We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Something for Everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACE Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Have been to Ace a couple of times-fun for our whole family! The lake is an adventure in itself with all of the toys to climb and play on. Took our first whitewater trip this year. Our guide, Chris, made rafting look so easy that we can't wait to do it again! Our cabin was perfect for our needs and the restrooms and showers were very close and very clean. Can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    75
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
167
55
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We didn't stay at Ace, but we sure had a fun day there! We booked a whitewater rafting trip, and received Ace Lake privileges as a result. It was such a great combo - we played at Ace Lake all morning, and went rafting at 2 that day. My kids loved all of the inflatables in the lake. Of course, when I tried them, it was like an episode of "Wipeout!" I loved the zipline into the lake, and the water slide was high, fast, and fun as well.

Our rafting trip was Ace's half day "Lower New" trip. It was really a blast, although the best parts were the rapids. After a while, I was wishing there were way more rapids, and fewer calm spots. We had a 13 year old with us, though, so we couldn't do the extreme run. The guide was terrific, and overall it was lots of fun!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogersjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but this place deserved one! The best place for Family adventure time. My 6 y/o did his first Whitewater rafting adventure and the guides were unbelievable! What a great time we had. We also camped vs cabin and the sites were great and we'll maintained. Nice showerror house. We ate at their restaurant 2 times and the food was great and very reasonable in price. Highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to find an Adventure.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited ACE for 5 days recently and had a lot of fun. We stayed in a cabin which was nice. Don't expect luxury, you are in the middle of the mountains in West Virginia. Our cabin was clean and kept us climate controlled and dry. It wasn't as nice or clean as I would expect a hotel room to be; however, it was nicer than I expected a cabin to be.

We went white water rafting and it was very well organized and a really fun afternoon. All the guides seemed really knowledgeable and kept us safe while making sure we had fun. The zipline outing was also really fun and the guides were awesome there too! The mountain bike trails were fun, but could benefit for a bit better grooming & signage, there were a lot of puddles and it was difficult to tell which trail you were on once you got out there... a guided tour option might help but as individuals with a map we had a bit of trouble. The frisbee golf course could also use a bit of grooming. It was a bit overgrown and there was poison ivy throughout so be careful!

The food was better than we expected and the food & drink were very affordable! $6 will get you a burger or sandwich and fries and beer was $2.50 with $1.00 PBRs available as well!

Overall, a very fun family vacation as long as you are up for adventure and good with the outdoors!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Great River trips,guides,& a ton of other activities for the family such as zip lining, horseback riding, mtn. climbing, biking, kayak lessons, etc. Outstanding food & campsites, lodging options to fit everyone. And don't forget to stop and buy firewood in Mindon from the local residents as they appreciate the income. Ace has it all! West Virginia at its finest :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vamike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went with a friend and could not have had a better trip! There is so much to do you can't do it all in one trip. Every person you deal with is very nice. The only thing I would change is booking my trip earlier so that we could have stayed in a cabin there. But there is a hotel we stayed at 5-10 minutes away. Rafting was fun and so was zip line. The grilled lunch on the rafting trip was great and all the guides were awesome. Not a bad comment to give!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My family, ages ranging from 10 to 68, had a great time rafting on the Lower New. We did a full day which included a yummy lunch. Our guide, D-Rock, was awesome. Our trip had some great rapids, some surfing, we swam some of the rapids, and we jumped off the rock. I highly recommend rafting with ACE, a great time for people of all ages!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank summergirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
17.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
2.8 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
7.8 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Property: ACE Adventure Resort
Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing