We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and two young children and I stayed here last week and were very pleased with everything. The bedding was incredibly comfortable, the room clean and attractive, the breakfast was delicious and the pool was awesome. Our four year old son and one year old daughter had a blast with Mommy and Daddy in the heated indoor pool (even the pool room was heated) which was very nice on a drizzly, damp August morning. Great hotel, great staff! Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The double queen bed suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huber Heights, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you are going to the Fiesta Factory and need an overnight stay, this is about the only place available to stay in town. Fortunatley this place is nice. I've been coming here for the past few years and it steadliy improves at each visit. The rooms are always clean and the breakfast is good, Not much to do in town if you don't frequent bars, so just relax and enjoy the quietness. They have a small facility to get a little workout if you want or a swim.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanardsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here several times while visiting family. Its clean and quiet with a descent breakfast. Right next to a subway but not much else really close for food. The exercise room is ok but they could probably add a few more pieces of equipment. If you are into gambling Mountaineer is right up the road. I think it is the nearest hotel to Mountaineer without actually staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here last year and my only complaint was housekeeping. We returned this year and it's worse.

We travel a lot. Our only requirement at any hotel/motel is to have the room serviced daily. You don't have to knock yourself out, it's not necessary to dust daily or vacuum, just straighten the bed, change the towels - replenish coffee, shampoo - that's it. Our room was never cleaned. We had used all the towels, garbage was overflowing from shopping we did, little amenities gone. Called housekeeping - no answer. Called guest services - were told to come to front desk to pick up what we needed. This is unacceptable. You pay for a room, you want it serviced. Housekeepers are hired and paid to do a job - you stay at work until its done - this is not a strange concept.

The beds were comfortable but they need to invest in some decent thread cotton sheets. This is something you notice as soon as you get into bed.

Next morning, no power. A transformer in the area was taken down by a tree. Very inconvenient but I consider it an act of God - as well as the last straw. This hotel does not have a back-up generator. We called another area hotel, made a reservation for that night at the newly refurbished Comfort Inn located in East Liverpool and checked out.

HIE still has a nice breakfast - omelets, scrambled eggs, sausage, ham, pancakes, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, toast biscuits, bagels, cinnabons, juice, coffee, tea, etc. replenished regularly and ample tables but I'll take a clean room over complimentary breakfast any day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newell, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Francine N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the breakfast selections we offer. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the housekeeping services you received. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We also apologize for any inconvenience the power outage may have caused you. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our get away trip to the Holiday Inn Express in Newell, West Virginia. The hotel was beautiful inside and the service was excellent. Everyone made sure that we got quality service. There is an inside pool and exercise room. The breakfast was very well organized in that we were able to get our food without any problems. This was a very peaceful and well managed facility. It was convenient for us because it only took us an hour to get home. It had all the elements of a great home away from home experience. Thank you Ms. Heather Brown.

Apostle Derrick & Carol Scott.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been staying at hotels in this area for ages. We have family that live in the area. We prefer to have our own home base from the motel. This is the best choice in the area. It is far better than choices in nearby East Liverpool and Calcutta.

The beds are fabulous. The pillows are comfortable. The suites are wonderful. The breakfasts are good. I have noticed the price creeping up.

But, it seems like every time we stay there is some bizarre billing issue. This time was fun (not). We'd been at the park all day. We were tired and exhausted. My husband has a medical condition and was looking forward to lying down. Imagine our surprise when we got all the way put to our room on the third floor and our doors wouldn't open. My son took our key cards and ran downstairs to find out why they weren't working. The girl at the desk forgot to get my husbands credit card expiration date, so she just changed out the locks on the door. Seriously? In the first place, we paid online. In the second, we'd been at the park for hours. They could have called us, they could have left a note on the door for us to come down to the front desk when we got a chance. Instead, they wanted us to go back downstairs for the expiration date of a credit card. As far as I'm concerned, that was just poor service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had bought tickets to see Kool & The Gang at the Harv at the Mountainer Casino. They didn't have lodging available. So we did a internet search. Holiday Inn Express, Newell, WVa. Toll free number customer service provided help with reservations and was extremely helpful.

Close to the Casino (within a couple of miles). This is kind of a remote industrial area. In the middle of nowhere.

The Holiday iInn s is clean, updated, offers swimming pool, fitness room and a great breakfast. Employees are friendly and professional. Internet not so good.

Room Tip: Not many choices in this area. If you are looking for overnight lodging near the casino. This is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsyourbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in East Liverpool
48 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at Franciscan Square
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newell

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newell
Address: 1181 Washington St, Newell, WV 26050-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Newell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Newell is a 69-room Mountaineer hotel located minutes from Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort and the Homer Laughlin China Co. and outlet, home of Fiesta ware. We feature free high-speed internet access, whirlpool rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, guest laundry, business center, microwaves and mini-fridges in all rooms, and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newell Hotel Newell
Holiday Inn Newell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing