We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sunday night dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
9004 Fayette Lndg, Oak Hill, WV 25901-9202
(304) 465-5434
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Oak Hill
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday night dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I was in the Oak Hill area for a family event. I quickly found out that my options were limited on a Sunday evening. I found this Tex Mex eater was open thankfully. Cold beer and hot tasty food, no complaints from me. If you are using gps system find the place, keep driving to the end of the strip plaza.

Helpful?
1 Thank Returns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food, very quick in serving you. Excellent value for the money. Staff has always been very nice each time we go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and Lube!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Always a pleasant dining experience with good food, drink and atmosphere. Service is quick with no delays in seating. Value a plus which allows multiple visits without breaking a budget.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Blah - go to Chico's instead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is an ok restaurant, but exactly like every other generic Mexican place in a state not known for its great Mexican food.

Skip it. Instead, get off at the same exit, but go the other side of the main road, head up the hill until you come to a run-down strip mall, make your way all the way to the end, and eat at Chico's instead. The standard Mexican favorites are better cooked here, there are several interesting items on the menu, and service is consistently good. Try the salmon with mango chutney.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good mexican food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is our second time back and we enjoyed the food again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing