We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a great, short weekend getaway. The staff was very friendly throughout the entire resort, always greeting us as we walked by. The room was clean and a great size. We had a complimentary breakfast with a great variety of choices to choose from. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at casinos all over the US and this by far is the worse casino hotel and casino I have been in. The hotel rooms are very average not at all up to par with casino hotels. The casino is dingy and dirty looking -----its very dark and all decorations plastic and cheap-- There is no entertainment other than dog racing which has be viewed from a basement area or restaurant. There are two bars in casino which charge $7 cocktail or wine served in a small plastic cup. There are about 800 or 900 slots outdated appear retired slots from other casinos. During the day most of the tables are closed due to lack of customers. If you want to go to casino in West Virginia go to Charlestown. Hollywood has 5000 slots excellent casino all up to date with complimentary beverages served in glasses. By pass this casino not up casino standards.

Room Tip: If you stay here request top floor too noisy everywhere else
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montana925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone in the hotel and casino were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good with everything cooked to order and the dinner buffet was a great deal for $9.95 ! The room was clean, large and comfortable. the only thing that was negative was the noise from adjacent rooms and hallway. If you are a light sleeper it may not be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CAPARONIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

From check-in to check-out everything here was super! Friendly desk staff and bellman (Eddie) made us feel right at home. Our room was very nice, but they really need to put refrigerators in the rooms instead of mini-bars. Room was clean, service was good. The casino was a pleasure to experience being smoke-free!! And the slots were much more generous this visit compared to our last time here.
Had dinner at the French Quarter. Very pricey, but the service (provided by Denee) and food were outstanding! We'll come back!

Room Tip: 4th floor doesn't have an ice machine, so if that's important to you, book a room on 1st, 2n...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A group of friends went for a quick weekend trip and had a great time. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The casino was a pretty good size and also very clean. The craps tables and blackjack tables get pretty full on weekend nights so it is sometimes hard to get on the tables. Other than that, the casino was great as well. The buffet had a little to be desired, but it was fairly cheap. The dog racing was fun since I had never bet on them before and it was nice weather to sit out and watch a few races. I would definitely visit again for a quick weekend trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavaHoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Once again our stay exceed our expectations. Jerry Anderson and his staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Love having a jacuzzi tub in our room! Having bottled water in the room is very convenient. The free breakfast was amazing with made to order omelets. Looking forward to our next stay for my birthday!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed one night as a stop-over while traveling.

There was no valet parking at the hotel. We also required handicap parking, and there were only 3 handicap parking spaces, all taken. It was raining, so this was an extreme inconvenience for us.

The walls in the rooms were thin and the noise from the hallways and adjoining rooms was disturbing.

Now for the good stuff! The rooms were very well appointed, comfortable, and spacious. Couldn't have been better. Also, the complementary breakfast was restaurant quality with real plates and cutlery. The made-to-order omelet station was fantastic.

The room rate (discounted with a casino players card) was extremely reasonable.

Had a great time at the casino, as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
10.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range: $109 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing