We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Logan, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Noise”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is super clean. Staff was nice except for the boy working in the cafe in the casino. Acted like he did not want to be there at all. The hotel is super noisy. Slammed doors and people talking until 5 and 6 am. Came home to finally get some sleep. And a little over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OfcWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    123
    43
    15
    27
See reviews for
66
188
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our 2nd time at this hotel and, again, found it a wonderful accomodating hotel with a friendly staff and clean rooms, We had loads of fun in the casino even when it went "dark"! Yep, that's right, the casino floor lost power due to a horrible storm that came thru (no fault of theirs, lol). Their generators apparently kicked on in less than 10 seconds and it was business as usual on that floor. I soon learned, tho, that upon going to bed that the rest of the floors had NO power. It was not a comfortable night sleeping, especially when one requires a CPAP to breathe right. The hotel did their best and furnished us with flashlights.......we managed. We were not charged for that night. Thank you to the hotel staff....great job. We look forward to another amazing adventure with you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited the hotel and casino after visiting with family a short distance away the Sunday night over the Memorial Day holiday. The check-in process was fast and friendly. I loved the granny smith apples at the front desk. This was the highlight of the stay. The parking situation was poor, we had to park in the back forty, very poor design. The hotel would fill this night we later found out. We walked to the hotel elevator and were left off at the third floor. Pretty hotel we thought. We found our room at the far end of the corridor, the very last room from the elevator. So it would be a hike everytime we left the room to go anywhere. Again, poor design not to have the elevator in the center of the room tower. Nothing we couldn't handle we thought. We were excited about being there. So we headed to the casino. We played for about an hour with no success on their older style machines. So we were persistent, we played another hour, again with not one win between my companion and me. So we played another half hour and said the heck with it. We retired to our room and readied ourselves for bed. We got into bed only to hear loud voices, and their entertainment in the rooms next door. This went on for some time when I finally had enough and called the front desk. They sent security up to their rooms and things got quiet for about 10 minutes. When we got out of bed after only getting a few hours rest we found no decaf coffee for the machine in the bathroom. And I will never understand why a coffee system is placed in the bathroom. So we went downstairs to the buffet. That was when we learned that hotel had filled, everything was running out, including the coffee. They had only one cook to fill the egg orders, and the wait for made to order eggs was over 30 minutes. But we could get cereal. Great cereal for breakfast, just like home. Then the milk was warm and almost gone, not enough for both of us. The person filling the emptyness was apologenic too, but the disappointment lingered. So we piece-mealed our breakfast as things became available. The hotel obviously failed to plan appropriately for the capacity crowd. Our trip was not enjoyable and we will not return to the Mardi Gras.

Room Tip: If you brave this travesty of poor design be sure to request a room close to the elevator and be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our second stay here. The smokefree policy is outstanding! No matter where you go--hotel, casino. restaurants--smoking isn't permitted. We found the people to be very friendly. Room was comfortable and priced nicely (they obviously get their money from the casino!). We ate at the fancy French Quarter. It is overpriced but the only decent meal found in the hotel/casino.
My wife plays the slots while I settle in somewhere with a good book. She complained that the slots are tighter than anywhere she has played. That alone will end up losing this place a lot of business. It will be a tossup whether we return or find greener pastures.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. I expected the hotel to be flashy, noisy and smelling like a bar. My husband and I met a man in the elevator that asked us if "the employees were "Disney-trained". He was very happy. The employees were all clean, pressed and polite. Our valet, Chris, was a great help and source of info and humor. We traveled from Florida to see our oldest daughter get 2 degrees at graduation and with honors for both, so the trip was a joyous one that was enhanced by our great hotel experience. Our younger daughter graduates nursing school in 3 semesters. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nothing wrong with this place. Much better choice than the other hotel properties west of Charleston. New, clean property. Nice enough. And a made to order breakfast thrown in for free.

Not being used to dog tracks or dog racing, and not being much of a gambler, I found the casino very accessible since there was no ID check desk like there are in many mid-west casinos. Seeing the dogs "training" as a drove away in the morning was somewhat amusing.

Love the name, "Nitro."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This casino is by far the tightest (slots) as well as the most unfriendly place I've ever been! Good luck getting a drink while playing a machine, unfortunatly, the staff only caters to high rollers. I am a frequent gambler, and the surrounding casinos offer a lot more excitement.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach_bum_2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
10.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Property: Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing