trailsindoor poolwest virginiathe main lodgebluestone dining roomgorge view roomsaw deergift shoprelaxing place to staybit dated
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 276 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We just got back from Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge after taking my family there to celebrate my wife's birthday. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

I had a few gripes: the hallway leading to our rooms were real narrow, leading my wife to say that she was getting clausterphobic everytime we went to our room and in our first night we could hear everything in the room above us, it sounded like they were going to fall through the floor it was so loud. Outside of that it was all good, the food at their Bluestone Restaurant was good, the scenery was great and the people were helpful.

Since it's only 45 minutes away from us, we'll visit it again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuracellTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The lodge is older but well maintained. There are numerous activities for all ages. This was actually the second time that we stayed here this year. The tram ride is always fun for the first timer. Both pools are adequate. There are numerous hiking/walking trails. If you don't want to walk you can ride a horse. Miniature and real golf, and one night they put a projection screen up outside and showed a movie. The scenery is great, wildlife eating right outside of your window. Nearby Hinton has a great little place called Kirk's where you can eat breakfast overlooking the river during the warmer months. The first timer will never forget their trip to Pipestem for good reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelaneysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This state park has lots for famiies - 18 hole golf, par 3 golf, miniature golf, swimming (indoors and out), tennis, hiking, horse back riding, winter sports (skiing and ice skating) for a reasonable price.

The McKeever lodge requires no tram ride and is spacious and clean. The stafr are very friendly. In the lodge is a snack bar (burgers, dogs, grilled chicken sandwich, pizza, fries, taco salad soft drinks and ice cream) for very reasonable prices (burgers start at $2.50). A restaurant offers fancier fare for a little more ($12.99 up for entrees). The bed is comfortable.

Views from the public rooms in the lodge were very pretty. There was no bar, so we made drinks in the room and took them to the lounge for a beautiful sunset cocktail hour.

The only real problem we encountered is lighting in the room. I had to take the shade off the lamp to be able to read This is not minor, but you can live with it.

We played par 3 golf - fun, but be forewarned: this is no easy course, It is long, and hilly. The deer we saw enhanced the experience however.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

A few days ago my husband and I spent our 40th Wedding Anniversary at Pipestem State Park. We have never stayed at the lodge (because we had a pet that recently passed away), but have stayed numerous times at the beautiful relaxing cabins. I was very disappointed with our room. We had the room next to the ice machine and every 30 minutes someone would get ice throughout the night.....no sleep at all. The floor had crackers all over it, the tub had to be cleaned before we could take a bath and the balcony had spider webs and dirt all over the place. We had to clean the chairs before we could even sit down in them. Folks, come on now.....you have such a beautiful resort and a restaurant with great food.....why such dirty rooms? Our choice will definitely be a cabin from now on because of the bad experience we had this past weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miamia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I was worrying about this visit. But I was impressed by the food quality, cleanliness and the beauty of the area. Good facilities for meetings and groups. Plenty of stuff to do with the kids. We ate in the snack bar and had a catered dinner, and the food was all fresh and very well prepared. As a matter of fact, when we took the first bite of the chicken at dinner, the whole table said, “Wow!” The rooms were small, and the people next to us were talking loudly until 11:30 on the balcony one night and we could hear every word. But everything was well-maintained. Lots of hiking and natural beauty. Also both an indoor and outdoor pool, miniature golf, driving range and golf course. The aerial tram was fun, but over-priced. I say if you are considering a stay at Pipestem, go for it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzGWizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews