We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. I expected the hotel to be flashy, noisy and smelling like a bar. My husband and I met a man in the elevator that asked us if "the employees were "Disney-trained". He was very happy. The employees were all clean, pressed and polite. Our valet, Chris, was a great help and source of info and humor. We traveled from Florida to see our oldest daughter get 2 degrees at graduation and with honors for both, so the trip was a joyous one that was enhanced by our great hotel experience. Our younger daughter graduates nursing school in 3 semesters. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nothing wrong with this place. Much better choice than the other hotel properties west of Charleston. New, clean property. Nice enough. And a made to order breakfast thrown in for free.

Not being used to dog tracks or dog racing, and not being much of a gambler, I found the casino very accessible since there was no ID check desk like there are in many mid-west casinos. Seeing the dogs "training" as a drove away in the morning was somewhat amusing.

Love the name, "Nitro."

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This casino is by far the tightest (slots) as well as the most unfriendly place I've ever been! Good luck getting a drink while playing a machine, unfortunatly, the staff only caters to high rollers. I am a frequent gambler, and the surrounding casinos offer a lot more excitement.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beach_bum_2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is by far the best hotel associated with a casino I have stayed in for the money. I have stayed in Michigan, NC, and Iowa and this exceeds them all. It is very conveinent to the smokefree casino and the rooms are clean, well decorated and spacious. The cooked to order buffet breakfast is great. The staff is friedly and very helpful. The hotel is quiet and has valet and self parking that is very ample. I will definetly visit again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agibson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was excited to bring my husband for his birthday especially since he'd been sick recently. They recommended their celebration pkg which included food voucher and a cake. Never got the cake and the room smelled of you cigarette smoke. I asked for the room to be a comp. They refused. They gave me $15 off my bill and really didn't care that their customer was not satisfied. This hotel is not a part of the hotel and therefore you do not get any sort of perks for gambling. Good casino, but the hotel has a long way to go. It is what holds this place back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here three times and have to say, each time was great. Rooms are a good size, nice sheets and duvet. Bathroom towels and amenities are wonderful. Love the Sprout Out products....so clean and fresh. Room is bright and sunny, ask for a mountain view. We always see deer...even a beautiful white one ! Mini frig is stocked, so you can't put anything in it. Main resturant on the casino floor is very good. Interesting mix of food, servers do a good job. Fun to sit at the bar and watch people in the casino...drinks are very inexpensive. We had two margaritas, Patron and grand Marnier ( we ask for them ) only 6.00 each. Yummy ! I have seen some comments about thin walls, but we only heard people in the halls occasionally. Staff is very friendly and always speak to you and want to know if they can help you. Another plus is your away from the downtown blight and there is a great Mexican resturant at the entrance of the hotel property ...La Roca. Great food and drinks.

Room Tip: We alway ask for the top floor and a nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threecatstolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We purchased the Stay & Play package that gave us a meal credit and free play with our room stay. The room was very nice and clean. Unfortunately for us, there were some rude people across the hall who decided to slam their door every time they went in and out during the night. They have a nice, little casino that did get busy in the evening. We were very impressed with the breakfast buffet. There was a chef there making omelets and there was a variety of other breakfast items to pick from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katydid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
10.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range: $110 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing