We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Improved”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moundsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace of Gold Lodge
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New and Improved”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Palace of Gold Guest Lodge in the New Vrindavan Community is undergoing a much-needed facelift. It's true that the community has gone through so many things in the past, but they have recently been making major changes for the good. The Palace Guest Lodge has had half of its 40 rooms totally renovated over the winter, and this last weekend all of those rooms were filled up. Many guests commented on the clean, new, fresh look and very comfortable feel of the new rooms. New lighting, paint, furniture, flooring. The adjoining Govinda's Restaurant is now undergoing major renovations as well. Things are really looking up for the Palace of Gold and the New Vrindaban Community!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilashuka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stopped at this place after coming from New York back to Champaign. Unlike the reviewer who stayed in the dorm, we booked a cottage (with kids that is better). Cottages are priced at $150 per day.
The experience was great. The cottages are basic, wooden establishments, at the bank of the pond. It has a small kitchen (with utensils) and fridge. You can drive right upto the cottages. The kids slept upstairs (2 beds were there) and enjoyed themselves. As we got up the next day, there were two peacocks at our cottage door. This was an out of the world experience. The compound is so beautiful and lovely that you can spend a lot of time here, even if you do not have any religious inklings whatsoever.
The compound is maintained by Hare Krishna community. There is a vegetarian restaurant. The place is very family friendly. Kids also loved seeing cows being milked (!) and hiking around the hill, with many deers coming to gawk at us. Many times guests are offered free prasad of the deities, which is quite good. At the time we were there, the temple celebrated Rakshbandhan (a hindu festival) as Balram jayanti, and there was a great feast in the evening. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ProfChampaign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We got what we paid for. Our room was $40. Our bed had just been slept in and not made up and the waste can was full of trash. There were holes in the walls in the bathrooms across the hall. We traveled with 2 other couples and we all slept in our clothes and and as we could see the light of day, we got out of there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyNameIsBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moundsville hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We were honestly pleasantly surprised by the whole Palace of Gold project.

The Krishna devotees were very approachable, and though eager to share their lifestyle with us, allowed us space to digest things at our own pace.

The surroundings are peaceful, and beautiful... and the Palace itself is a definite work of devotion.

The Guesthouse is very comfortable.

I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away from the rat-race.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — it was fantastic.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yash108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2005

I visited the Palace of Gold this past summer.(2004) I was visiting friends and family from the area, and decided to give my three children a tour of the area. We were greeted by warm and friendly devotees. We loved the idea we could experience Indian culture in WV. We had lunch and ordered three or four different meals. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding. We were eating outside and a few devotees came over and started playing children songs for us while we were eating. My children were so greatful!!! They really enjoyed singing and learning all about the Temple. The devotees answered all the questions my children could ask. They even enjoyed a few of my memories when I was younger. I remember the Palace being built. We stayed and joined a music festival later that evening. I meet wonderful people traveling from Canada. I love teaching my children and exposing them to different cultures and religions. I give the Palace of Gold an A for the wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moundsville
13.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Triadelphia
90 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
10.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Moundsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of Gold Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of Gold Lodge

Property: Palace of Gold Lodge
Address: Rd1 NBU# 24, Moundsville, WV 26041
Location: United States > West Virginia > Moundsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Moundsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing