We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad its here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
Certificate of Excellence
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad its here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If this hotel was not here then the other option would have been a rundown motel that looks like you disease carrying disaster. Everything you would expect from a chain hotel. Comfortable beds, breakfast and internet. Staff is very friendly and willing to help during your stay in this out of the way town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coulombcoefficient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this room for way too much $, but being that there was a conference at Franciscan University, and all nearby hotels were full, I didn't have a lot of choices. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere though, so just understand that. I kind of liked that aspect of it though. The staff is friendly, they have warm cookies out when you check in, and they give you free water bottles and snacks if you are an IHG member. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds and several pillows on each bed. There is a mini fridge and a microwave and the bathroom is a nice size with toiletries. There is coffee and tea in the room which is always appreciated. There is a nice big flat screen HDTV. Breakfast is okay, but I found the pancakes from the pancake machine to be pretty awful tasting. They had powdered scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits, breads, pastries, fruit, standard free breakfast fare. I never ran into any problems. NOTE: the staff recommended a little restaurant a few miles north in Chester, called Connie's Corner, and it was really good. They have awesome home-made dishes and the fried chicken is amazing. It's very fattening comfort food - but it's a great treat if you don't eat it every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefitzs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in Newell, WV for a family reunion in Ohio. Newell is just across the river from Ohio, you cross a small 75c or $1 R/T bridge. We booked through Priceline.com, the room was $87 per night before taxes.

The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable. I only wish housekeeping would actually straighten the sheets before pulling over the comforter each day. I hate getting into a messy bed. I straightened it each night but should not have had to do that. The hall had a bit of a smoky smell but not horrible and it lessened as the days progressed.

They are in need some kind of slip resistant mat for the shower. My husband fell and is still in pain 3 days later. We've very lucky it wasn't worse.

There are some nice room amenities making travel easier - shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, shower cap and make-up remover pads. The room also had a microwave and small refrigerator. The frig was broken but replaced within a day. We could not get cold water out of the tap and that could not be fixed. It had no impact on our stay, we brought bottled water and kept it in the frig.

Breakfast was fabulous. They had a pancake machine, omelets or scrambled, sausage or bacon, biscuits with gravy, cereal, muffins, warm cinnamon buns, bagels, English muffins breads, fruit, milk, juices and coffee. Everything was good - fresh, hot and replenished frequently. The area was kept very clean.

The hotel is just down the road from a casino which we visited each morning but that's another review....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
Level Contributor
274 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Taking a trip staying off the interstates! Was tired from long day on the road decided to stop.
This Holiday inn looks completely updated! Staff is great! Roos well appointed and beds were EXCELLENT! Typical HIE breakfast so nothing to expound upon. Rooms were virtually spotless.

Room Tip: small town sos noise was not an issue. We stayed on the side away from the main street and on an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on a return drive home from Niagra. While it IS the only game in town, the hotel was clean. It appears to be a fairly new hotel. The King size bed was comfortable with a variety of pillows to select from. Breakfast bar is typical continental breakfast and decent enough. Staff were friendly and helpful. A little expensive ($138) given the area of Newell-Chester. We paid $97 for a similar room at a Best Western outside of Columbus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Newell WV. I had to attend a trade show that was being held a few miles away at the Mountaineer Casino. I had been warned by a business associate not to stay at the Casino as all the rooms reek of cigarette smoke. The only alternative anywhere nearby is this Holiday Inn.

First of all the hotel is definitely better than the casino. Several other vendors who stayed at the casino confirmed to me that their rooms stank of smoke and they were supposedly non smoking rooms. The entire casino floor is choked with smoke when you walk in the door, disgusting. So I have no doubt that it permeates the rest of the place. Fortunately the trade show was in a separate building which was smoke free.

Anyway, the Holiday Inn itself is OK, but definitely over priced. I paid $129 a night for the middle of nowhere. The reason is that it sells out fast whenever there is a trade show at the casino, so they know they can charge more. At least it is clean and the staff is very nice and accommodating. Definitely worth the extra money to stay here and not at the casino, which I could have gotten much cheaper.

One word of advice--there is NOTHING around this hotel except a Dollar General and some dive café. And if you drive into the village of Newell, about a mile up the road, there is also nothing in terms of restaurants. I ended up buying my dinner at the local 7 Eleven, if that gives you any indication. At least the hotel has microwaves and fridges so I could buy some frozen wings. The only other option is to go back down to the casino, about 3 miles away and eat there in one of their restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newell, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Rick W,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was visiting Mountaineer and decided to try Holiday Inn Express versus staying at the casino and I'm glad that I did. Although the non-smoking rooms at Mountaineer are nice (needs to be updated), the Holiday Inn Express is new and had a wonderful selection of breakfast items. Rooms were very comfortable, great in size and they have awesome pillows!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterfallsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell
3.0 mi away
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in East Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
16.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Steubenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newell

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newell
Address: 1181 Washington Street, Newell, WV 26050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Newell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Newell is a 69-room Mountaineer hotel located minutes from Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort and the Homer Laughlin China Co. and outlet, home of Fiesta ware. We feature free high-speed internet access, whirlpool rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, guest laundry, business center, microwaves and mini-fridges in all rooms, and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newell Hotel Newell
Holiday Inn Newell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing