We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We decided to stay at the casino hotel the last night of our "round" trip starting in NC, then to Penn., NY, Niagara Falls - Canada, Windsor ON - Canada, Mich., Ohio, WV and back to NC. This was by far the nicest hotel of our trip. Staff treat you like royalty. And the breakfast is beyond belief - for free! The casino might be small, but makes up for its size in types of slots available. Fun to play. Table games are well positioned. And the dealers and other staff were not only friendly, but very informative about the casino and games. Play off is about average - or maybe slightly higher than most casinos I visited (7 during this trip). Overall, I rate this as a fun place to visit.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem, request a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Without a doubt this is the Friendliest and Cleanest Hotel Casino you will ever visit. A Very Professional staff. The Front Desk, Bell Man and Valet and Housekeeping are always available to lend a helping hand. The Breakfast is made to order (which is included) always fresh. Great way to start your day.

Room Tip: The Executive Suit has a Hot Tub......
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Took a road trip to this hotel/casino and was not disappointed. Rooms are spotless as is the hotel. We had great time at the casino and especially enjoyed the dog races.

The casino is attached to the hotel. They even a few outdoor tables at the casino and with the wonderful weather we had that weekend we really enjoyed that.

They do need to learn to make mojito's.

Staff was very pleasant the check in was easy and pleasant.

Would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Met up with some family for one night. The hotel was nice and clean. The front desk staff were very helpful. Great breakfast lots of choices, the made to order was very nice. The rooms were a little noisy, I could hear the guests above us walking back and forth in their room. The café down in the casino was reasonably priced. It was open all night, however if you had anyone under 21 they weren't able to go to it. It was on the casino floor. As far as the casino itself goes, I was NOT impressed. The aren't a big selection of slots. I didn't see any really paying out. Of course if you're going to a casino counting on a payday....shame on you! On the table games that we played, most of the dealers had no personality, didn't care to interact with you. I heard it mentioned since it's the only game in town, it doesn't matter what kind of service you get, people will come anyways. Overall, I would not go to the casino again, but the hotel was nice. The staff were very accommodating to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traildust11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed one night. Arrived in the evening. They need to have an area for hotel guests to park their vehicles close to the hotel. We had to park way down the hill because there were not any parking places close by. Had a room on the 3rd floor. Walls are paper thin. Hotel is nice inside. Walked down to the casino. Got a Mardi Gras casino card. They gave me $10.00 in free play. The place was packed and its a small casino. From the highway this place looks huge. Its not. It was hard to even get a slot machine to play. I finially had enough and went back to the room. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and free. Get there early to get a table. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gen1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to make it our goal to visit all the casinos in West Va, Pa and Md. This one is a stand alone without much going on. It's a smaller casino with about 600 slots. The payouts are ok but the selection of slots are not so good. The more highly sought after slots were available in threes while others were repeated through out the casino. The casino actually ran out of ice on Saturday. Playing there is one thing but staying the night is a definite waste of money. The rooms are out dated, paper thin walls, and your given an ice bucket with no ice machine on your floor. We stayed at the Holiday Inn express the night before and it was ten times nicer with a shuttle that ran to the casino.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pjwilliams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the resort and loved it. We stayed on the top floor, away from the elevators and with a mountain view. The rooms were spacious, the service was good and the casino, Dog races and sports bar were great.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor, away from the elevators and with a mountain view are a must.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
10.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range: $110 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing