We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Fort Hill Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Hill Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at this motel for over a year, off and on, during a contract job I have had in the area. Sarah always worked with my crazy night shift schedule and would block a room off the night before I would be checking in just so when I got off work at 0700, I could go to the room. She placed the key in a convenient location, allowing me to get in my room before the office opened and I could rest all day and then take care of the bill. She always placed me in a room that was away from the majority of any noise that I may encounter and was very respectful of where housekeeping would be cleaning so that I would not be interrupted with the sound of a sweeper. The walls are fairly thick and I never had an issue with noise. Although some of the rooms are small, they are clean and most have been upgraded. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
15
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean. The pool is small but enough for the kids to play around. Standard room was a little small but didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The view is great, very relaxing. Air conditioner however is VERY loud. You can't hear yourselves talk. Hotel grounds themselves are clean and well kept. Fort Mulligan is directly behind the motel and you can walk or run some laps around the trails there for an early morning workout.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very clean rooms. The room had every comfort that we needed. The pool was just lovely after a 103 degree day! The is our second stay here and I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debs4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Baldwin, ME
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Fort Hill Motel on April 28th. Our standard room was on the small side, but well equipped with flat screen TV, room AC, mini-refrigerator that readily made ice, microwave, coffee maker, two comfortable chairs with one located at a combination desk with lamp, and a queen-sized comfortable bed above which was mounted a fluorescent fixture with one lamp directed over the bed for reading and another directed upward to help illuminate the room. The small bath had a counter with single basin, wall-mounted hair dryer, generous mirror beneath a lamp in addition to a ceiling lamp, exhaust fan, tub/shower combination, and toilet in a partially separated corner. The room was very clean and well-kept. At $58 plus 5% state and 5% city taxes, this is an unbeatable value.

Room Tip: Parking spaces for corner rooms at the far right end from the office cancel each other out, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afriCATreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were surprised to find such a lovely, friendly, immaculately maintained property in such a rural area. Smoke free was another plus. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggeandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This place is fabulous! Very clean, spacious rooms. Service was friendly, I felt like I was right at home. When staying here you'll want to plan time to spend at the hotel just relaxing and enjoying the view!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I were travelling with my mother who is disabled. We stayed in the suite which suited us well. Everything was clean and in good order. Reception was good. We took a little wander around to see the pool, even though we were not going to use it. It was very good. Only wish we could have had a few nights there, A Thomas

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
17.4 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
19.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
16.3 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
18.3 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Motel

Property: Fort Hill Motel
Address: HC59 Box 99 RT55W, Petersburg, WV 26847
Location: United States > West Virginia > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing