We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Move on.. You can skip this hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Move on.. You can skip this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Holiday Lodge because it was close to the New River Gorge National Park. Although the staff was clearly overwhelmed, they still tried to accommodate our large group of 15. The rooms were outdated and not very clean. We were in a nonsmoking room and it smelled like smoke. We got up the next morning and quickly went on to our next destination!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas5mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
14
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent two nights in the Holiday Lodge while visiting the area. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Convenient location for rafting activities. Carpeting in hallways is dated but no big deal! Nice that pool is indoors, restaurant onsite and big lobby with TV. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night while passing through. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet even though the boy scout jamboree were there. Staff was accomodating. I would stay here again. The only downfall was the bar was VERY smokey. We wanted to go in for a drink, but that detered us and we went off property to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GYPSYSOUL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I grew up in the area and went to the high school next to the hotel. I recently went home for a class reunion decided to stay here. The rooms were clean, I will give them that. Even in the non-smoking rooms you can still smell the faint scent of old cigarette smoke which irritated my allergies. My reservation was wrong, they had me checking out a day early. Then when I did stay approximately $3000 worth of camera equipment was taken from my room while I was out visiting with my family who still live in the area. The manager was not available when I reported it stolen and I had to leave for the airport. A week later the manager has not contacted me about the incident, despite leaving my contact information at the hotel and calling 3 times myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

As I entered the hotel it smelt musty, then entering the corridor for my room the smell got worse. The room although clean and comfortable smelt terrible of cigarette smoke (old musty). I asked other attendees, they had the same, and pointless asking for a change. Had to have all my clothes laundered at the next hotel as the smell was impregnated in them.

Room Tip: There aren't good rooms, they all smell terrible of cigarettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the minute i called to reaerve a room till my last night some of the FRONT DESK people were down right rude! I would not of stayed there if it hadnt been for the fact it was right next to the place i had to be early the next morning! The lady that took my 1st call put me on hold for 8 minutes when all i was asking for was the rates! Then got smart with me when i told her i was on the phone that long! I was told because I was a WV resident that I had to have a credit card for a deposit, which you expect from most hotels, but not just because you are a wv resident are they not worried about other state residents?? Out of my whole 2 night 3 day stay I only encountered 2 nice front desk people, one gentlemen named Justin and an older woman with long hair that was working night shift, I am very sorry I did not get her name because she was super nice to me, my daughter and her friend! She treated us like she knew us forever! The pool attendent guy was also very nice! I also did not get his name! I know this is a long review but i worked as a front desk agent and i have never in my life seen so many rude people greeting customers!!! They should know the 1st impression is the most important! I really think they need to be trained better or find staff that are willing to do their job the correct way! One lady yelled at my girls because they needed change for the soda machine that would not take dollar bills she told them it was not her job to give them change! Excuse me but yes it is! Its your job to make sure we enjoy our stay!!!! I was so mad after i hears that! Holiday Lidge you would have a great hotel if only your staff had better attitudes! That was my worst hotel experience ever!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was here for a meeting (2 night stay). Rooms are basic (TV, coffee maker, beds, table, security box....) No frige in room though? Staff is helpful and friendly. The bar allows smoking, so I can not tell you much about that (non-smoker). We did our meals in the dining facility, and not sure they were ready for a group? One of the plates had something molding stuck to the bottom of one (hence on the top of another plate). Kinda sick looking for food service.

Room Tip: Second floor is off the lobby, they do have an elevator for other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
13.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
15.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
9.7 mi away
Days Inn Mount Hope
Days Inn Mount Hope
#1 of 1 in Mount Hope
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 340 Oyler Ave, Oak Hill, WV 25901-2660 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel Oak Hill New River Gorge)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Lodge Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Lodge Hotel Oak Hill
Holiday Inn Oak Hill
Oak Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing