We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Friendly Staff & No Smoking Everywhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'am really impressed with the nice job the casino and resort have done with their facility. In my opinion the no smoking rule has really helped keep the property a step above other casinos of this size. The rooms are clean and comfortable and they offer a fantastic breakfast that is included with the stay. The casino was clean and all the restaraunts provided good food and service. We really liked that the rooms were so close to the casino that within a minute you could be at your room to get away from it all. Out of casinos we have stayed at in the tri state area this is one I would come back and enjoy again. The room rates were fair and a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 393 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I visited this casino/hotel on our way to and from N. Myrtle Beach. We stayed elsewhere (Sleep Inn and Suites review) on our trip to our destination but stayed at the Mardi Gras Hotel on our way home.

CASINO: It is on the small side, some old and new slots and lots of tables. We like Let it Ride but those tables were never open. They did have a new table game called "Double Draw Poker" which we had never played and it was a lot of fun but you could also loose $20 a hand if you fold. I did well on this game and played for almost 4 hours. We both also played 3-Card Poker here and that was okay but never got a great hand. The slots are the same as most casinos, nothing special with a few new ones thrown in. Alcoholic drinks are not free but you can get free soft drinks. There is also a dog track here as they race greyhounds. We had no interest in that.

HOTEL: The hotel is clean and nice and the staff was very pleasant. There is a safe in the small closet. The hotel is connected to the casino by an escalator so you never have to go outside. It was pretty quiet, so we had no issues with noise in the halls, etc. Check-out isn't until Noon, so that was nice as well. A really nice amenity is with your hotel stay, you get a free "made to order" breakfast. Not your typical free breakfast...you can order omelets, specially cooked eggs, etc. You write down your order and they call you when it is ready.

FOOD: On our first trip we ate at the Buffet. Dinner was $15.95 each but nothing was fresh and other than the salad bar and some Beignets for desert, it was a disappointment. On the second trip we decided to skip the buffet and the two restaurants and ate at the Café Orleans as we were not very hungry. Silly as this sounds, it was excellent! Great deal - I got a BLT and it came on Texas Toast with tons of bacon and fresh-cut fries on the side and it was all for $3.50. My husband got a 3-pattie HUGE burger with everything on it and it also came with fries for $6.50. We were quite full and would go back here for sure!

We would visit again as it is only a 4 1/2 hour drive from home but the hotel was a little pricey so if they comped us a room, we will def be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

WOWZA....we happened to want to stay in this area on our way home from the Smoky Mountains. We are so thrilled we did. Don't let this place scare you away as you may think it is JUST a casino--the hotel is pristine--like a five star. The rooms are a step up from a Hampton--pool area beautiful. The lobby gorgeous. The doorman even offers to fill your cooler with ice before you leave...amazing hospitality.

Families can easily stay here too. The restaurants all accommodate families with the exception of the high-end steakhouse. We took our 15 year old to the dog track--had an amazing meal in their restaurant while we enjoyed some races--it was a riot! She loved every second of it. The gambling area is smoke free--which is rare for most casinos--so that too was pleasant.

In the morning--the MOST AMAZING breakfast display EVER! I have stayed at plenty of places--this was up there with most 5-star hotels. Homemade eclaires (the best), made to order omelets and the other items such as sausage, bacon, hot cereals, waffles....unsurpassed. I already want to go back. I didn't win at the casino--but all the rest of this experience made up for it! Love this place.

Room Tip: I usually prefer upper floors--but I would bet you couldn't go wrong on any floor in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondbabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel... very comfortable room with a fairly comfortable and snow white bed. I didn't notice any noise to speak of, but we were pretty tired when we finally hit the room. The pool area is very clean and nicely appointed with comfy chairs and a nice outside patio to catch some sun. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Cooked to order if you wanted an omlette or sunnyside up eggs. They also had the pan of obligatory scrambled eggs, bacon and pale white 'fried' taters. The chefs made toast to order with your eggs,which was a nice touch. These guys did a great job with crowd control. They kept their cool and used humor to deal with some nasty, pushy people while whipping out eggs and omelettes as fast as they could. The clean up hostess (a late 30's blond lady) was as sweet as she could be. Everyone was, really... from the front desk people to the bellmun (my term for bellperson...male or female) to the chefs, to the breakfast room hostess. They were all so polite and friendly...loved the southern hospitality. Genuinely nice people. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go get a Player's Club Card in the casino to save significantly on the price of your hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suchaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mardi Gras a few days ago. Good food at the restaurant at the dog track. Great breakfast. Great room. We both played slots for 3-4 hours and broke even :) This is a real nice place and if it was closer to home we'd be back often. Unlike some reviewers we had no problem with noise in our room. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Great Place!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHbouhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently visited the casino part only of this resort and had a good time for a few hours. I lost 40 dollars on the penny slots, but it was in good fun. My friend won over 300 that night so I was jealous. LOL. But this place is fun with lots of gaming choices, two or three bars and also the buffet. Would go back, but not be a frequent visitor there! Who could afford it! LOL! But had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KentuckyTravelBug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is super clean. Staff was nice except for the boy working in the cafe in the casino. Acted like he did not want to be there at all. The hotel is super noisy. Slammed doors and people talking until 5 and 6 am. Came home to finally get some sleep. And a little over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OfcWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
10.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range: $107 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing