We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express
Nearby Hotels
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(East Liverpool)
$82
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Weirton(Weirton)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Weirton)
$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
44
31
13
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
31
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountaineer casinohomer laughlinstayed herefiesta warebreakfast bar isnice continental breakfastbagelsexercise roomthe hotel staffcinnamon rollsbeds were comfortablehot tubwould stay here againfront desk stafffiestawarecleanlinessliverpool
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We did a fast trip to Newell to buy Fiesta ware. Always stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newell.
Easy in and easy out. When with another couple, we finish off our day with a game of cards in the dining area - which is a nice perk!

Room Tip: room 219 is away from the elevator and quiet but has no view to speak of, but then we were there to sleep and get a great breakfast. This is the first time I have ever given a shower a 5 out of 5! WOW!! It was great! The breakfast is varied and great - more choices than we could even eat! All of the carpets need to be cleaned/replaced. Too many stains. we will stay again in a few months. If it ever goes bad, I will let you know!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelinman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Usually Holiday Inn Express' are decent stays for business but this place had an odd smell in the rooms. They are about to renovate the main entry way which will make it nicer but I wouldn't stay here again. Problem is it's the only spot in town so your options are basically none. For the price though it's fine - just don't stay here on any type of personal trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank underwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear underwaterman,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Newell and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My son and I like to spend a couple of days at Mountaineer Casino a couple times a year. We usually stay at the Mountaineer Hotel when we go there, but this time it was Christmas Eve and the hotel was full. I had seen this Holiday Inn on the same road as the Mountaineer so we called to see if we could get a reservation. They had openings so we stayed there. It was only about 10 minutes from Mountaineer Casino. The check in was very speedy and the hotel staff was very nice. The room was very clean and nice. In the morning, when I went down for breakfast, I was very pleasantly surprised. They had a great variety of food, pancakes, sausage gravy and biscuits, scrambled eggs, cereal, sausage, bacon, muffins, fried potatoes, hot fresh cinnamon rolls, bagels, toast, yogurt, muffins, and lots more, all at no charge. When you stay at the Mountaineer Hotel you get a room with a coffee pot, that's all for more in price than the Holiday Inn! We will always stay here whenever we go to Mountaineer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Newell, WV when visiting family in the area. While we have always enjoyed the location and amenities, the overall cleanliness of the hotel is not what it was a few years ago. We stayed at this hotel, August 8-11th with our daughter, and found the carpet in the entryways and hallways to be extremely dirty. Our room was located on the 3rd floor, and the floor in the elevator was also dirty. The sign in the elevator advertising breakfast had been broken, but never replaced. Upon entry to our room, we found the carpet to be very dirty. Everything else in the room seemed fine, except for the bedskirt on the bed. It had not been changed and had dirty stains on it from who knows what. Very gross! Since we do have a very small child, the dirty carpet and stains on the bedskirt at her level were pretty disgusting. All in all, the breakfast was good, location good, just needs a little cleaning and TLC. If the owner would invest the small amount of money to clean the carpets in the hotel, it would greatly improve the experience for anyone that stays. Also, make sure the cleaning staff changes the bedskirts, etc. not missing any dirty areas that are below eye level. I can't imagine why anyone would not invest in making sure the cleanliness of the hotel is up to standards. I hope this is corrected soon.

Room Tip: Only three floors to hotel. Elevator is quite easily accessed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrotheadangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was another great place to stay. They greeted us with a smile; had all of our room details ready for us, and even gave us a voucher for extra bonus Priority Club points.

Room was exceptionally clean and the bed was as comfortable as any we have ever experienced at a hotel. Bathroom was spotless, and the towels were superb quality.

The breakfast was quite good, but the server attendant was the only downer to this visit. She continuously ignored the fact that there were no plates left. It honestly looked like she was hoping people would just give up and go away. She almost seemed exasperated when people finally gave up and used cereal bowls for eggs. The pancake machine ran out of batter, and rather than refill it, she finally just put a 'closed' sign on it. If they could have replaced her, the breakfast and the complete stay would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews