We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blennerhassett Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2008

This is the best hotel I have stayed in while traveling on business. The historic building belies updated, tastefully decorated rooms which combine modern conveniences with turn of the century decor (and I am not even a fan of period decorating style). The room is spacious, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is modern, with clean, up to date fixtures and nice bathtub, thick towels.

The restaurant on premises is excellent: great food (I ate there twice in four days), beautiful decor, welcoming, friendly staff.

To top it off, the room was quite inexpensive, less than $100/night. If Parkersburg was easier to get to, this would have been a perfect choice for a romantic gateaway.

Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
2  Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 621 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

The Blennerhassett is a hidden gem! Well worth the 10 minute drive off the interstate, we never expected to find such superb accomodation for such econo prices. The hotel surpassed our expectations in every way: the rooms were impeccable and gorgeous, the food was extraordinary and the service attentive and professional. The building itself has been lovingly restored to it's century grandeur. We have spent much more for luxury accomodation in other hotels and haven't enjoyed nearly the value that we did at the Blennerhassett. What started off to be simply a halfway point stopover for our family (2 adults and 3 teenagers) en route to South Carolina, has become a destination in itself! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We were visiting the University of Ohio in Athens about 30 miles away, but all the local hotels were filled, so we booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor ranking and reasonable price.

Very plush old hotel. I especially enjoyed listening to live entertainment in the hotel lobby bar.

Only drawback with our stay was that it took a long time for hot water to reach our end of the hotel when taking showers. We thought that the hot water was just warm, and then realized that it takes a long, long time for the hot water to reach us.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brucegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I specifically traveled to the area to stay in this Inn. My initial room was very small and had a funky piece of furniture built next to the wall to house the TV and hang clothes. No doors to close off the TV and totally out of period with other items in the room. When I casually asked at the desk if all the rooms were as such (was so different than pictures on the internet) - I was immediatley shown to a new room. New room was beautiful and very clean. Being alone, I thoroughly enjoyed my evening reading in the library area. Most of the staff were very friendly and parking was not a problem. While I thought that my dinner was totally overpriced and not very good - breakfast was ok. Only suggestion was to maybe give a little more training to restaurant staff and provide more onsite brochures / travel information for leisure visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gentlewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Our stay was superb!! The room was huge, the bed massive and comfortable even with all eleven pillows!! We enjoyed room service for breakfast both mornings we were there and thought the staff was friendly and treated us like royalty. Cannot wait to go back for a long weekend to relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandSAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

The hotel is far above any others in every way. Food, service, atmosphere, all superb. The room was magnificent and spotless. I asked for a room at the back after reading reviews about traffic noise, but we heard no noise. We didn't want to leave the place and will definitely go back for an event weekend. Do not miss the evening carriage ride through the historic district! A lovely experience, pay the money for the ride and savor every moment. The homes are quite beautiful. Dinner and breakfast were memorable, would recommend that you not be in a rush.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carriejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our stay at the Blennerhassett was a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful; like walking back in time to an era of wealth and luxury. Warm greetings by hotel staff, clean and comfortable rooms, delicous food, we couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skipandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkersburg
11.7 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parkersburg Downtown
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vienna Parkersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Parkersburg
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Parkersburg
104 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Parkersburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blennerhassett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blennerhassett Hotel

Address: 320 Market St, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337
Location: United States > West Virginia > Parkersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Price Range: $114 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blennerhassett Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blennerhassett is an elegant, historic, full-service property located in downtown Parkersburg featuring boutique-style guest rooms and state-of-the-art conference and catering facilities. Located in the heart of downtown Parkersburg, guests are within walking distance of museums, bike trails, live theater, the Blennerhassett Island boat launch and diverse local dining options. You can also enjoy live music and exquisite cuisine in our own Spats Restaurant & Lounge, or Spats Patio seasonally. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, newspaper, fitness center, valet parking and our own coffee bar serving Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Blennerhassett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blennerhassett Hotel Parkersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing