We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little cabin!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy little cabin!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The cabin we stayed in suited our needs very well. It was clean and had a kitchen, a bedroom, a loft, a futton and a HOT TUB. The hot tub was a great amenity especially after a long day of rafting on the Gauley. The breakfast at the dining hall was better than expected and it is very convenient to be able to wake up and walk to breakfast and then walk to the meeting place for the trip.

The only thing I must say was that when we checked in, we were given very little information from the woman behind the desk. We kept asking her questions but she would only respond that all the information we needed was in our folder she had just handed us. This turned out to not be the case. It had no information on what time breakfast was served and we were not provided any contact information in case we needed to inquire about the start time of our trip. This was stated very clearly in the folder that the trip times could be changed at any time and that it was strongly suggested that we confirm that time. However, there was no way to do that. We checked in during the late evening and our trip was very early the next morning. I had even asked what time we needed to meet in the morning, but again was told to look in the folder. The only time given in the folder was the start of the trip which was 7am. When I made the reservation months before, I had remembered the lady saying we were to meet at 6am. Had I not remebered that, we wouldve been a little lost. No one offered us any details pertaining to our trip and they would not answer any questions upon check-in. I would have given ACE 5 stars had it not been for the lack of information communicated to us.

The next morning, we woke up at 5am, walked to breakfast shortly after, and no one was around. After wandering and waiting around, people began showing up a little before 6am. We rushed through breakfast only to find that when we got to the rafting meeting place we were the first ones there and could have relaxed a bit more. Other than that, our trip went very smoothly. Our guide, Kevin, was amazing. He was so knowledgable and experienced and we had a great time with him. I would return to ACE based on the amenities and the experience we had on the river. I was also very pleased with the hot tub and it felt amazing after a long cold day of rafting. ACE also offers many other activities and I would highly recommend them. Just make sure you get someone on the phone before you get there and find out specific details for your trip!

Room Tip: The cozy cabins are great for 2-6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Social Media Relations at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
My name is Heidi and I am part of the ACE Adventure Resort team. I just wanted to address your review and make sure you know that we are very much so listening to your comments. I have passed your review on to the Welcome Center Manager so he can address with his staff accordingly. I can understand from your review, the confusion you must of felt upon your arrival. Believe me, that is not a way we want our guests to start their vacations with us. In the end, I'm not surprised to hear Kevin took good care of you on the river. He is one of our favorite guides and his level of professionalism is top-notch. Thanks to reviews like yours, we can learn and continue to improve. Thanks again for your honest feedback and patience. We hope to never have another person check-in to our resort and not know when or where to go for their activities. After all, vacations at ACE are designed to be nothing but FUN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    86
    15
    7
    13
See reviews for
222
66
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For the second year we went to Ace to raft during the dam release. Although it was cold we had an AWESOME adventure. If you are doing both the upper and lower Gauley River, do the lower first as a warm up for the bigger rapids in the upper. The dam release occurs for several weekends after Labor Day each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our visit to ACE included a day of rafting the Fall Upper Gauley, one night stay in a cozy cabin, and zip lining the second day. I was told ACE rafting guides are the best, and I wasn't steered wrong. Our guide was informative and kept us all safe. We really enjoyed the zip lines at the resort and the two guides, George and Sam, were very pleasurable and made sure safety was a priority. Lots of other activities to do at the resort such as biking, hiking, horse back riding, swimming, ATVs, etc. I will be recommending this resort to my sister and her family. The Cozy Cabin we stayed in was "cozy" and very nice. It was clean upon arrival. The hot water in the shower was refreshing after returning from a cold day on the river The hot tub worked great and the water was at 100 degrees. Another great advantage to staying at the resort after rafting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delsolseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really couldn't say enough! The staff were warm and receptive. The lodging was very clean. The heart of the trip was undoubtedly the activities! We rafted the Lower Gauley, which was exhilarating. Puppy took the lead to start the day by providing invaluable information. He was funny, informative, and professionall. Brandalynn was our raft guide. We could not have asked for a better guide. Her level of proficiency on the river was impressive. Brandalynn was personable, fun loving, safe and professional. She absolutely made our experience memorable, and we would undoubtedly request her again upon our return. She is definitely an asset to ACE! We also did the catwalk tour, which was surely interesting...a bit cold, so dress warmly! Doug was our guide for this activity and he was great...safe, funny, and very knowledgeable. Our last activity was zip lining with ACE. Sam, Tabitha, and Adam were our guides. They too also made our experience amazing! They provided information each step of the way, giving us first time zip liners a sense of ease. They all demonstrated high levels of proficiency in safety, which was also invaluable. Adam served as the comedic relief, which was warmly welcomed to calm any nerves! They worked as an awesome team, and they too come very highly recommend! So if you are looking for some Wild and Wonderful fun, ACE is the way to go!...and give a shout out to Brandalynn, Puppy, Sam, Tabitha, and Adam....you wont regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deca1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

110 rapids in 2 days. I recommend the upper and lower gauley overnight combo. Great guides and thrilling rapids class 5s aplenty. Camping and food was good. Take an air mattress. We enjoyed the overnight dinner, campfire and great scenery.
If you do the lower take the leap off the big rock. Kent and Kelly are excellent guides with steady dry humor.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mte13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second year we have been to ACE for the water rafting. 2011, we went to the new river rafting and this year was the Upper Gauley River. Lots of us drove all the way from Michigan, DC and North Carolina, however, ACE does not disappointed us. The trip was awesome, well organized and designed. Our guide " Chip" is very helpful, nice and experienced. We stayed at the bunkhouse, although the bathroom is kinda far, but still, the price is reasonable. Highly recommend for those who wants an adventurous gateway from the city~

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shushu_Mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just got back from ACE. We zip lined and we went whitewater rafting. Everyone we encountered was friendly and informative. We stayed in a cozy cabin, plenty of space for our group. Nice hot tub in the back of the house, with a great view! Both tours we took were amazing, guides were funny and helpful, and very accommodating. We had a blast and look forward to going back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cozy cabin, and we have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
2.8 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
218 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Mount Hope
Days Inn Mount Hope
#1 of 1 in Mount Hope
317 reviews
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Property: ACE Adventure Resort
Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing