We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch for bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had a group of 48(25 rooms). As far as we know now only one room had bedbugs, and it was confirmed by management. Contaminated room was 703. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very cool on lower floors and warmer as you went up. One couple left early because their room was so cold and noisy. Beware of the scrambled eggs on the breakfast buffet; obviously powered and not good. You can order off the menu to avoid that.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovesToGo37604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pipestemgroups, Manager at Pipestem Resort State Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

A professional exterminating service could not locate any infestation in this room or any other room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Pipestem Resort State Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 227 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

We just got back from Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge after taking my family there to celebrate my wife's birthday. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

I had a few gripes: the hallway leading to our rooms were real narrow, leading my wife to say that she was getting clausterphobic everytime we went to our room and in our first night we could hear everything in the room above us, it sounded like they were going to fall through the floor it was so loud. Outside of that it was all good, the food at their Bluestone Restaurant was good, the scenery was great and the people were helpful.

Since it's only 45 minutes away from us, we'll visit it again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuracellTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The lodge is older but well maintained. There are numerous activities for all ages. This was actually the second time that we stayed here this year. The tram ride is always fun for the first timer. Both pools are adequate. There are numerous hiking/walking trails. If you don't want to walk you can ride a horse. Miniature and real golf, and one night they put a projection screen up outside and showed a movie. The scenery is great, wildlife eating right outside of your window. Nearby Hinton has a great little place called Kirk's where you can eat breakfast overlooking the river during the warmer months. The first timer will never forget their trip to Pipestem for good reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelaneysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This state park has lots for famiies - 18 hole golf, par 3 golf, miniature golf, swimming (indoors and out), tennis, hiking, horse back riding, winter sports (skiing and ice skating) for a reasonable price.

The McKeever lodge requires no tram ride and is spacious and clean. The stafr are very friendly. In the lodge is a snack bar (burgers, dogs, grilled chicken sandwich, pizza, fries, taco salad soft drinks and ice cream) for very reasonable prices (burgers start at $2.50). A restaurant offers fancier fare for a little more ($12.99 up for entrees). The bed is comfortable.

Views from the public rooms in the lodge were very pretty. There was no bar, so we made drinks in the room and took them to the lounge for a beautiful sunset cocktail hour.

The only real problem we encountered is lighting in the room. I had to take the shade off the lamp to be able to read This is not minor, but you can live with it.

We played par 3 golf - fun, but be forewarned: this is no easy course, It is long, and hilly. The deer we saw enhanced the experience however.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

A few days ago my husband and I spent our 40th Wedding Anniversary at Pipestem State Park. We have never stayed at the lodge (because we had a pet that recently passed away), but have stayed numerous times at the beautiful relaxing cabins. I was very disappointed with our room. We had the room next to the ice machine and every 30 minutes someone would get ice throughout the night.....no sleep at all. The floor had crackers all over it, the tub had to be cleaned before we could take a bath and the balcony had spider webs and dirt all over the place. We had to clean the chairs before we could even sit down in them. Folks, come on now.....you have such a beautiful resort and a restaurant with great food.....why such dirty rooms? Our choice will definitely be a cabin from now on because of the bad experience we had this past weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miamia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I was worrying about this visit. But I was impressed by the food quality, cleanliness and the beauty of the area. Good facilities for meetings and groups. Plenty of stuff to do with the kids. We ate in the snack bar and had a catered dinner, and the food was all fresh and very well prepared. As a matter of fact, when we took the first bite of the chicken at dinner, the whole table said, “Wow!” The rooms were small, and the people next to us were talking loudly until 11:30 on the balcony one night and we could hear every word. But everything was well-maintained. Lots of hiking and natural beauty. Also both an indoor and outdoor pool, miniature golf, driving range and golf course. The aerial tram was fun, but over-priced. I say if you are considering a stay at Pipestem, go for it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzGWizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Please don't pay attention to the reviews about being outdated, etc. The lodge and cabins at Pipestem (and Hawks Nest and Twin Falls) are actually fine surviving examples of Bauhaus modernist architecture, designed by none other than Walter Gropius himself (as part of the Architects Collaborative TAC) based in Boston. These three state parks are probably the best (if not only) examples of Bauhas architecture in WV - rustic, modern, organic, lots of wood and glass. I love it and hope they stay the same! Try the restaurant at the Mountain Creek lodge - very nice! The golf course is really fun, cheap, and well maintained - if you don't mind playing with deer and fawn and wild turkeys on the course! Swimming pool is COLD....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.2 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
18.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
22.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range: $38 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing