We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must Bucket List trip!!”

ACE Adventure Resort - Day Tours
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“This is a must Bucket List trip!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a great place for adventurous time. You need to go there! The employees are great you can tell they real love their jobs!! Everyone was super friendly and all were attentive to our want and neared!!
It was a great male bounding weekend. Brad is a great leader!! Stephen K was did a great job getting us down the Upper Gauley. We did not flip the raft and nobody fall out of the raft (completely).
The lake activities are great for the kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigjohn9110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    60
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zip Lining with Ace”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On a quiet fall day we and another couple rode the zip lines at Ace. A fun couple with two children were with us on the rides. Sam and Mariana were our 'guides.' It was a great time, exciting but not scary although the two suspension bridges might be a worry for people afraid of heights. At the end of September there were few people at there on a week day which was nice.
I highly recommend it. P.S. On the recommendation of Sam and Mariana we lunched afterwards at the Secret Sandwich Society in Fayettville, an excellent choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tdhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did ziplining and rafting this weekend. My 2nd time at ACE and again had a great time!
Kuddos to Dave who ran our ziplining group and Dave R who ran our rafting group down the Gualley. Safety is def. a priority with every guide there!
Even in the rain, ziplining was fun! Even though the levels were too high on the Upper Gualley, the Lower was fun!!
4 hrs from Pittsburgh
Stayed at Holiday Inn, an exit away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Firstimer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“gauly river trip”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this place is a first class operation that just gets better and nicer every year! the white water rafting trips are awesome the guides are excellent the fall trips include lunch on the river which is a great addition.
the amenaties at the ACE resort just keep getting better! my wife and kids hung out at the lake all day while I rafted and they had a great time zip linning into the lake and playing on all the fun equipment
dinner at the resort was spectacular!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unusual run of the Lower Gauley”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It isn't every year when the dam releases double the amount of water on Thursday. Enough water to close the upper portion of the river due to high water and dangerous conditions. We chose to try the lower portion of the run which we've done in prior years.

ACE sent Kent with us and he made sure that we worked as a team to get down the river safely. I will say that at the higher water level you work a lot harder. We've also never caught as much air with an 8 man raft either.

So for those who'd like to try something you won't see every year and don't mind busting your backside to do it, I recommend this trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayaklady4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ACE Adventure Resort - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to ACE Adventure Resort - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing