We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice price, but a few bumps in the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn New River

Comfort Inn New River
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn New River
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Dayton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice price, but a few bumps in the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived late at night, the staff was pleasant but not overly helpful. The breakfast was not very desirable with very little flavor. The beds were not comfortable and made my body ache. I think this can be improved and will give them another shot to provide better service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
45
44
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
446 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Wow!! Very Impressed !! Worthwhile to stay her and drive further to conduct your work or pleasure!! Very clean!! Fair Rate!! Tina was super !! Lucky to have her!! Wish all the Hotels had people like her!!Also Great Internet connection! Which is always a Good thing!!

Room Tip: Will stay here again! What a nice Hotel and Very clean! Nice Rooms and T.V. Tina was uper also!! Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santurce, PR
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

They need to change the ottoman, it was so dirty (room 116). I need to use my "Survival Kit" (Clorox and Antibacterial Wipes, latex glove, etc.) because the toilet was dirty too. Excellent location, breakfast and nearby restaurants, mall and fast foods. Unfriendly staff and very slow WIFI.
Pros: NO PETS and 2 floors Non Smoking rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goga171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good hotel for the area. They still have smoking rooms! Windows open. We have stayed here 4 times in the last 5 years. This makes a great home base for whitewater rafting. Good clean rooms for a Comfort Inn. AAA discounts honored. Friendly front desk staff. Maid service does a nice job. Reservations are honored, no overbooking observed. Better than average bed quality. This is way better than sleeping in a campground or rustic cabin on site at a whitewater company. Only complaint: Breakfast set-up lady needs a lesson in customer service but it appeared to be her problem mostly. She would not allow us to grab a banana at 5:45am on the way out the door, breakfast opens at 6am. There sat the bananas we could look at the bananas but we could not touch them. Thank god they have her to enforce the rules and regulate. Her interaction with us cost them 1 star. Solid 4 star other than that.

Room Tip: Only one elevator in center of building, if you have mobility problems looks for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenluck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed coming and going from Myrtle Beach in July. We stayed on the first floor and the room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. The beds were firm and an assortment of pillows were available in varying sizes, an army sergeant would be impressed with how well made the beds were. The pool is at the back of the parking lot and surrounded by a solid wood fence so we never saw it but I suspect when the remodeling going on the upper floors is done there will be some changes there. The staff to a man was the best we have ever experienced, very down home and accommodating. The breakfast they offer is average but again is generous, clean and available for a very long time. We didn't try the waffles as we were anxious to get on the road. The coffee was wonderful, I drink decaf and in most places like this it is usually awful , this was fresh and delicious. This hotel sits right off the highway and yet was quiet with no interference or sound from the road even on the first floor. Good job to all concerned.

Room Tip: As they are remodeling elsewhere in the building(though they could be done by now) Ask for a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the BSA Jamboree. It wasn't bad, it was clean and close to where we needed to catch the shuttles. The pool doesn't close until 10 but they have no lights in the pool area so unless you are with a group I wouldn't swim when it gets dark. I do think it was pricey for what you got but that's probably because of Jamboree.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leblancfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for its convenient location near River Expeditions (3 minutes by car). Front desk staff was accommodating. Room was okay - typical Choice hotel room. Bed was comfortable and room/bath were clean. It was quiet. About a 10 minute drive to a variety of restaurants. Motel really is nearer Fayetteville than Oak Hill and the street address is not on any GPS. It is right on Route 19 so best to call for directions if you cannot find it. Found the breakfast okay but major complaint is the breakfast room is way too small to accommodate all the guests. We had to eat in the lobby which was okay. Lobby is a bit tired and could be improved. After a full day of rafting, we were very happy that our beds and showers were only minutes away!

Room Tip: We were on the back side and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
2.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Mount Hope
Days Inn Mount Hope
#1 of 1 in Mount Hope
3.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn New River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn New River

Property: Comfort Inn New River
Address: 801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn New River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn New River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing