We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our time”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed an overnight stay in a clean quiet room. All the staff was helpful with all our questions. The keurig in our room was a wonderful surprise. We ate at one of the restaurants in the casino, but when we were ready to call it a night we capped it off with some room service. Planning on another visit in the near future. Can't wait!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    123
    43
    15
    27
See reviews for
66
190
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have stayed in hotel 2 times, fair experience. Restaurants very bad. Accused of taking 200.00! security said cashier over paid me 7 wks. ago(no idea why they just now decided to say something)cashier counts money 2 times IF your over paid it is their fault. Security treated me like I stole something.

Room Tip: Choose another Casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We checked in late at night, after a 4 hour drive. The staff were very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I was so excited to see the Keurig machine in the room. I had a box of k cups in the car from going to the grocer earlier. Beds are comfy. Now to try this breakfast I keep hearing about in the morning and the casino later today. The free Wifi is great for traveling devices like tablets and laptops. The casino in NC makes you pay for wifi and that keeps me from going. I know that sounds petty but come on this day in age you would be hard pressed to find a hotel that charges for wifi. I mean even McDonald's offers free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_Zee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a better than average hotel attached to a casino and dog track 12 miles outside Charleston. The rooms are good sized and comfortable, although a bit noisy as there was little sound insulation from those in the hallway. There is a small fitness center, pool, and hot tub. Breakfast is complimentary and features made to order omelette and eggs. This is not the usual free breakfast.

All staff we encountered, in the hotel and in the casino, were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel, especially given the quality staff that work there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room was large, with a plush pillow top bed, nice linens and exceptionally clean.Attached to a casino, this hotel is a great spot even for non-gamblers.Breakfast is made-to-order together with an expansive buffet. Hotel is even better when you" WIN" in the casino. Great stay will do it again!

Room Tip: Carry your own luggage in. Don't use the cart. It's cheaper! Trust me! This is added to end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Attached to a casino, this hotel is a great spot even for non-gamblers. The room was large, with a plush pillow top bed, nice linens and exceptionally clean. Breakfast is made-to-order together with an expansive buffet. The service throughout was very friendly and welcoming. The casino is an escalator ride downstairs where gaming is expansive and several restaurants and bars are scattered about. There is a dog track as well, that runs year-round.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Driving from Indiana from Thanksgiving with family to Virginia Beach, we saw the signs for the hotel/casino. Stopped with the intention to stay just one night and ended up staying 2! We splurged and got the executive suite and loved it! Had a full size Jacuzzi and great room layout. The bed was great also. Keurig coffee was a big plus! We enjoyed the free breakfast both mornings. Read some reviews that spoke of the noise heard in the rooms, maybe got lucky, but we had no problem with outside noise.
We loved the casino, we are not really gamblers so the size and what was offered was just fine with us. Met a lot of people while playing and everyone was very friendly. I played blackjack for the first time and the dealer and other players were great! All offering me tips on playing and cheering each other on.
We ate at both buffets and enjoyed them both, also the café in the casino. All the employees with saw were so very friendly!!! This impressed me so much.
We woke up to leave and our battery was dead. The valet/ doorman Chris was so very helpful and friendly. He and the front desk arranged for someone from the hotel to take my husband to Walmart to get a battery and helped my husband put it in. What better service could we have gotten? They had already arranged for a room for us, in case we had to stay over.
It is about a 6 hr drive from us and we will be back!!!! Thinking of New Years!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
260 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
10.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Property: Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing