We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blennerhassett Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Parkersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped on our way home and wanted to spend the night in something a little more upscale than the usual. Was not disappointed. Clean comfortable rooms, beautiful furnishings and really good food and drinks in the bar area. Wonderful game room/library, no video games here though - chess, checkers and backgammon. Proved to be a nice relaxing spot after dinner.
The bed was a little short (I'm 5'10") and our room faced out into a parking lot/alley. Was awoken a couple of times by emergency vehicles during the night.. I know the hotel cannot control this, but I found it fascinating that such a small town had so much going on in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    140
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
106
246
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was built in 1889. Beautiful rooms, classic furniture - it's a chance to walk back through time. You will relax and leave the fast paced world behind the minute you enter the lobby. Take time to walk through the library, tour the gift shop. Spend time in the lobby bar and definitely eat at the restaurant - the food is fantastic! The room is large (was in a regular King size room), bed was very comfortable. Granite counter in bathroom, plenty of space. Amenities align with a 5 star resort - Keurig coffee maker, large plush towels, robes. Wow! Be prepared for very few outlets - none accessible within reach of the bed or on the desk so had to plug smart phone across the room and lay on floor. Not unusual for a historical building.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This historic hotel is THE place to stay if you're in the Parkersburg/Marietta area. We recently spent the night there with our dog and what a treat! They gave us a beautiful room complete with cookies and bowls for our dog. The entire staff, including the bar and restaurant, was excellent. We enjoyed dinner and live music on the patio and cocktails in the bar. The hotel location is perfect and we (dog included)enjoyed the walks along the river. We really appreciate hotels that welcome our furkids. Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a nice overnight at the Blennerhassett on our anniversary! Only negative to our experience was our service at lunch on the afternoon we arrived. I will point out that we sat on the patio at 2:00pm on Saturday afternoon which was a little past the normal lunch time but the server was not very welcoming. Her first stop to our table was to drop off two ice waters and say "are you ready?".... No hello... No "our feature today is".. and no " can I offer you something else to drink while you look over the menu?". I will say that was the only negative experience. The entire front desk staff, evening bartender and evening server were all great. The wine list was a homerun! The young man playing the piano in the dining room made our evening. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwattgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our family was driving thru, and read about this historic hotel. We stayed in a junior suite. The room was large,comfortable and clear. They have done a nice job keeping the place up to date. The lobby bar, game room and outdoor patio are worth enjoying. Beautiful flowers line the front of the hotel. The service was wonderful. We recommend a stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakerfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our group of travellers stayed one night, 3 rooms, all were of the same high quality and cleanliness.
The onsite bar and restaurant were of a high standard for food, beverage and staffing.
The entire hotel speaks of a refined bygone era brought back to the future.

The only weak spot is outside the Hotel itself, there are not a lot of business' near by to enjoy, and traffic is a little brisk in the area.


We would stay here again.

WP
Along the St. Lawrence River
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidShilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very pretty historic hotel with updates including modern bathrooms- the one place I don't appreciate historic accuracy, haha. Starbucks in the lobby, extra awesome. Very helpful staff. An alarm clock in the unoccupied room next to ours was going off at 4am, it took one phone call to the front desk and it was turned off within 2 minutes. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but it looked super nice and there was music on the patio in the evening, very nice.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a deluxe king- save your $, still a small standard room with a king bed. Nothing spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkersburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parkersburg Downtown
11.7 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Parkersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vienna Parkersburg
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Parkersburg
Red Roof Inn Parkersburg
#4 of 10 in Parkersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Parkersburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blennerhassett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blennerhassett Hotel

Property: The Blennerhassett Hotel
Address: 320 Market St, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Parkersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Parkersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blennerhassett Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blennerhassett is an elegant, historic, full-service property located in downtown Parkersburg featuring boutique-style guest rooms and state-of-the-art conference and catering facilities. Located in the heart of downtown Parkersburg, guests are within walking distance of museums, bike trails, live theater, the Blennerhassett Island boat launch and diverse local dining options. You can also enjoy live music and exquisite cuisine in our own Spats Restaurant & Lounge, or Spats Patio seasonally. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, newspaper, fitness center, valet parking and our own coffee bar serving Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blennerhassett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blennerhassett Hotel Parkersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing