We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Virginia gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blennerhassett Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a beautifully restored hotel that exceeded our expectations. My husband & I were traveling with our dog & were pleasantly surprised that we could stay at such a fine place with him (for a fee of course). Next time we hope to try out the restaurant and relax on the patio (dogs are not welcome there). I only hope the town of Parkersburg gets a coffee shop with normal hours by then! (The one on Market St had not opened by 9:30 a.m. when we were leaving town, which seemed odd.) Starbucks is served in the lobby, but another option would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

The title of this review comes from my 4 yr. old daughter, lol. Really, it was very, very nice, very clean, and very affordable.

We stayed overnight (7/18/14). On first walking into the hotel, I thought that it looked very upscale. The staff was courteous and we were checked-in quickly.

Our room was on the 5th floor. At first, I thought that this was going to be one of those hotels that I was going to get lost in as we had to turn a few corners to get to our room. Navigation was much easier than I thought it would be, lol. The room was very clean and comfortable. The beds were cozy. The décor was lovely and didn't look old or worn. The only thing I didn't like was the shower. If you like a hot shower, there was a sign that said to push in and turn a knob (otherwise the water would only heat to a certain temp.) I couldn't get the knob to turn (but maybe you had to turn it *before* turning on the water. The bathroom heater more than made up for the cooler water.

We ate breakfast in the hotel. The dining area was nice, and all of the dishes were clean. Also, there were multiple items on the menu that actually looked good--I had a hard time choosing what to eat! *L* I settled on the lemon-blueberry & risotto pancakes. Delicious.

The biggest surprise was when Rich from the Imagination Movers (if any of you have young children you may know who he is) walked over to our table at breakfast and talked with us for a few minutes. Such an awesome surprise for us, especially since the entire point of our trip was a surprise for our daughter (to take her to see their concert later that morning).

I might point out that my daughter said that the Blennerhasset Hotel was the best hotel ever *before* she met Mover Rich or knew that we were going to see them in concert. And she might just be right :)

P.S. Check-out was also a breeze. We just called down and they got our car for us. Wonderful stay, and wonderful day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TracyB927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice renovated historic hotel. The room was very comfortable.. up-scale linens and towels. Modern bathroom. Great mattress. Good temperature control without the old musty smell you sometimes get with older hotels. We did have dinner there and it was excellent. We sat outside on the patio, very pleasant relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend, especially if you like experiencing something different from the same ol' same ol' of the chain hotel and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexicogroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We reserved the Blennerrhassett Experience package ,(including a lunch picnic and tickets for the park and museum) planning to arrive late morning June 26 and spend the afternoon at Blennerhassett Island State Park. We arrived about 11:30, our lunch and ticket were ready and we could get to the noon paddlewheel ferry to the island. Lunch was in a beautiful insulated Ascot bag that was ours to keep. The only snag was that we were at the end of a two week road trip in my Miata and there was no room left in the trunk. Problem quickly solved - the bag was shipped home to us in time to use for 4th of July picnic.
Our room was lovely, well supplied and very clean. Food was wonderful at the restaurant and the service from everyone was gracious and efficient.
We have already recommended this hotel and this package
to several friends and will continue to do so.
Thanks to all fir a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank D4707MOsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Although North Bend State Park is a required park for the WV VIPP tour, we decided to book a room at this historic Hotel so that we could also dive into the Blennerhassett Island experience which begins at the boat dock located only a 1/2 mile down from the corner. Little did we know, this Hotel would raise to the #1 spot for "Best Hotel" on our travel list.

First Impression: The exterior is beautiful - both at night and in the day - lined in dark hues with splashes of purple and green ivy and potted plants. The moment we walked in, we were greeted, quickly checked-in, and the bellhop was very polite in offering luggage and/or valet assistance. Parking was easy and free.

Room Impression: We reserved the "William Chancellor Suite" (which was selected through a combination of looking online and speaking to a reservation clerk at the same time - the website can be a tiny bit confusing about the offered amenities) and was in awe the moment we walked in the door. Lovely dark red walls with hints of gold tint in the decor and embellishments. The four-post king size bed was super soft and covered in fluffy sleeping pillows - 6, to be exact - which I love! Fresh chocolate chip cookies, soothing spa-like music, and a full ice bucket was ready for use - that was nice after a hot day in the sun. The bathroom was simple and elegant. Soft folded towels and robes for two. The whirlpool tub easily accommodates one average size person. If you're willing to sit with your legs crossed, two people can fit. And a built-in shower was an option for those who don't like baths. PLUS, the room was clean, clean, clean!

Dinner: After a long day at the Island, we decided to order room-service for dinner. Because we reserved our room with the "1,440 Minute Escape" package, we received a $100 gift card to use on the premises. For dinner, we ordered: Hummus, Fried Calamari, Fromage platter, Duck Breast (medium) and two beverages. To summarize this meal: incredible! The plates were beautifully displayed, well-proportioned, and cooked just right. We ate every last bite and wished we had more room to try the menu's other plates.

Sleep quality: the room is located on the corner of the building, looking out towards town, and above a four-way intersection. I am a light sleeper, but I slept through the night without being disturbed. Little or no noise came through the walls from the street below or the hallways around.

Breakfast/Brunch: The next morning, we took part in their Sunday brunch buffet (tip: reservations!). Talk about a brunch-lover's delight! There was an incredible spread - Eggs Benedict, applewood smoked bacon, waffles, seasoned eggs, and redskin potatoes (plus more breakfast items), in addition to shrimp, oysters, tilapia, salmon with dill, bacon corn chowder soup, omelet bar and desserts (pecan pie, cream puffs, etc) and MORE! The Eggs Benedict - a pure classic - was the best I have ever had! Again, this meal was incredible!

In summary:
Room (impression, cleanliness, amenities, etc) - 5+ stars
Service (reservations, check-in, check-out, etc) - 5+ stars
Food (price, quality, quantity, etc) - 5+ stars
Experience (people, atmosphere, etc) - 5+ stars

Everything met and exceeded our expectations!

Now, our new "#1" hotel on our historical hotel experience list!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reebee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If, like me, you feel just a bit dubious when you hear the words "vintage" or "historic" applied to a hotel and worry that the place might be rundown or uncomfortable, no need to worry here! The renovation of the Blennerhassett has captured all of the charm of a historic hotel while providing the essential up-to-date features [comfortable beds, attractive rooms with excellent cleanliness, sleek modern bathroom fixtures, plenty of hot water, functional HVAC] of a contemporary hotel. All that's great, and certainly makes for a pleasant visit, but what we found truly remarkable about the Blennerhassett was the level of service. We had a slight mix-up when we arrived - we had chosen the Blennerhassett tour package and the person on the phone had neglected to finalize the arrangements - but Shayna, the front desk employee, fixed everything quickly, efficiently, and pleasantly. Whoever does the hiring should be commended, because every staff member we encountered while there was remarkably welcoming, courteous, and helpful. By the way, the tour package is definitely worth it if you're planning to take the boat ride, tour the island, and visit the museum. There doesn't seem to be a lot more to see in Parkersburg, so I'd encourage you to take the tour if you have a day free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you like clean sheets, comfy beds, old school furnishings and upscale service, The Blennerhassett is YOUR kinda place. Few small cities have been able to keep such fine establishments in service and I don't know how Parkersburg has done it but it's well done.
Been a couple times over the past few years and both had a wedding. Yeah, it's that nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkersburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parkersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Parkersburg
11.7 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Parkersburg
103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vienna Parkersburg
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Parkersburg
Comfort Inn Parkersburg
#7 of 11 in Parkersburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blennerhassett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blennerhassett Hotel

Address: 320 Market St, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Parkersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blennerhassett Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blennerhassett is an elegant, historic, full-service property located in downtown Parkersburg featuring boutique-style guest rooms and state-of-the-art conference and catering facilities. Located in the heart of downtown Parkersburg, guests are within walking distance of museums, bike trails, live theater, the Blennerhassett Island boat launch and diverse local dining options. You can also enjoy live music and exquisite cuisine in our own Spats Restaurant & Lounge, or Spats Patio seasonally. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, newspaper, fitness center, valet parking and our own coffee bar serving Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blennerhassett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blennerhassett Hotel Parkersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing