We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spur of the moment getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“spur of the moment getaway!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a great mini vaca! We opted for the jr suite. the extra space was great! the free breakfast in the lobby was hot and the personalized omelet was a nice surprise. the casino is going thru a little renovation, but the layout was not too cramped and made it feel busier, like u were in a vegas casino. if you want to learn craps, talk to jay. my husband and I didn't know how to play, but he was patient and taught us the ropes! thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookew659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    122
    43
    15
    27
See reviews for
63
186
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food on this buffet is super good. Everything was kept hot and fresh. Plenty of good choices and a large salad section. Fresh donuts and coffee for dessert. Best casino buffet I've ever had by a mile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As other reviewers have said this hotel has very thin walls. We chose a fourth floor room because we were told it would be a quiet location of the hotel. Not so...we were placed next to a family with young children. Not sure what the adults were doing, but the children were allowed to run and scream the entire visit. Even with calls to the front desk we were not moved. We were awoken at 6:45 AM to screaming that went on for two hours....

The rooms were a nice size and well appointed, but the lack of sound insulation ruined the stay for us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmyWong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a nice room, but there should probably be something done about the walls being thin. Staying Valentine's Day weekend was pretty awkward since we knew everything our neighbors at the hotel were doing...and felt like we were right there in the room with them. Also, when we arrived at 4:00, a room service tray had been sat out in the hallway to be picked up. We went to eat and play some slots. When we came back a few hours later the tray was still there. Besides that, we loved it. It was nice to park there at 4:00 and just not have to leave. Breakfast was great. Dinner at watching the dogs was nice. If they could do something about the thin walls, I'd give it a five.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Heights, WV
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff went out of their way to help you. The free breakfast that was served was hot and cooked to order! It was well worth the money. The only issue we had was the fire place in the breakfast area/bar area, the tables were too close to the fireplace and you had to move your chairs to one side of the table to escape the heat.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the casino, the noise in the hall was the same as any hotel I have ever stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanstevenson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pa
Level Contributor
331 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall experience was better than expected after reading the reviews. Our room was on the first floor and was quiet. Didn't like not being able to use mini-fridge.....if you even move an item in it, you get charged for it! Buffet left a lot to be desired. We got there around 7 p.m., and you could tell that a lot of the items had been there for a while, and was disappointingly small and had a lot of "comfort food". Service was excellent. Casino was smaller than we're used to, but had a nice variety of machines. Breakfast buffet was good. We were skeptical about it being a non-smoking casino/resort, but found that you could easily go outside to smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momdzall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Modern room with decent, but certainly not luxurious decor. Comfy bed, decent 42" TV, mini bar that you don't want to touch or get charged, and no fridge. A complimentary hot breakfast with made to order omelets. Smallish pool, hot tub and fitness center. The casino is right off the elevators and has several restaurants or varying quality, lots of slots, table games of all limits, horse racing simulcasts as well as live dog racing.

What is most impressive is the friendliness of the staff in the hotel and casino. Everyone was helpful, we were frequently greeted by most of the staff we met.

One negative. It can get noisy, especially on the weekend. In the hallway, one could hear from the rooms, and in the rooms, we could easily hear the neighboring room when they talked above a whisper.

Finally, the rates are discounted with a Casino Player's Club card, which is free and easy to get upon arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
10.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Property: Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing